We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

President Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
President Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

624 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 577: English reviews
houston, tx
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We are here right now for a few more days. Location great. Staff great. Pool nice. Our air cond does not work. Reported it the first day. Have no idea if they tried. No one said. But we just open the window and get the breeze. Just reporting. We aren't in the room during the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank texasgirl23
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback whilst staying at the Hotel. It's great to know you having a good stay and enjoying the location and staff. My apologies for your air-con not working and for no-one attending to it when you reported it broken. Please will you call down to Guest Relations or Reception with your room number...

Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Opened by Nelson Mandela this is a pleasant relaxed hotel. Staff are really good and they serve excellent food either in the restaurant or to your room. Rooms have a fridge, microwave, TV and phone. No need for a travel plug as there is one built into the wall that takes any international plugs. Separate toilet and bathroom with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It's great to know that you enjoyed the food and the friendly staff whilst staying with us. I hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited in October so there was no pool time, but our mission was to get used to the time zone change (From Wisconsin) and tour the area. The city tour bus stop was a two minute walk from the hotel. Those busses have audio guides for everywhere the busses go, including some of the wine country. Our ocean view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed A
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm delighted you had a great stay with us and enjoyed Cape Town and surrounds. I hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

A very clean and happy hotel. All staff could not be any more helpful always saying hello and asking if one needed any help. The only down side is the pillows are too "hard" and the room took past 4pm to clean and give fresh towels but this is minor. A great location buffet breakfast was great and an amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank w1llyoung
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It's great to know you had a good time with us and that all staff were friendly and caring towards you. I hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Unfortunately, I booked in this hotel. Actually, all staff and managers are not performing their jobs in a professional manner. I have faced many problems with them and I have hated return to South Africa again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 753yahyaa
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. It disappoints me knowing that you did not enjoy your stay like you should have. My sincere apologies for this. I hope to see you back again soon! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Centurion
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I was accommodated in the premium room. It had lovely sea views and included one double bed room and one twin bed room each with its own toilet. Great for a family visiting. Don't smoke on the balcony of the room. You will be charged additionally which will spoil your stay at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It's good to know you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the 2 Bedroom Apartment that you were in. I hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing property Friendly Staff Location is good but there are better locations in Cape Town to stay at Great Value for money The red city sightseeing bus has a stop right outside this hotel which is great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav M
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It's great to know you had a good stay and that the staff were friendly towards you. I hope to see you again soon! Jeremy Claton

Cheshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

All in all we had a pretty good last week to our trip at the President. The general report would be to say it went well. The room was enormous. It had a large lounge, kitchen area, bedroom ,bathroom and separate toilet. We also had a splendid view of Lions Head Mountain from our window. the staff in general were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheshiretourist2
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. It's great to now you had a good stay, enjoyed your room and views aswell as the friendly staff. I hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Harrow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was lovely. Staff were welcoming. My room was nice - the view was lovely, palm trees and the blue sea. The breakfast was excellent. Again the staff very good. Variety was great. There was a really good mix of people. An in-house travel advisor where I was able to book a variety of day trips which included Table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayHarrow
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It's great to know you had a good stay with us and that the staff were friendly. I hope to see you back again soon! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the President Hotel and had our 6 year old, non-speaking son with us. The staff were great in accommodating our family's special requirements. This made the stay truly memorable for us and we will have no hesitation in recommending to other families. Special call out goes to Nicholas at the front desk who helped us with parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dlal0ux
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to know you and your family had a great stay with us and that Nicholas and Chani could be of such great assistance to you. I hope to see you back again soon! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (172)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.0 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
408 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
975 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience affordable and luxury living in Cape Town's most beautiful urban resort, the President Hotel is a peaceful haven just a step away from the buzz of Cape Town's CBD. Situated in the wind-free suburb of Bantry Bay, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of endless ocean horizons set against the backdrop of the infamous Lion's Head and Table Mountain. Exquisitely designed for maximum light and a sense of space and tranquility, the President Hotel offers an enticing selection of restaurants, bars, lounges, conference facilities, gardens and terraces to suit your changing moods, desires and needs. The hotel's 349 rooms and apartments combine contemporary sophistication and comfort with spaciousness and each and every guest room is beautifully appointed with a semi self-catering kitchenette. The President Hotel has all the luxury facilities and guest services you would expect in any world-class hotel. Work, Rest and Play at the President Hotel that offers you the best of both worlds: In the City and By the Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 4 Alexandra Avenue, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel President)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Price Range: $116 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bantry Bay
Protea Hotel President
President Hotel Bantry Bay, Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from President Hotel staff and other travelers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from President Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Sea views and also mountain views but not all rooms have clear views”
 of 5 bubbles kevintV8829OC, 4 days ago | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles EdA27, 6 days ago | Read review
“I was on the 4th floor, sea @ pool view - great !”
 of 5 bubbles JayHarrow, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“I would recommend any room with the sea view”
 of 5 bubbles breeze_of_wind, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 335duncand, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay