We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

La Splendida

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Splendida
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good location. Basic room furnishings are sparse side and views all seem to be on the side even the "suites". Pictures of the rooms online are very flattering. Think of sparse whitewashed rendered walls and tiled floors and then you won't be disappointed. Upstairs mezzanine for suite which was equally sparse but without a sofa bed so not useful for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vance K
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cold rooms on a cold and wet CT night. Appalling TV selection with no international news. After searching other rooms, I was offered one room where I could hear CNN on a snowy screen. Noise came from the road, and during the night the bar fridge was very noisy. Room appeared clean but the next morning my feet were black... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BizTravellerSA

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Rotorua
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great food and service in the attached restaurant/bar with and excellent breakfast included in the room rate. The room and bathroom needed a refresh ( cracked vinyl on chair, oddly positioned fridge), but comfortable bed and good linen and good standard of cleanliness.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 295dennis
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

Booked and paid sea view room rate but got a mountain view room, enquired about it but nothing could be done as my room Was given to someone else :( only moved to a seaview room on the last night with a 4am checkout.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EliasMabuza
Ladysmith, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

Spent 2 nights here - part of a group. Our room looked out over towards Signal Hill. It was large spacious and comfortable. the hotel is walking distance from teh V&A waterfront. The my citi bus and the big bus tours stop right across from the hotel and the lovely lawn and beach front promenade are an absolute joy! Had... More 

Helpful?
Thank SAtraveller99
McGregor, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

I thought the room delightful and modern with a view of a stormy sea. Just my kind of style Bathroom exceptionally clean. with ample hot water .Reception friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay here in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hallreace
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

My second visit to this hotel and was once again blown away by the service received. The big guy was always helpful and willing to assist. The room was Amazing and thanks for the comp upgrade! The Wifi needs a lot of attention! Fisal always seems to impress me negotiating rates and deals. What can i say. FANTASTIC service always... More 

Helpful?
Thank karriemc
Cape Town
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

La Splendida is a nice and homely place to be at, they have got respectable and diligent staff and their services are quite efficient with good views from the rooms and a great restaurant downstairs..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lano502
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Lano502, Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to our standard and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that... More 

Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

La Splendida is small and warm hotel. Enjoyed my stay there , beautiful sea view room. Will recommend my friends to stay , staff are very friendly and helpful. Will stay there for sure on my next visit .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pgopau_266363
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Pgopau_266363, Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to our standard and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

The staff were extremely rude upon arrival. The place is extremely noisy. The staff do not care what time they make a noise (I've been woken up at 4 in the morning with these people) it's now 6 in the morning and they refuse to be quiet. This place is absolute nonsense. It should be a one star for sure.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate W
ResidentManager2015, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for visiting the La Splendida Hotel recently. My Team and I are saddened to note from your survey, that you have not enjoyed your stay with us! This is not the standard we pride ourselves in. The problems you have encountered are being addressed with Management and will not be taken lightly. I will be in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Hotel Cape Manor
Premier Hotel Cape Manor
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Protea Hotel Sea Point
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Town Ritz Hotel
Cape Town Ritz Hotel
#88 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about La Splendida

Address: 121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $52 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Splendida 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your La Splendida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Splendida Hotel Cape Town Central
La Splendida Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay