We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

President Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
President Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 451: English reviews
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As our flight is at midnight, so I asked for possible free late check out for the delegation. Mrs. Nadia Simon at the Client Relation/Service desk had shared her understanding with our situation and agreed to block 2 complimentary rooms for the whole delegation until 16.00h, explaining that she want us to feel and enjoy excellent service by the President.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LQGiao
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. It's great to know yo had a wonderful stay with us and that Nadia took such great care of you. This is indeed what we are know for at the President Hotel, Exceeding our Guests Expectations. I hope to welcome you again in the not so distant future. Kind Regards... More 

Moorreesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

On the plus side: Great location (if you get the pool/sea facing rooms), comfortable space, and clean rooms (I just loved the no-carpet, clean feel). The rooms were cleaned every single day. On the down-side: Bed not too comfortable, the decor a tad strange, and we didn't get the rooms as booked on booking.com. We only learned on booking out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments and concerns via TripAdvisor. It's great to know you loved the location and the rooms at the President Hotel. It's disappointing to know that the beds were not comfortable and the person checking you in did not explain the WIFI to you. I will hand all your concerns over to the relevant... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

For the past few years I've returned to South Africa, from the UK, for work. The first couple of times, the hotel was run by a very well known hotel chain in South Africa. It was always good and never had anything to complain about, now however, since the "chains" of the corporate entity have been broken off, this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank markipalmer74
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind words via TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the Wine Evening aswell as the room, location and agreed the best WIFI in South Africa. I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trio to Cape Town. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

a very good hotel with excellent service. we had an apartment with a balcony, amenities were good with mini kitchen, microwave, dining area...etc. spacious room overall. staff were helpful and courteous. Buffet breakfast was excellent. a little way out from the waterfront area, but enjoyed the walk to and from there, no problems. would recommend/consider this hotel again.

Helpful?
Thank joey777
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. It's great to know you had a good stay with us and the staff were friendly and helpful towards you. Indeed our Buffet breakfast is delicious and I'm delighted you enjoyed it. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton More 

Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Recently stayed here with my two friends and what a fantastic hotel! Exceeding all our expectations and I am surprised it isn't more than a 4*. The rooms are spacious, modern, light and clean, our room had a kitchen area shared with a lounge area with a separate bedroom. Beds were exceptionally comfortable, we slept well every night. The bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily-Sian B
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled that you had a great stay and enjoyed the facilities of the hotel aswell as the location. I look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our family room (540) was excellent. We had a wonderful stay. I wont think twice about making a booking again at your hotel. The sea view was amazing. Staff was well mannered. The door men were first class.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mn587
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff treated you well. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent 2 nights , There's option for sea view or mountain view of lions head . We chose sea view!!! There's a small kitchenette in the room. Rooms are spacious with average bedding and towels . The phone in the room didn't work but they had it sorted ! The breakfast had a variety of the standard breakfast . Eggs,... More 

Helpful?
Thank shokara
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your post via TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you had a great Anniversary getaway at the President Hotel, I hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I always feel like royalty when I get there, everyone of the staff members at the door and reception, old and new, greet you with a genuine smile like a long lost friend. The room that I get is always the bes. Thank you Nadia for the effort put, it does not go unnoticed or unappreciated. The staff that receives... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mdiutloileng
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to know you had and always have a great stay with us. We love having you with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton More 

Bantry Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant service and food was poor communicated to guest The general feeling is not the same when it was Protea Hotels. Staff need more training in restaurant and service levels I believe that it can improve and rise the standard overall.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 255quintono
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments via TripAdvisor. I'm disappointed to know you did not get the quality of food and service the President Hotel is so well known for. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I will hand these concerns to the Food and Beverage Manager who will look into the matter. I hope to... More 

Bantry Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my stay, the room was spacious, it was value for money and the breakfast was good. I will return because that is a good location and it made me enjoy Cape Town that much more. Thank you very much.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J4310HCcolinb
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments. I'm glade you had a good stay with us and you enjoyed the breakfast as well as your room. I hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Protea Hotel Sea Point
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#22 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
2.6 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience affordable and luxury living in Cape Town's most beautiful urban resort, the President Hotel is a peaceful haven just a step away from the buzz of Cape Town's CBD. Situated in the wind-free suburb of Bantry Bay, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of endless ocean horizons set against the backdrop of the infamous Lion's Head and Table Mountain. Exquisitely designed for maximum light and a sense of space and tranquility, the President Hotel offers an enticing selection of restaurants, bars, lounges, conference facilities, gardens and terraces to suit your changing moods, desires and needs. The hotel's 349 rooms and apartments combine contemporary sophistication and comfort with spaciousness and each and every guest room is beautifully appointed with a semi self-catering kitchenette. The President Hotel has all the luxury facilities and guest services you would expect in any world-class hotel. Work, Rest and Play at the President Hotel that offers you the best of both worlds: In the City and By the Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 4 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel President)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Price Range: $69 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bantry Bay
Protea Hotel President
President Hotel Bantry Bay, Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay