We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Grand Daddy Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Daddy Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 2 nights in a standard room, and another in the airstream. Wow. What a cool hotel. Funky artwork. Art deco feel. Very comfortable, spacious rooms. Historic elevator from 1895. Good wifi. Restaurant on property had a good, free breakfast. Great customer service. Funky rooftop bar surrounded by the airstreams with an outdoor movie every Monday night. Close to good... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelerKate
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravelerKate, Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and chose to spend a night on the rooftop! We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Daddy. Regards, Brenda. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights at the Grand Daddy Hotel. Room was comfy, the staff was very helpful, and gave me useful advices for safe traveling, places to go etc. One night I had some trouble with my wifi and they went over the top for fixing it. Breakfast was great at the hotel restaurant, and had everything you need to start... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ido D
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ido D, Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Daddy. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Brenda More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

The rooms are stylish, the staff is very helpful and the hotel is centrally located. The breakfast is served in the restaurant next door and you can choose on their menu, so there is a lot of variety. I particularly reccomend the Sugar Daddy Suite!

Helpful?
Thank Teresa P
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresa P, Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you stayed with us for your honeymoon, we also love the Sugar Daddy Suite. I'm also pleased you enjoyed your breakfast in our eatery, Thirty Ate, the menu is varied and delicious. We hope you will be back to stay again soon. Regards, Brenda More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me by booking out one of the airstream caravans on the rooftop of the Grand Daddy Hotel last weekend. It was such a lovely and different experience! I was surprised at the lack of "city noise" on top of the roof! The staff was lovely and very accommodating and the actual caravan was gorgeous! It's such a... More 

Helpful?
Thank kelseyr847
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelseyr847, Thank you for your super review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back! Regards, Brenda More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

It was really cold, but they supply you with enough warm blankets during the winter. Their breakfasts are well priced and the quality is good. The trailers are an experience but, obviously, it is very small for two people. The parking is R40 and it only allows for up to 5-6 cars. They offer off-hotel parking too.

Helpful?
Thank Dellilicious
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Dellilicious, Thank you for your review, our trailers are cosy, especially in winter. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our delicious breakfasts. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Brenda More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

We are regulars at this stunning boutique hotel in the Cape Town CBD, so when we received an invitation to stay over to review the newly decorated rooms and second floor, we couldn't resist. A fresh, contemporary yet local feel design, has transformed a previously great space to an even better one. The rooms are each uniquely designed. Passages have... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcp19752014
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mcp19752014 Thank you for your super review, I am so pleased you enjoyed our new refurb as much as we do! We are looking forward to your return. Regards, Brenda More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

We stayed at The Grand Daddy as a group of 2 couples recently. We were very warmly welcomed by the staff, early check-in was requested and everything was ready when we arrived. Room: I had paid for a superior room and I found the room to be exceptionally small. I'm not sure if we weren't given a superior room but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aimeelloyd9
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aimeelloyd9 Thank you for your review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Daddy. We look forward to your return! Regards, Brenda More 

Randburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

I had 2 business guests, one from UK, each in rooftop caravan for a night. One van had faulty electric plugs and both had no hot water in the showers. Visitors left for return flights without showering. I submitted a complaint to them and they have offered a 30 to 40% discount, off season and, 20 % in season. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Humidair
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Humidair, Thank you for your review. We have very recently had all the electrics on the rooftop completely rewired, therefore I apologise about the faulty electric plug. Unfortunately this also impacted on the hot water pump leading to the trailers on that particular weekend. My Front of House manager has assured me that he has offered compensation in... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

I personally haven't stayed in the hotel, however, my wife and me were walking along long street whilst contemplating on where to eat one evening. The place was a bit empty as there were only 2 other couples dining! Thank goodness did we make the right decision to stop by there. First of all hats to the staff, especially the... More 

Helpful?
Thank hassan h
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning hassan h, Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you did stop in at the Grand Daddy! We have a great team working with us and it is good to hear that you were well looked after. We are looking forward to you staying over on your next visit. Regards, Brenda More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

Didn't do too much sleeping in my short stay in Cape Town, but location is perfect, the hotel is amazing and you get to collect wonderful moments by watching the sun rise from the roof top in the CBD which you cant ask for more. And breakfast was delicious the next morning.

Helpful?
Thank Rochelle M
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Rochelle M, thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Daddy. We look forward to your next visit! Regards, Brenda More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

217 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (178)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#56 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Price Range: $116 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay