We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Dock Road Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Night on Us
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Destinia.com
$620
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/14/22
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com$821
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1538)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (467)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • On-site COVID testing available
Read more
Updated 08/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 127 hotels in Cape Town Central
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
One&Only Cape Town provides a comprehensive range of luxury services and accommodation, and serves as a gateway to the myriad of experiences in the city and on the continent – from safaris to pristine beaches to the exploration of the world-renowned Cape wine region. The resort’s feel is contemporary whilst drawing on Africa’s culture and heritage. The rooms and suites, the largest in Cape Town with a minimum size of 63 square metres, all have a private terrace or balcony. The rooms in the Marina Rise have panoramic views of Table Mountain, and the rooms on the resort’s adjoining island have a distinctive resort feel and convenient access to the infinity pool and separate Spa Island. The resort’s main pool area, located on one of two private islands, features a 350 sqm freeform, infinity-edge swimming pool, a private sitting area with double chaise lounges for sunbathing, and shaded trellis pavilions for those seeking respite from the sun. The exclusive Spa Island features the most comprehensive and expansive spa in Cape Town. An oasis of serenity and privacy surrounded by water and dense vegetation, the 1,000m2 One&Only Spa offers 12 treatment suites of which two have private wet areas for couples treatments. Two vitality pools complement the relaxation spaces, sauna and steam rooms, and a relaxation lounge offers snacks and beverages. The 200 sqm One&Only Fitness Centre, located in the main resort building, features state-of-the-art fitness equipment from Technogym® with personalised workout programmes developed for guests and residents. A dedicated Kinesis training room offers tri-dimensional pulley system training and there are spacious studios for Yoga and Pilates. Qualified Personal Trainers may be booked by guests for assessments and individual training sessions. One&Only Cape Town also has a specially-designed KidsOnly Club for younger guests from 4 years and older. This offers both indoor and outdoor games and activities, as well as full and half day programmes. These are all supervised, and ensure younger guests are educated, safe and happy. For guests with a large function in mind, there is an extensive Ballroom measuring 216m2 - able to host up to 250 people for cocktails and 120 guests for a sit-down meal. The space can also be divided into two separate rooms for a smaller setting. For meetings, the adjacent Meeting Room seats 40 and the Business Centre Boardroom seats 12 people. On the dining front, the resort boasts a selection of dining options and locations for in-house guests as well as visitors. The signature restaurant on the resort is Nobu. This is in the main resort building, and on the side of the lounge, bar and deck known as Vista Bar & Lounge. A treat for wine lovers is the impressive Wine Studio with almost 700 references, offering one of the most balanced and diverse wine collections. On the resort’s own island is another venue called Isola. Between these, our banqueting department which services group events and celebrations and our in-room dining that services guests 24 hours a day, every culinary wish can be fulfilled. One&Only Cape Town displays the hallmarks of excellence found in all One&Only resorts around the world. It offers an unparalleled commitment to the finest experiences, attention to detail, luxurious accommodation, a wealth of activities and programmes, and state-of-the-art facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Archery offsite
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bowling offsite
Evening entertainment
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
Hotel links
Special Offer:Night on Us
2284Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,867
  • 270
  • 78
  • 32
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MattAdamsLDN wrote a review Aug 8
London, United Kingdom23 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed here for four nights whilst exploring the city with our kids 7 and 12. Overall positive - the location is ace for walking to the V&A and the staff are helpful and very friendly. There were a couple of areas that they can improve on though which is not ideal for an expensive 5 star hotel - for example, the hot water didn’t work a lot of the time and we had tepid to cold showers - this just isn’t good enough and we were told that the reason is that they are upgrading the water supplies but this should have been made clear. The second point is I wouldn’t touch the day trips they recommend - they are so very expensive and over 350% higher than sourcing your own, whether that be guides for stellenbosch, table mountain or otherwise - just do some research and you will save alot if you are interested. Finally the gym was poor; only two very old cycle machines and one was broken as an example with a poor view of a road vs the marina - not a great place. There are dozens of amazing places to eat near the hotel and therefore we only had breakfast there. Overall good but some fundamentals missing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Eat locally, not in the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 3 days ago
Dear MattAdamsLDN Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is with great disappointment we read that your stay was not to your upmost satisfaction. We take pride in ensuring our guests are met with the high standard of which we uphold ourselves and it is deeply saddening to know that this was not the case for you and your family. We apologise that your holiday was not as warm and wonderful as expected. We are highly appreciative of the feedback you have given us regarding the above mentioned points. We are working timeously towards our reimagination to ensure that no other guests experience similar shortfalls. We apologise once more and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back soon for a true One&Only Cape Town experience. Kind regards, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
Kirandeep S wrote a review Apr 2022
50 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
What a way to kick off our honeymoon. The first thing to hit you walking into the One and Only is the smell. The unique smell that I simply could not get enough of! Such a beautiful touch! Waking into our room bought me to tears, the view alone stopped me in my tracks. Cape town truly is a magical place and stole my heart, but I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else! I don't know how people can not rate this place 5*! I would give it more if I could. The staff were incredible, in fact I couldn't get my husband to leave the hotel to explore of an evening because he loved our time sat at the bar interacting with Ashley, Elton and Musa! Everyone was just so incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much of an ask! Also the food on the bar menu had us repeat ordering, mouth watering! Our room was newly renovated, BEAUTIFUL doesn't cut it. We had the choice of choosing our own personalised pillows, room scent and bath salt/scent! We were very lucky to be able to stay 4 nights here. On our last day we were meant to leave at 10am to be transferred to our next stop, we had to get in touch with our agent to beg her to change this to later in the day, we simply did not want to leave! We also got to enjoy a meal at Nobu, which is situated within the hotel. This was the only part of our stay which wasn't up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. Simply because the 3 out of 5 things we wanted to order were all out of stock :( Service was still incredible however. After none stop posting of this place on my Instagram (even thought pictures do not do it justice) I have a list of people waiting to book, hounding me for information, One and Only you need to give me my own discount code to share with people as I currently feel Iike a travel agent after sharing a few (or many) special pictures online! Thanks for making me honeymoon so special. We will be back...
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town
Responded Apr 7, 2022
Hi Kirandeep, Wow, what a wonderful review! Our number one goal is to create joy and in this case, it's safe to say we achieved this!. Having you choose us to be a part of such a special event in your lives does not escape us and we are honoured to be a part of it. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon, to help create even more special memories. Kind regards, Anne Scott, One&Only Cape Town General Manager
Read more
Lindsay T wrote a review Aug 1
4 contributions
One&Only Cape Town truly went above and beyond and exceeded all of our expectations! All the staff members were extremely friendly and welcoming! The service was amazing throughout the hotel! The hotel was very clean and the rooms were gorgeous. The beds were so comfortable. Tashwin, the concierge, was phenomenal and was a huge help! We can't wait to go back in the future!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Lindsay A Thank you for this lovely review. We are delighted you had a wonderful experience at One&Only Cape Town. We are thrilled that you chose to share such a special occasion with us. It brings us a great sense of pride and joy to know that our team was part of such a milestone and that you were met with the high standards of which we uphold ourselves too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
Inspire64629312236 wrote a review Aug 1
Midrand, South Africa2 contributions
We had no hot water for both nights in the room. Complained about it and nothing was done. The food had no salt and Nobu was insanely priced with bad service and not that great food. Staff were friendly and service levels were great. Breakfast was good and service was good. Overall I would not stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Inspire64629312236 Thank you for taking the time to write this review. My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by our hot water problem. I understand how frustrating such an issue can be, especially during this time of season. We are working timeously to have the problem sorted out. Our team has inserted a new boiler, and are busy tackling the final hurdle with getting the correct valves to ensure that our hot water travels through each and very corner of the resort. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon for a true and warm One&Only Cape Town experience Kind regards, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
HarmonyK wrote a review Jul 2022
12 contributions22 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel with views of Table Mountain and near the wharf. Rooms are immaculate, huge and comfortable. All the staff are friendly and pleasant. The complementary breakfast is excellent with a large variety.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Harmony X Thank you for this thrilling review. It is we great delight we read that you had a wonderful experience with us at One&Only Cape Town. We pride ourselves in ensuring that our guests are met with warmth and it brings me great joy to see that our team managed to do exactly that for you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
DanChicago wrote a review Jul 2022
Chicago, Illinois119 contributions115 helpful votes
The hotel reception lobby lounge have a stunning view of Table Mountain. Our room seemed to have been updated with beautiful contemporary African decor. Bathroom was large and spacious, as was the room. We had a very large terrace looking at Table Mountain. Staff was attentive and gracious. Breakfast had huge selection of fruits, pastries, cold snd hot items- high quality preparations and servers were great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear DanChicago Thank you for this glorious review. It is with great delight we read that you had an exceptional experience at One&Only Cape Town. Majority of our room décor is created by innovative South African artists paying homage to our beautiful country and we are thrilled that you find our reimagination to your fulfillment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
Mike wrote a review Jul 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed in one of the 2 large penthouse suites with a young family in winter. It was incredibly large and had great amenities and butler service. The staff are really friendly and professional. In winter the pool isn’t useable and things like room temperature and TVs are a bit too complicated (high end but overly complex) but overall I highly recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t pack for the pool in winter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mikeydf1 Thank you for this glorious review. It is with great delighted we read that your experience with us was wonderful. We pride ourselves in ensuring that our guests feel comfortable and it brings us great joy to hear that you and your family experienced the high standards of which we uphold ourselves. Your feedback regarding the simplicity of our Televisions and room temperature is much appreciated and will be taken under advisement. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind regards, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
NATO2012 wrote a review Jul 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa1034 contributions243 helpful votes
What a brilliant experience. Decided to take the family for afternoon tea to avoid load shedding. Super relaxing in the lounge with great views of table mountain. Thanks to Musa and his team for incredible service and looking after us so well. Scones and cakes where excellent. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Get your car valet parked
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Nato2021 Thank you for this 5 star rating. We are elated to read that you had an exceptional experience at One&Only Cape Town. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
AbrieDeV wrote a review Jun 2022
Basingstoke, United Kingdom95 contributions46 helpful votes
We visited the One & Only Cape Town Vista Bar & Lounge for a high tea to celebrate our mother’s 90th birthday, as it was a bucket list item for her. We weren’t disappointed! Pearl and her team gave us great service, from the wheelchairs used for our folks to get from the car to the lounge, to the care taken with ensuring they were ready for their experience, to their friendliness and professionalism, we can’t thank them enough for a wonderful afternoon! 🎉🎂👏 The food was excellent and what couldn’t be eaten during the sitting was taken home for later enjoyment. 😁 We had 5 different teas to sample as well as any style coffee, as well as a special cupcake to take home. Thanks again Pearl and team!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded Jun 13, 2022
Hi Abrie Thank you so much for such a wonderful review ! I am so delighted to know that you had such a wonderful experience at our Vista Bare & Lounge. Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a momentous occasion with us. Our resort strives to create joy for each and every one of our guests , so I appreciate that our team was able to do just that for you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon ! Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
faheemp20221 wrote a review May 2022
Durban, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
A Hotel located and the heart of the V and A water front, found the staff and personal very friendly, willing to help, however the same cant be said for the staff at breakfast they seem to be very unfriendly with poor service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded Jun 1, 2022
Hi faheemp20221, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We apologise that your breakfast service was not held to the high standard that we are accustomed to providing and we will be actioning change based on this feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$607 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
one&only cape town hotel cape town central, one and only cape town
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about One&Only Cape Town
Which popular attractions are close to One&Only Cape Town?
Nearby attractions include HintHunt Cape Town (0.2 miles), Watershed (0.2 miles), and Two Oceans Aquarium (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at One&Only Cape Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at One&Only Cape Town?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at One&Only Cape Town?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at One&Only Cape Town?
Yes, secured parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to One&Only Cape Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dash Restaurant & Bar, Pigalle Restaurant, and V&A Food Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at One&Only Cape Town?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does One&Only Cape Town have an airport shuttle?
Yes, One&Only Cape Town offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does One&Only Cape Town have airport transportation?
Yes, One&Only Cape Town offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is One&Only Cape Town located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Cape Town Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at One&Only Cape Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
<