We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

One&Only Cape Town

Dock Road Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1836)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (721)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Nights On Us
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#22 of 115 hotels in Cape Town Central
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to the doorstep of Africa, where One&Only Cape Town takes pride of place in the city’s most coveted location. An inimitable destination at the heart of the Mother City that speaks to international travellers and discerning locals alike, One&Only Cape Town is a thriving oasis where guests can revel in tropical seclusion alongside the sophisticated edge of a city hotspot. Feel luxuriously at home in the city’s most spacious rooms and suites with sprawling private outdoor space and inspiring interiors that display both contemporary and traditional African aesthetics for a distinctive sense of place. An extraordinary welcome captivates visitors from the moment they enter. Looking beyond the lobby, the untameable spirit of Vista ignites a visceral reaction. Floor-to-ceiling windows frame majestic views of Table Mountain and a sculptural centrepiece above the bar symbolises the mythical tale of this natural wonder. Day-to-evening entertainment abounds and live music fills the air. From the kitchen, vibrant dishes showcase the flavours of the region, avant-garde afternoon tea is a cause for celebration, masterfully crafted cocktails tempt the palate and world-renowned Nobu provides flawlessly plated Japanese cuisine. Nestled within the fashionable Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, you’ll soak up the very essence of Cape Town living and be moved by its local charm and culture. An award-winning KidsOnly Club plays central hub for little ones with magical children’s programming to educate, inspire and entertain while giving parents and grandparents time to indulge in their own pursuits. Generous hospitality imbued with the warmth of Capetonian spirit will ensure you feel centre stage as your every whim is catered to. Savour moments of joy at the resort and beyond with masterfully crafted experiences and activities that share the best of the location, from outdoor pursuits in awe-inspiring landscapes and mouthwatering excursions to the Winelands to pampering wellness treatments back at the Spa Island. However you choose to spend your days, One&Only Cape Town promises the very best of Africa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Archery offsite
Babysitting
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bowling offsite
Evening entertainment
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
Hotel links
Special Offer:Nights On Us
2,434Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,983
  • 283
  • 89
  • 35
  • 44
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ella Stewart wrote a review Apr 17
Dallas, Texas5 contributions
Beautiful hotel. The service was great. The breakfast was AMAZING. The rooms were good. They had tea time, I think around 2 or 3, and that was delicious. You can walk to the mall on the waterfront from here. I loved the transportation service they provided us. The drivers were great and they even taught us some words in Afrikaans.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Go to the breakfast it is amazing.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BJMiceli wrote a review Feb 2023
Boston, Massachusetts36 contributions84 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We recently returned from a week's stay at One&Only Cape Town. I can certainly say that this is an impressive and luxurious property. We had a Premier, King Bed Mountain View room on the fifth floor. The view of the famous Table Mountain was spectacular. Morning coffee or an early evening drink on the balcony was always a treat. The room was large, bright, and very clean. The a/c worked perfectly. The design was contemporary but warm. The bathroom was huge with a double sink, separate shower and tub. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. I am allergic to feathers and asked for synthetic bedding upon check in. A member of the housekeeping staff arrived at the room just as we did and did the job. Bed linens were soft and immaculate. We found the morning breakfast buffet to be quite impressive, with a plethora of international and South African choices. The infinity pool on the, I assume, manmade island on the property was large and relaxing. It was heated and not too heavily chlorinated, which made it very nice. There were plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas as well as shady areas made so by the landscaping. One thing which would improve the pool area is an outdoor hot tub, but beyond that the pool area was delightful. Poolside service was warm and helpful. We did check out the spa, where there was a sauna, steamroom, and "wellness" pool (like a hot tub) in the men's side (can't comment on the ladies' side), as well as treatment rooms. Very nice all around. I'd comment that service throughout Cape Town seemed just a bit slow by US standards, even at O&O, so patience is in order. But the attentiveness, kindness, and ready smiles of the entire staff at O&O were remarkable. This, in my view is what makes a property truly stand out. The location on the V&A waterfront was exceptionally convenient, with lots of dining and shopping choices moments away. The area is busy and safe, so no hesitations about walking at night whatsoever. We had a few lunches at the poolside Mediterranean restaurant, which were delicious (albeit it a bit light). The main bar is stunning, buzzing with energy, and also has a massive wall of windows affording a great view of the mountain. We did not eat at the Nobu restaurant. NB: The hotel has its own generator so the infamous South African blackouts ("load shedding" in local parlance) are only truly momentary blips. The power comes right back on. It's not even an inconvenience! This is a very expensive property, but in light of the luxurious accommodation and facilities and the truly fine service, I think it was worth every penny. If it's within your budget, stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded Feb 23, 2023
Dear BJMicel, What an outstanding review! I wouldn't know where to start. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your reflections on your experience. We are most delighted to learn that your experience with us was to your satisfaction in all elements and that you had a luxurious stay. To hear that you were met with warmth gives me a great sense of pride and joy, as this is what we strive for with our guests on a daily basis. Thank you for all of your wonderful feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another superb visit. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
WilliamsFamily51 wrote a review Apr 16
Surrey, United Kingdom134 contributions93 helpful votes
A fabulous hotel just minutes from the Waterfront. We stayed in one of the bungalows by the side of the lake, incredibly well appointed, huge and spacious rooms with fabulous bathrooms and dressing area. The main bar is fantastic with amazing views of Table Mountain, very comfortable and a nice menu and fab cocktails with live music most nights which finished a bit early than we would have liked as it was often very good. The breakfast was exceptional, everything that you could have wanted was available and more. We went to Nobu in the hotel which was very good and a fraction of London prices which was good!. We only had 2 minor issues with our stay, firstly if you have even one measure from a bottle in your mini bar, they charge you for the whole bottle, some sort of sign in the mini bar would help to avoid this mistake. Also our card was pre-charged a nightly amount even though we had prepaid for everything as is often the case in these hotels ,but it took over 10 days after we arrived back in the UK to get it refunded after having to chase the duty manager a few times. Other than that, the staff could not have been more lovely, welcoming, friendly and professional helping us with re-booking our Robben Island trip due to bad weather and sorting a private driver for sightseeing trip. There are cars to take you from the hotel to restaurants/bars in the local area. There was a gym although it was a little limited for a hotel of this size but I understand they were renovating and it had been moved temporarily to what was a pool bar. An outstanding hotel in breath taking location with the amenities and service to match.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Voyage568735 wrote a review Apr 7
Grasse, France1 contribution
The hotel lacks character and charm. Service was average and the kid friendliness aspect of it disappointing. Children under 4 are not allowed in the kids club unaccompanied and babysitters must be booked 24 hours in advance leaving parents with no flexibility. The location is good and the rooms fine but would not stay here again. It does not live up to the One and Only brand in terms of luxury or service. Nowhere close to the O&O in Dubai or Mexico. We also stayed at the Belmond Mount Nelson and that was a fantastic experience through and through, please choose that or perhaps the Silo hotel instead. We went to the Silo for lunch and didn’t book it because we thought it wouldn’t be kid friendly but the staff was so friendly I would choose them for a waterfront stay and the Belmond for a luxury Capetown experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Voyage568735, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback, it is truly valued. We are saddened to know that your experience did not live up to expectation and that you were disappointed by several aspects of the resort, and for this we sincerely apologise. We are also disappointed that our KidsOnly club policy was not communicated to you beforehand and babysitting services offered prior to your arrival. We take your feedback very seriously and will ensure this is improved upon within the resort. Thank you again, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in order to redeem ourselves. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fränz Faber wrote a review Apr 7
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg38 contributions18 helpful votes
My stay at the one and only hotel in Cape Town was truly exceptional. From the stunning view of Table Mountain from my room to the impeccable service provided by all the staff, everything was perfect. The hotel staff go above and beyond to make you feel special and like at home. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a luxurious and memorable experience in Cape Town in a top 5 star hotel with excellent food, a beautiful SPA and Pool area and of course wonderul Nobu restaurant with exceptionnally good food.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Fränz F, We are so grateful and filled with pride by your gracious review. To know that your experience was flawless in all aspects, from location and facilities to service received from the team, elates us. Thank you for choosing One&Only Cape Town, we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another luxurious experience. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nyasha m wrote a review Apr 5
Johannesburg, South Africa37 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Okay. So I travel a lot. I have stayed at quite good hotels to give an honest review. This hotel is nothing I have ever experienced The service at this place is out of this world. When I say you won’t lift a finger I mean it in the literal sense of it. From check in to check out. There are a million pple waiting to just assist you with ANYTHING. It was our anniversary and my husband wanted to impress me so he booked the island room. My goodness!!! The space, the luxury, the deco, the design, the shower, that huge bath tub , the views from the balcony. This place is breathtaking The breakfast!!! They had me at champagne and oysters for breakfast. It’s a buffet of anything luxurious you can think of. I was having mimosas and caviar at 8 am on a buffet spread !!! Listen I travel a lot, I have been around but this was luxury on another level. Oh my the gym. If that gym doesn’t motivate you to work out. I don’t know what will I want to go back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear letmeseeubitthat, Thank you for celebrating your anniversary at One&Only Cape Town. Our team aims to provide exceptional experiences for our guests and I could not be happier to know that we succeeded in doing so with your stay. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the luxuriousness of our island room and that our breakfast spread, facilities and decor blew you away. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best, Anne Scott, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cgyy wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Have wanted to stay but unable to book we popped in for a mid afternoon drink. Having been given the menu we sat for 15 minutes without further attention. 4-5 staff around all too engrossed in their own conversations to bother with us. So we decided to leave . If this is the level of service in this hotel it’s not for us
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear chhvbjh, Thank you for your review and bringing this to our attention. We sincerely apologise for the experience you had. This is not representative of the training and service excellence we are known for. We are truly disappointed that our standards were not met and the service provided sorely missed the mark. Please be assured your feedback has been noted and taken up with the team in Vista Bar & Lounge to ensure this does not happen again. Once again, we apologise and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a true One&Only experience. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lauren_cfm wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
We had the most amazing stay at the One & Only in Cape Town in March 2024. It ended up being a last minute booking after having to move hotels due to an unfortunate experience elsewhere - but the team at One&Only absolutely made up for it and more! We felt so welcomed upon check in with cold towels and a delicious ice tea, the team were so upbeat and friendly and we immediately felt right at home. We were then given the amazing news that because it was our honeymoon, we had been upgraded to a one bedroom suite. All I can say is WOW. The suite was enormous and so luxurious, with a huge living room, kitchen area, two balconies, large bathroom and walk in closet, we were in heaven! It also had an amazing view of Table Mountain. The bed was extremely comfortable and housekeeping did an amazing job of keeping the suite spotless. We also loved the convenient whatsapp service which made it easy to contact staff with any requests. The little extra touches such as the hats, water bottles, beach bag and local gifts at turndown were very appreciated. Breakfast was another highlight of our stay - got to be up there with the best breakfast buffet we've ever had. So many options and fresh cooked hot options as well, just perfect. The pool area is beautiful and we enjoyed relaxing there, lots of bird life which can be noisy at times but we enjoyed seeing the wildlife (after all, it would have been their home first!) and so it didn't bother us. Above all, the staff really make the hotel perfect - all are so kind and friendly and it was a joy to return to the hotel after a busy day sightseeing - it felt like a true oasis in the heart of the V&A waterfront. We will definitely be staying at One&Only again on our next trip to Cape Town.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Lauren_cfm, Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted that your experience has created a lasting impression on you and that looking back at your honeymoon, it will be most happy. We could not be more elated to know that our location and facilities were able to blow you away with your suite and our breakfast spread were highlights. Thank you for your gracious feedback, it truly fills us with pride. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
travelwithme wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom194 contributions122 helpful votes
What a truly beautiful hotel. We stayed for 4 nights at the end of February and absolutely loved our stay. The hotel itself is beautiful & tastefully decorated. Every member of staff was so polite and helpful, always acknowledging us with a smile. The room was stunning with the most gorgeous view of Table Mountain. The balcony was perfect to sit and enjoy the views. The rooms were very spacious, modern and immaculately clean. Breakfast had a grand selection of everything you could want. The pool area was great, very helpful staff and comfy beds. The grounds of the hotel are lovely to walk around in, which then leads to the V&A waterfront which has a huge array of bars/restaurants. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Cape Town.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 2018travelgal, We are delighted to read that you had a stunning experience with us and that our team, resort facilities, location and views were all able to live up to expectations and our standards. Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for another beautiful stay. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
anita n wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
I had an absolute blast with my girlfriends, celebrating our annual get together, had amazing catchup sessions while admiring beautiful vies with excelent service from arrival to departure. I'd recommend it over and over again. Had an absolute blast with amazing staff members. The place is a Gem
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Dear C7144NKanitan, Thank you for choosing One&Only Cape Town and sharing your thoughts of the experience. We are thrilled to know that you and your girlfriends have a blast at the resort, from start to finish and that the level of service and overall experience were able to meet expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another amazing stay. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town Central area.
PRICE RANGE
$960 - $1,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
one&only cape town hotel cape town central, one and only cape town
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ONE&ONLY CAPE TOWN - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about One&Only Cape Town
Which popular attractions are close to One&Only Cape Town?
Nearby attractions include HintHunt Cape Town (0.1 miles), Watershed (0.2 miles), and Two Oceans Aquarium (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at One&Only Cape Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at One&Only Cape Town?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at One&Only Cape Town?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at One&Only Cape Town?
Yes, secured parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to One&Only Cape Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dash Restaurant & Bar, Signal Restaurant Waterfront, and Cooked.
Are there opportunities to exercise at One&Only Cape Town?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does One&Only Cape Town have airport transportation?
Yes, One&Only Cape Town offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is One&Only Cape Town located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Cape Town Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at One&Only Cape Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at One&Only Cape Town?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.