We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kensington Place

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kensington Place
Kensington Place
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 264: English reviews
Atlantida Department, Honduras
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Starting with the staff, all here is great! The location at the base of Table Mountain is ideal and the mountain is visible from your spacious terrace (tho we hit a streak of bad weather & never got to get to the top)... breakfast is included ...location is quiet and requires a cab ride or long walk to get to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie G
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent three nights at this bijoux guest house. The staff were very helpful, the room was great with an amazing view and the breakfast was extraordinary. Situated near Kloof Street it is a 20 minute walk to the Waterfront and the centre of town.

Helpful?
Thank Whirlwinds
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you for a fantastic stay. Great hotel, location and service. Nothing was too much hassle and the breakfast was really good. Best bacon I've had in a long time! Also thank you for having cold and flu tablets in the room - it really saved me! We'll be back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank berny127
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent five fantastic days at KP. The staff was AMAZING - just so incredibly thoughtful, the breakfasts were excellent and the rooms were spectacular. The location is also very convenient to lots of great restaurants and little shops.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily A
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived before check in time and were welcomed with a drink and led to Room 9. The room was fabulous, the balcony huge and the view awe inspiring. The staff couldn't do enough for you. Breakfasts were delicious. A wonderful place to which we will return.

Helpful?
2 Thank susibLondon
St. John
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved this small upscale hotel but the location was not awesome. We had to use taxis to get to town and waterfront. It would have been great if we had a rental car but our arranger did not feel that was safe for 2 single ladies. The staff was excellent and the public areas and rooms were lovely. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank christievi
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

It is very disappointing to have to write this as KP is actually a pretty good hotel as other reviewers have pointed out. It was our first visit to Cape Town and a visit to Robben Island was the absolute top of our list. Kensington Place emailed a few weeks before our visit asking if we needed help booking anything.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Kensington P, Director of Sales at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Well a review clouded by inaccuracies and blatant untruths. There were infact 7 (seven) emails between the guests and the front office. The request for tickets to Robben Island was indeed made and the front office response that since it was winter bookings made to the island may not depart due to bad weather conditions, it would be better to... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

This accommodation was booked by go 2 Africa.com. What an amazing place and very intimate and special. Right from our arrival we were treated like we were royalty. A welcome champagne and lovely Hope helping us with all the information that we required. They had also made dinner reservations for the next few nights if we wanted it. Let me... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bethanylou
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Breakfast was excellent and the hotel had booked us restaurants for all three nights without being asked. Drink selection was very good as we're the room. I will stay here again next time I come to cape town.

Helpful?
3 Thank BrtTraveller
Kensington P, Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear BrtTraveller What a lovely review to receive. We are thrilled that you loved chef Lisa’s breakfasts and our specifically chosen drinks menu. We look forward to welcoming you back at Kensington Place again sometime in the future Warm regards, The Kensington Place team More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

I stayed at Kensington Place for a weekend in the winter, and it was absolutely lovely. The hotel was quiet but easily accessible to everywhere I wanted to go, the staff was unfailingly helpful, and the atmosphere was serene. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank Philly4400
Kensington P, Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear Philli440 We enjoyed receiving your review and appreciate your recommendation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kensington Place and hope perhaps one day, that you will return in summer to enjoy a different experience of Cape Town Warmest regards, The Kensington Place team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

292 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (151)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Superior Room (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Price Range: $194 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay