We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Place on the Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Place on the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time in Place on Bay. Best location (including parking, essential!!), with a spacious, clean and comfortable apartment in Camps Bay. You will not find something comparable in Camps Bay. There are only 2 hotels on the beach a cross the street. The other option is much more expensive. Friendly staff. Nice view to the beach. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fernando D
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Fernando D Thank you for this positive feedback - much appreciated. So happy that you had a good time. Have a nice day!! Kind regards Marlie

york
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here a few times, mostly because we like the penthouse. It's spacious and private with great views and of course the location is brilliant. After a 4 year break it was noticeable how tired the place has become and there was no working lift to the penthouse which meant a hike up and down 49 steps, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate234
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Kate234 We usually tell everybody when they make a booking for the penthouse that the lift is not working so that they can make a call if they still want to book the unit. Kind regards Marlie

Newcastle UK
Reviewed December 20, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 night stay. Location was spot on, accommodation was fine, yes it does need updating in places, but could not fault the cleanliness of our room and also the outside area, had a large terrace overlooking the ocean. Staff were always friendly and helpful. If we return to Camps Bay, would definitely consider staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshlieK
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Ashliek Thank you for this review - much appreciated!!! You made my day!! Have a Blessed Christmas!! Kind regards Marlie

Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

My wife and myself with our 2 month old baby booked a night at The Place on the Beach through TripAdvisor, to celebrate a our wedding anniversary. After a long day of activities, we headed to the hotel to feed and clean our baby before heading out for dinner. As we arrived at the reception, the lady helping me told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jp d
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Jp d The receptionist did her best to help you because you did not have any confirmation, just a reverence nr from Agoda that you gave to her verbally - no confirmation was find even on their web site. No bookings can be made on Trip Advisor - it directs you to other OTA`s We could not give you...

Williams Lake, Canada
Reviewed November 27, 2016

We stayed for a week at Place on the Bay. We were expecting a fantastic room after reading reviews and checking out the website. The reality of our room was disappointing. The 2 bedroom unit was more suited to a family than two couples. One room with a king bed and the other with twin beds. Neither bedroom had an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CydNeuf
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the feedback. Although we offer to make the 2nd bedroom a king-size bed, you did not want it. All the other complains you had, were fixed. You were issued every day with amenities and beverages. And the FOH went out of their way to be helpful. All the necessary info is correct on our web...

New York City, New York
Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

Yes the place is not renovated like some people call out, but the location is superb. The beach is across the street. We did not have a balcony, but we could see it when we opened our door, and most of the time we were out and about! Parking is included but not guaranteed a spot. There is a mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanne1307
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear jeanne1307 Thank you for this review - as you said - yes it needs a lot of things and it will happen next year BUT it is clean, new linen, etc. Staff friendly and helpful! Just enjoy the beauty and your holiday. Have a blessed Christmas time. Kind regards Marlie

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed November 13, 2016

Please understand the following text as a clear warning: The Place on the Bay is an appartment hotel. Location is in the "front row", meaning you simply walk over the street and are already at one of Capetown's most beautiful beaches. Also restaurants and bars are in convenient walking distance, hop-on-hop-off bus station is 250m down the road. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LionMartin
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear LionMartin Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Marlie

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed September 17, 2016

This hotel offers suites with kitchens, living rooms, and patios with jacuzzis. The price is right, and the location superb, with many opportunities for night-time entertainment and dining, plus a super-beautiful and safe beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JHMiner
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear JHMiner Thank you for this review - you just made my day!! Hope you come to stay with us again one day!! Kind regards Marlie

south africa
Reviewed September 13, 2016

The Place on the Bay is a really good value for money option. The booking was easy through the Trip Advisor app. Reception was quick and effecient upon checkin and checkout. The room was a standard ground floor studio no 102 with a nice side view of pool and the beach. The room was clean and was perfect for our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juanhein
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Juanhein Big thank you for your review and the feedback - much appreciated. So happy that you had a good time and enjoyed the holiday. Wish you a nice day!! Kind regards Marlie

Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

We were completely shocked by how run down and out dated this hotel is. So much so that we asked for a refund and left on the first night. In our opinion, what was advertised was not what we found. We found out of facilities with old rooms and surrounds. Not impressed and would not recommend. Apparently the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greybuda
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Greybuda So sorry you felt like this and did not want to look at another room. Kind regards Marlie

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (139)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
609 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#5 of 12 in Camps Bay
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: $137 - $862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Place on the Bay staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Brigantine, New Jersey

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Place on the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“penthouse the best”
 of 5 bubbles kate234, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“If possible request a room at the front of the hotel to maximize the view.”
 of 5 bubbles V4934EDchristinak, Aug 5, 2016 | Read review
“Get Oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles chrisgort, May 26, 2016 | Read review
“211 is once of the front rooms”
  • panorama shot from the baclony of the front room
  • view from the balcony of the front rooms
 of 5 bubbles SanderZ, Apr 13, 2016 | Read review
“Family rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles maxine1andonly, Jan 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question