We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
180 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8001 South Africa
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
$1,491
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/05/21
Booking.com
$1,552
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/01/21
FindHotel
Priceline$1,502
Prestigia.com$1,491
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (273)
Room & Suite (90)
Videos (5)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 8 hotels in Bantry Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Ellerman House commands spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. Professional and charming staff plus a remarkable art & wine collection leave guests breathless. Consisting of 9 bedrooms and 2 suites in the House, and the neighboring contemporary Villa and Spa, the property embodies the best in South African hospitality in true Relais & Chateaux style. Ellerman House is the place to stay in Africa’s fair Cape.
Read more
Room & Suite (90)90
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Massage
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Residential Neighborhood
402Reviews5Q+A83Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 373
  • 17
  • 8
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alejandra Amezcua wrote a review May 9
1 contribution
We stayed at the Ellerman House for our Honeymoon, and it was the best decision ever and worth every penny. From the very start the lovely staff made sure we had everything and more. Our stay was full of details, each day was a suprise. They were always making sure we were happy. Every member of Ellerman House is super nice and friendly. The food is great, I highly recommend the breakfast (it’s delicious). The hotel itself, is amazing. I felt as if I was staying at the Crawleys house from Downtown Abbey. Everything was just PERFECT :)!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
mikemar2@me.com wrote a review Jan 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom25 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
From the moment we arrived, it was like being a special guest in a luxury home. Informal, but great care and attention in every part of the experience. Lots of space to enjoy, even though the property was full. Lovely people, great hospitality and we will.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from EllermanHouseCPT, General Manager at Ellerman House
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Thank you for your kind words, and we truly do want you to feel like you are visiting your other home in Africa. Thanks and best wishes Paul and the rest of the Ellerman House Team
Read more
Tania d wrote a review Mar 2021
Breckenridge, Colorado266 contributions62 helpful votes
We were so excited to finally go to this venue for lunch together. I had been a few years before to a ladies function and it was to be the highlight of the week, being treated by and old friend and his companion. If we had been paying we would have complained on the day. On arrival we were just left standing about in the lounge area, no offer of a drink, I eventually had to seek service to ask for some water. We were escorted to the modern gallery and found it sadly not really our taste, but we were appreciative of the sentiment - unlike the main house which is mostly sensational, though not very impressed with the young lady that escorted us, telling us how lucky we were and what a treat we were in for! Art is subjective and we are collector's, but what we buy is also not probably to other peoples taste! We were seated given these strange menus, terrible service as we chose specifically what we wanted off the menu and still they served everything, overcooked floury prawns, cold undercooked rubbery calamari, my husband said the steak was ok, also cold and NOTHING near a traditional braai! I only wrote this review now as have just found out my favourite chef Peter T is in charge there now and HONESTLY I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House
Responded Mar 23, 2021
Dear Tania We are deeply saddened and disappointed with your comments, for not only are they at odds with the many positive reviews we’ve received over the years, but also, despite your obvious unhappiness with seemingly everything about your day, you never allowed us to address it at the time. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy our Contemporary Gallery, but as you’ve shared that you are a collector, we’re sure that you’ll agree that art is not always meant to be pleasing to all tastes. Our art collection is one of the most representative collections of South African art in the world and we aim to share as many of our country’s celebrated artists’ as possible, from the historical to the contemporary, from those painting bucolic landscapes to those making jarring social commentaries. If our staff member who showed you to the Gallery was overly enthusiastic, it is because we all are passionate about our collection and as we are normally not open to outside guests, most visitors do feel that viewing the Gallery is a treat. As for the food issues, we strive to do our best in this area and had no other complaints on the day. It is difficult to improve, offer any sort of compensation or identify and correct specific issues when one does not speak up at the time. As one of the leading hotels in the world we have been working hard to maintain our standards while keeping staff spirits up and serve our community through a very challenging year. Your comments are demoralizing in light of the state of South African hospitality and the country in general. Regards Paul
Read more
OSCAR Chalupsky wrote a review Mar 2021
Porto, Portugal22 contributions4 helpful votes
I have travelled all over the world and have to say this stay rates as one of the best if not the best. I can't wait to stay here again. It is one of the best kept secret spots in Cape Town. The views are the best in the world. Rooms and linen are world class.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms looking at the views are the best but just being here is very special
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House
Responded Mar 23, 2021
Thank you for the wonderful review which is hugely appreciated by the entire team! It is so incredible to have opened for business again in November and the highly motivated team can't wait to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes Paul and the rest of your Ellerman House Family
Read more
duncan740 wrote a review Feb 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Always a pleasure to stay at Ellerman House and once again they never fail to deliver, thank you. I would highly recommend Ellerman House to anyone who is visiting Cape Town for a few days or for weeks, you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellerman House, General Manager at Ellerman House
Responded Mar 23, 2021
Dear Duncan It was wonderful having you bac again with us and thanks for your kind words and referral! Looking forward to having you back again soon! Best wishes Paul
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$580 - $1,454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ellerman house hotel bantry bay, ellerman hotel cape town
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownBantry Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ellerman House
Which popular attractions are close to Ellerman House?
Nearby attractions include Clifton Beaches (0.3 miles), The Point (0.7 miles), and Saunders' Rocks Beach (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ellerman House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Ellerman House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ellerman House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ellerman House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ellerman House?
Conveniently located restaurants include NV-80 Grill & Bar, JARRYDS Sea Point, and La Mouette Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ellerman House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Ellerman House have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Ellerman House offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Ellerman House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Bantry Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ellerman House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Ellerman House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (2.5 miles), City Hall (2.4 miles), and Iziko Koopmans-De Wet House (2.6 miles).