We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The receptionists unpleasant not helpful.I stayed for 3nights:the breakfast poor & untastefull.The room aircon didn't work The toilet didn't flush-all happened in the evening .So could be fixed in the morning only.Very unpleasant. Too far to walk to V&A -so the name is not really good choice for the first traveller.Difficult to get to the hotel in the afternoon-trafficwise and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kvolkova
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location on the Waterfront was superb, but the service was below par. Maybe it was that they were undergoing a renovation which they never informed us about .... But there were little mechanical things that didn't work and in 3 days, they were never fixed. Will not return

Helpful?
Thank EmSoCo
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

At this City Lodge, you get exactly what you pay for. If you are looking for affordable accommodation near the V&A waterfront as a base to see the rest of the city, this will do. Its not luxurious but the rooms are sufficient and the buffet breakfast is actually great.

Helpful?
Thank Smaug_11
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive review - we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that all your needs were met during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room great, we were dead tired both nites so we didn't hear any noise. The breakfast was amazing, enough to last to dinner, did not eat any other meals there. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location good close to waterfront where there are other restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank connie c
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review - we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the breakfast offering and found our staff so helpful - aspects we pride ourselves in! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One may be fooled into thinking that the hotel is actually in the V&A waterfront complex; the water in the picture is a narrow canal and was drained as major building works were taking place next door. It is a 10 minute walk to the bars and restaurants at the V&A waterfront. The hotel is a good standard for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your positive review while we are busy undergoing renovations Chris - we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location as well as the overall standard of the hotel - aspects we pride ourselves in! We look forward to welcoming you back again... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Part of the City Lodge chain, this hotel provided clean comfortable room including a very nice breakfast in the morning including cooked to order items. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is a nice walk to the harbor area and central tourist attractions. i was very pleased with my stay.

Helpful?
Thank FluvialMan
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your great review - we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your room, the breakfast offering, the convenience of the hotel's location as well as our friendly staff - aspects we pride ourselves in! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I casually went to City Lodge for breakfast this morning. I'm was not a guest at the hotel. When I came in I asked the porter if I can come in for breakfast and he took me upstairs where I was presented to a very unfriendly hostess who never even greeted. I arrived at 09:30 and none of the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for night on business on 19 July 2016. This hotel was not my first choice, however I needed a convenient location and unfortunately all other hotels in the area where booked due to a conference. The locations is excellent, in that it is near the V&A waterfront and near the city, which suite my needs. However there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bilal V
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We are in the process analysing all areas of concern to ensure that we consistently deliver the standard our guests demand. More 

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

The lodge is situated ideally for any tourist. Close to everything and walking from Waterfront. Staff is amazing, accommodating and friendly. This is a place to be. Rooms are big and spacious!!! Free internet that is easy to connect too and you can get work done!

Helpful?
Thank Leacp26
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your positive review - we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as your spacious room, the convenience of the hotel's location as well as our friendly staff - aspects we pride ourselves in! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

Eastvale, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

The City Lodge Hotel was a very nice hotel about 30 minutes from the airport. It was clean, furnishings were in good condition and situated on canal with beautiful view of Table Mountain, surrounded by gorgeous high rise buildings and green landscapes. Room included an electric coffee and tea maker, very large modern bathroom with a huge soaking tub. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank SherrieJ44
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your wonderful review Sherrie - we are so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in South Africa as well as your room, and the convenience of the hotel's location - aspects we pride ourselves in! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction W...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 1,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#56 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $111 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay