We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Splendida

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Splendida
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 145: English reviews
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were clean with a great view on the ocean. The service was very nice and helpful. In the restaurant the food was very tasty even if the service was a bit slow but it is only a detail. For the breakfast, I was surprised by the fact that we could only chose 1 dish from the menu, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dtopczew
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us. Your comments and feedback have been taken on board and is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath

East Hartland, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights; good, clean place in a safe area. Right across the street from the ocean. We had a room in the back with a view of the mountains and the new soccer stadium (very nice). The room and bath were large and airy. Breakfast was included and was good. Parking was right behind the building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljshank
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Chris Raath

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well situated at the boulevard 30 min walk to V&A harbor, parking at the back and no traffic jam returning from the centre at 5pm. Very friendly helpful personnel, very good breakfast, nice view if you have a room with sea view (which they offered to us after 3 nights), proper shower, quiet, etc. It is not a luxury place,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rogierve
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel was perfect! The view from the front of the hotel was the ocean which had the most beautiful sunsets! This hotel is only about a 25 minute walk to the Waterfront which my family and I walked to every night for dinner. The restaurant, Sotano, was downstairs of the hotel and it was so adorable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittney K
New York City, New York
Reviewed October 16, 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights as part of a group tour and would stay here again without question. Location was perfect, restaurant was nice vibe, good drinks and great food. I had a 3rd floor mountainview which was very nice and clean. The staff was wonderful, very accomodating and helped us out when our tour guide didnt show by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbs723lk
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the Waterfront. Also the hop on hop off bus stop is right out front. Cool vibes on the weekend in the restaurant downstairs . Very happy with our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Chris Raath

Bologna, Italia
Reviewed September 8, 2016

We had a 4 nights stay during a SA tour organized by Mokoro (Italian agency that outsources to Sandown tours travel agency in SA). Place is quite nice, but pictures online are a bit misleading. Our room was ok, but unfortunately not very clean. The view was nice (we had a 3rd floor seaview room). People are very kind, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tibet8
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We sincerely apologise for your room not being up to the standard we normally like to achieve, but we are very happy there were a few other positive aspects to your stay with us. Please visit again soon so we can make up to you. Kind regards, Chris Raath

Rawsonville
Reviewed September 4, 2016

We had a good stay. Staff was friendly & very helpful. Room was clean. However, they were busy with construction downstairs...so the welding smell came through the bathroom window. We had a great mountain view room & could see the golf course & stadium. It was a lovely summer feel Saturday & took a nice walk up Beach Rd. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guestgG1784PR
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience of the renovations. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay otherwise and hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, Chris Raath

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Stayed for 4 nights in a sea view room. Comfortable bed, nice view but the room was located above the bar so was noisy at night, needed ear plugs. Would recommend rooms at the back of hotel with mountain view. Hop on hop off bus stop (for Blue and Red routes) is across the road from Hotel and it's 20...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Good location. Basic room furnishings are sparse side and views all seem to be on the side even the "suites". Pictures of the rooms online are very flattering. Think of sparse whitewashed rendered walls and tiled floors and then you won't be disappointed. Upstairs mezzanine for suite which was equally sparse but without a sofa bed so not useful for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vance K
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We sincerely apologise for not meeting the standard we aim to achieve. We have taken the necessary steps to improve on the cleanliness of the rooms and Hotel over all. We look forward to welcoming you back in February. Kind regards Chris Raath

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.9 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Hotel Cape Manor
Premier Hotel Cape Manor
#56 of 106 in Cape Town Central
441 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
910 reviews
1.8 mi away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#87 of 106 in Cape Town Central
264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about La Splendida

Address: 121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $79 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Splendida 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Splendida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Splendida Hotel Cape Town Central
La Splendida Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from La Splendida staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from La Splendida staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Would have gotten the ocean view if it had been available.”
 of 5 bubbles ljshank, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“rooms on mountain side are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles KirstyC111, Aug 27, 2016 | Read review
“What about cleaning the floors properly? ”
 of 5 bubbles BizTravellerSA, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“Can be cold rooms in July so set the aircon early. ”
 of 5 bubbles EliasMabuza, Jul 7, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles karriemc, Jul 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay