We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Place on the Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Place on the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly, The Place on the Bay has a great location, situated right on the beach of camps bay. The hotel is not very modern and in some places looks a bit worn down, but the rooms are nicely equipped and has everything you need. If you are looking for an ultra new and modern hotel, perhaps this is not for... More 

Helpful?
Thank GarethW100
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The property and accommodations are very comfortable. The location can't be beat! The view of the ocean and mountains behind Camps Bay were beautiful.. We came to Cape Town to pick up our daughter who had been studying abroad at the University of Cape Town. It was great to have a two bedroom suite. The only minor issue was that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christina K
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Christina K Thank you for your review - much appreciated. Sorry to hear about the hot water - in future please tell reception. Have a great week. Kind regards Marlie More 

Culemborg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed with our 3 kids in Place on the Bay. The appartment was great. Enough space, fantastic view, cleaned every day. Crossing the street and you are on the most beautiful beach in the world, restaurants and supermarket in the same street. In 15 minutes you are in Cape Town. Also the hop-on-hop-off bus stops near the hotel. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank OMoers
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear OMoers Thank you for the review - we working on a heated pool in the next season. Camps Bay is close to everything and good to stay on this side of the mountain. Hope we can welcome you back. Kind Regards Marlie More 

athens, ga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I (both from the U.S.) stayed six nights in a beautiful two bedroom townhouse . We had a view of Camp's Bay from the patio. We had a lovely stay at Place on the Bay. We were especially impressed with Maria at the front desk. She gave us excellent sight-seeing advice and was always cheerful and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1180ba
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear 1180ba Happy to hear that the staff looked well after you and helped you with everything. We have a great location and everyone can enjoy the sunsets after a nice day. Thank you for the review. Have a great week. Kind Regards Marlie More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is situated away from the hussle bustle of the busy street, but close enough to walk to many different restaurants and shops. The hotel is directly opposite the beach, which is gorgeous and covered in seashells. We changed rooms 3 times throughout our stay, as we were unable to book the room the first night as it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaFiedler
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear AliciaFiedler Thank you for the time to write a review - Happy to hear that the staff did take good care of you and helped where they could. Place on the Bay is very good to stay with your children because the beach is just opposite the hotel. Hope to see you soon again. Kind regards Marlie More 

El Grao, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

On the last day of hosting we realized that our bags were shaken and stolen items of clothing and money. I recommend careful with your belongings in this lodging. We complained at the reception but nothing helped , even asked the housekeeping staff and laundry that have access to our apartment.

Helpful?
11 Thank Carlos G
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

We had room 204 with excellent ocean view, enough space and a cool glass top. Our view was awesome and not even the traffic noise could bother use. The room itself is charming but not superfancy. The kitchen is nice but we never used it. The service is OK but we did not really understand we check-in before 4pm was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Chris G Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay adn thank you for the feedback. Next time just call reception and arragne a late departure and i am sure we will help if we can. Kind Regards Marlie More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

We booked here as it is one of only 2 hotels on the seafront. The hotel is self catering with a good size living area and bedroom. Check in was quick and easy and the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel has off street parking. There is a small pool which we would have used had the weather been a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan_m58
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Stefan-m58 Thank you for your feedback. Much appreciate. Kind Regards Marlie More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Situated immediately adjacent to Camps Bay Beach you'd expect long sweeping views of the bay so,naturally we were very disappointed to discover that our room had everything but a view of the bay. To their credit, The Place on the Bay is a small neat boutique hotel and the location is ideal for those seeking street cafes and a buzzy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlanB640
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear AlanB640 Sorry you did not book a sea view unit. Wish we could provide that for all our guests. Thank you for the feedback and have a great week. Kind Regards Marlie More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

We just wanted a place on the beach, but we were pleasantly satisfied with our stay here. The hotel's location is superb; walk out the front, and restaurants are right next door. The Pick N Pay grocery is just two blocks away. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The room was very spacious, and even had a pull out... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Tran N
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Aran N Thank you for the feedback - much appreciated. Hope to see you again in near future. Have a great weekend. Marlie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: $81 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay