We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

670 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 516: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is centrally located close to the main attractions in the CBD of Cape Town-Parliament, St Georges cathedral, Company gardens with small café, Iziko museums and flower market can all be reached on foot. Also very close to Long street with all its restaurants, clubs for a night out on town. As the hotel is on St Georges Mall-... More 

Helpful?
Thank pretoriamariev
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear pretoriamariev Many thanks for the extremely detailed review of our hotel. I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future. Kind Regards Judy Coleman - General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is centrally located.It is close to restaurants & shops. Table Moutain and V & A Waterfront(ferry to Robben Island) are a short drive from the hotel. The Slave Museum is within walking distance & worth a visit. The buffet breakfast has a good variety. The rooms are small but beds are Comfortable & rooms are clean. The only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ursula D
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ursula D Many thanks for the detailed review of our hotel. My sincere apologies for the shuttle not collecting you and this will be investigated with the outsourced shuttle company to ensure that this does not occur again. I am pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited your requirements. I do hope that we have the... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The parking is such an issue the valets are the worst they force there way around no customer conscious At 5 in the morning we hear a knock on the door it's a lady from housekeeping she asks if we ordered an iron and ironing board we say no She just says YOH and walks away no appology for waking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Love2flyy
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Love2flyy Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your experience during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the poor customer service that you encountered from... More 

England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived a day late due to having missed our flight the day before (that's another story!). The hotel was so understanding and accommodating even though our arrival was half past midnight. Lovely room with tea/coffee making facilities and smoking room option. Breakfast is very good with loads to choose from even for veggies! There is no other meal availability... More 

Helpful?
Thank theteacher112
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear theteacher112 Many thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities at the hotel during your recent stay with us and that the staff were able to ease your frustrations with the delayed arrival due to the missed flight. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome... More 

Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on holiday, but the hotel was booked for us and we wouldn't have selected it normally. The room was very small, which is okay, but the bed was tiny and uncomfortable, which was not okay. Good location, with plenty of shopping, bars, and restaurants. Safe building, friendly staff. But the free wifi was only 100mb per day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ali R
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ali R Many thanks for your detailed review of our hotel. Our Wifi offering is 100mb per device per day for all our guests however if you sign up to our loyalty program which is completely free you qualify for free unlimited WiFi for the duration of your stay. Your kind comments relating to the friendly staff is much... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to stay in the heart of Cape Town city.. staff are friendly and takes care of you, though surroundings at night may be a little rough. Do opt for car parking option when you are here, was advised not to park at the road side as car theft is prominent in the city.

Helpful?
Thank vintc
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear vintc Many thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and that they looked after you during your stay with us. As is the case is most cities our guests vehicles are much safer in our secure parking as apposed to... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a one night stay before business meetings and found the hotel to be very good value. It is located centrally,mother breakfast has enough variety and for dinner there are many options to choose from within walking distance. Great value compared with the typically more expensive Cape hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joeboy69
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Joeboy69 Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. Our location is certainly one of the positives that many of our valued guests, like yourself, comment on. We are within walking distance to many businesses, parliament and tourist attractions alike. I am so pleased to read... More 

Gansbaai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wasn't to sure whether I wanted to stay IN the centre of Cape Town especially where you have to scramble to get into a parking area! But what a lovely surprise this hotel was. Very friendly, efficient and professional staff @ reception; seriously good mattress on the bed; comfortable room - nothing over the top but absolutely fit for purpose!

Helpful?
Thank Annelierabie
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Annelierabie Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that after your initial doubt in staying in the city centre you went onto enjoy your stay with us. Your kind comments regarding the reception stay is much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
241 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very centrally located, excellent staff and a great all inclusive express breakfast at the hotel. Very pleasant pub on the first floor. Reception and pub staff were very good and pleasant. Rooms were very comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny i
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jenny I Many thanks for the wonderful review. I am so pleased to read that you found the staff to be excellent and the rooms very comfortable. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Kind Regards Judy Coleman - General Manager More 

Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I really enjoyed being at this hotel! The staff was very friendly and anything I needed they accommodated. It's really in the center of everything so most of the things we wanted to do were close. The bed was a little harder than expected but otherwise everyone was really nice. I also really enjoyed breakfast. It was real breakfast with... More 

Helpful?
Thank adihsar
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear adihsar Many thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you really enjoyed being at the hotel. Many thanks for the recommendation of our hotel, we look forward to being of service to you again in the future. Kind Regards Judy Coleman - General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

185 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parliament Hotel
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
512 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
675 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Tower Hotel
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
566 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town
SunSquare Cape Town
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
337 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#69 of 106 in Cape Town Central
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $103 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Renton, Washington
over a year ago
england
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms close to the elevators rooms 5,6 7 on each floor noisy. West facing rooms has no view of Table Mountain”
 of 5 bubbles pretoriamariev, 5 days ago | Read review
“Maybe higher up less noise from outside”
 of 5 bubbles Love2flyy, 1 week ago | Read review
“All rooms face the street so perhaps one on upper floors might be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles theteacher112, 1 week ago | Read review
“I stayed on the 11th floor and I believe the higher you are the quieter it is”
 of 5 bubbles Annelierabie, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Makes no difference all the rooms are well positioned.”
 of 5 bubbles Maya056, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay