We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence

Save
Traveler (25)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (1)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good34%
  • Average23%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible19%
Travelers talk about
AMENITIES
Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Concierge
Laundry Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
9
16
10
3
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
9
16
10
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolbed was very comfortabletable mountainself cateringa great place to stayguesthousecape
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 47 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2018

Would benefit from refurbishment. Some rooms looked nice but avoid room 4. Dreary, dark and medeival. No a/c. Noisy fan. Cheap furniture. Staff pleasant and hdlpful. Honesty bar handy. Pool needs a good clean and better filtration.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steveb_online
Response from MichelleJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge ResidenceResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Steve Thank you for taking the time to write a review - you did however not stay at the BackPackers - but at the Guest House. Our wooden furniture are all Heritage pieces made from solid Oak / teak and yellow wood to name...More

Reviewed January 7, 2018

We found the staff very helpful and friendly and we loved the pool area and well stocked honesty bar. We stayed at the self catering Serengeti Apartments across the road which was very comfortable and had all the requirements. There was quite a mosquito problem...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaulJ2644WH
Response from MichelleJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge ResidenceResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paul Thank you for taking the time to write a review (even though you have allocated it to the BackPackers page) We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards

Reviewed December 4, 2017

Lovely place to stay for a few nights when visiting Cape town. We like the informal atmosphere of the generaal areas in particular. We hope that Cape Town van solve its watershortage, We loved to visit this town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Duck1955
Response from MichelleJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge ResidenceResponded 3 weeks ago

Its raining......its pouring ............and the dams are up to 42% !! Kind regards

Reviewed July 12, 2017

Great lodge, close to all Cape Town main attractions! I would suggest you this structure in the Summer especially, since they have a great garden and a swimming pool in the common area. In the winter the room might be a little cold since they...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elenadC8727NV
Response from MichelleJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge ResidenceResponded 3 weeks ago

We have fireplaces in winter as well as hot blankets on all of our beds and special flat panel wall heaters to warm the chilled night air - come and visit us and see for yourself. Kind regards

Reviewed March 19, 2017

We booked through British Airways and thought we were getting 3 star accommodation. A private bathroom with tub, free toiletries and a hairdryer. Turn down daily service. Safe and secure parking for our hired car. What we received was three beds in a shabby, poorly...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 728noels
Response from MichelleJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge ResidenceResponded 3 weeks ago

yes Mam, you booked in our backpackers Lodge. When you were offered an upgrade to the Guest House, you refused to pay the Guest House price for a private en-suite room with all of the above mentioned amenities. Kind regards

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Concierge
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$35 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$35 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (25)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (1)
Business Center & Event Rooms (3)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Don't stay there. They are ripping you off."
Read review
"Save yourself some trouble and don't stay here. It is dark and old and it smells like it."
Read review
"Ask to be in one of the upstairs dorms!"
Read review
"10 bed dorm room is great."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing