We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On our way through South Africa we stop into capetown. Stayed here for two nights was supposed to be three but our flight was delayed so we lost a full day.. When we arrived to check in Leslie was at the front desk to check us in... He was fantastic! Very friendly and helpful. Made all arrangements for us to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mb h
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear mb h, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review after your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your short visit to our City. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations, your feedback... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

A short walk to the V&A Waterfront with panoramic views of the waterfront, port, Robben Island, Lions head & a partial view of Table Mountain. The room was very nice and had 24 hour door service. The restaurant had a good breakfast with made to order eggs for a reasonable cost.

Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Ryan S Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you were comfortable and found the location most convenient. We trust you enjoyed your visit to Cape Town. Kind Regards David Wilson Poe More 

Solwezi, Zambia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights to explore and enjoy Cape Town. Not only is it close to the V & A but there are lots of restaurants and even a Woolworths food within walking distance. Make a reservation at El Burro for great Mexican! Our suite was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KriBauer09
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear KriBauer09 Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you were comfortable and enjoyed the location. We trust you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city. Kind Regards David Wilson Poe More 

Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

I stayed at this hotel for a week in March and I was saddened by the lack of professionalism of the staff. The hotel has tired mattresses and my sheets were not changed for two of the five nights I was booked in. When I inquired about my sheets, the staff told me they would send in fresh ones but... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Matsepe_S
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Matsepe_S Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry you were disappointed in a number of areas. As a three star hotel our toweling is changed daily and our bed linen every second day. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate STAFF member to try and ensure that this is corrected going forward.... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

Stayed here for just over a week in February. Nice hotel, especially for the price. The staff were extremely friendly and were always happy to help. In a perfect location for the waterfront and had plenty of restaurants and bars surrounding it, if you didn't want to venture too far out. I would say the only downfall for it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya P
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Tanya P Thank you for posting a review. I am pleased our STAFF proved friendly and helpful and you found the location so convenient. Sorry about the traffic noises. Double glazing is a possibility for the future. Kind Regards David Wilson Poe General Manager More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

As a family of 3, we stayed at one of the superior rooms. Pros: - Great housekeeping, rooms are very clean - Breakfast is good (reminds me of the breakfast in England ) with omelette per request. - Comfortable bed in living-room a bit on the firmer side but that's how I like it. - Bathroom is large with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ucipass
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Ucipass Thank you for posting a review after your visit. We are pleased you found the accommodation spacious and comfortable. Although we have a parking bay available for every room the parking is tight and care is advised. We hope you enjoyed our beautiful city. Kind Regards David Wilson Poe General Manager More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is 10 minutes walk from town or waterfront the places where I needed to be also has the my citi bus line right there going both directions Room was clean,neat great view of table mountain Not much of a lobby/reception area or leisure hotel but perfect if you out most of the day

Helpful?
Thank moshe m
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Moshe M Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased you found the hotel conveniently located and close to all your needs. We hope you had a successful visit. Kind Regards David Wilson Poe General Manager More 

Atlanta, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

I booked this hotel via the Marriott site as Protea hotels in South Africa are part of the Marriott group. I was pleasantly surprised by what I found upon arrival. Security at the hotel is very good - always a consideration in South Africa. The staff were extremely helpful with a great sense of humor. I had a studio room... More 

Helpful?
Thank glandsb500
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear glandsb500 Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased you found the accommodation comfortable and the location convenient and safe. Enjoy your visit to South Africa. Kind Regards David Wilson Poe General Manager More 

Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016 via mobile

Booked my stay at this hotel for 10 days with an option to pay when I arrived and made this booking 2 months ago. Almost 3 weeks before I was to arrive I received a call from the hotel that I had to pay the reservation I made. That in my opinion was extremely unprofessional on their part because my... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Viagante2012
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review. It is not clear if you have or have not stayed with us. Whilst it is our policy to seek for payment or some form of guarantee, we do not cancel reservations arbitrarily. We are unable to identify you so we cannot comment on the specifics of your reservation. If you would be... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

Arrived in the early pm after a long flight from Manchester and was greeted by Lesley on reception. Room 43 was to be our room for the next 3 days, travel around the Cape for 4 days and come back to the Cape Castle for our last 2 days of our tour. That was the plan but not according to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bullocksmba
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction W...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront
Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfr...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle

Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $66 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay