We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cascades, Sun City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 475: English reviews
Manzini, Swaziland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I and our 3year old had our four nights holiday at Sun City Cascades Hotel in December and enjoyed this resort tremendously. The hotel is a solid five star with all amenities fitting the bill. On our first night we were given a room at the basement because there had been a big group and the upper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabelo d
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

"One should not attend even the end of the world without a good breakfast." 🍽 Robert A. Heinlein After consuming breakfast at the Cascades in Sun City Resort for the past week I'm firmly convinced that it is simply one of my favorite restaurants for the pleasure of my morning meal. Their brunch array is scrumptious, well prepared and restocked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodierushni_za
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The gem of Sun City. The hotel is elegant and modern. The most classy in the resort. With stunning rooms a great lobby filled with restaurants and stores. This hotel is joint to the Sun Central. Definitely one of the best at this magnificent resort. This hotel exits to a beautiful garden leading to its stunning warm or cold water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raees M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

A stay at Cascades, Sun City is always a pleasure. The hotel is well managed and above par when it comes to hospitality. December is quite a busy period, so make sure you book early and head over to the Valley of Waves early, before the crowds come in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adarsh S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just arrived home from a weekend away at the Cascades and would like to share our experience we had with you. Upon Check-In Friday afternoon we got our room key and only to find another family lying on the bed when we walked in. We were then given another room which was fine, later on when we returned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bianca v
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms were classic sun city cascades. The pianist at the breakfast room was a nice touch. The staff were extremely helpful, but not upto 5 star standard. On check out the bill was R1000 less than booking.com. Despite having paid booking for. Com the Receptionist was unable to explain this and quickly pulled back the bill. She refused to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jontully23
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Admittedly we stayed here in the few days between Xmas and New Year which meant the place was absolutely heaving with people. However, when we went to check in, it was absolute chaos, people and luggage everywhere and the staff weren't overly friendly. The hotel is quite dated however we got upgraded in room, so our stay was relatively comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
Hopewell D, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Mel Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at the Cascades hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused due to chaos at reception. We will monitor reception staff friendliness with emphasis on handling high volumes in busy periods. Once again thanks for you support. Kind regards Hopewell Dlomo Hotel Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Cascades has always been my favourite Sun City hotel because of the wonderful tropical gardens and waterfalls, and I looked forward to returning after an 11 year absence. However, I came away disappointed after my latest visit. It seems that maintenance is an issue. The air conditioning was not working properly, the fridge was not cold, the shower leaked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Hopewell D, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Sarah Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at the Cascades hotel. Firstly, please accept my sincere apology for inconvenience caused due to mechanical faults. These issued are being addressed by the engineering team. The heated pool is now back in operation, we did not open it on the 16th as planned due to unforeseen water...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the room has not been refurbished, the hotel lobby, entertainment center and valley of the waves upgrades have been refurbished and make this an extremely enjoyable experience. The Cascades has a heated pool and a normal pool that are extremely enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mergs
Hopewell D, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Mergs Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at the Cascades hotel. I am pleased that the refurbishments that have taken place in most public areas have been well received and enjoyable experiences created for you. Once again thanks for your support. Kind regards Hopewell Dlomo Hotel Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was built in the 90's and hasn't really moved on from there. Bathrooms, furniture and fittings are very dated, and now more in tune with what you'd find at a basic hotel versus a 5 star hotel. The only saving grace was the Smart TV in the room. The Peninsula restaurant struggled with the breakfast rush, running out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rajeev B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

787 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (285)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (473)
Viewed
Amenities (138)
Viewed
Junior Suite (88)
Viewed
Luxury Family Room (73)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (64)
Viewed
Other (15)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.8 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
238.8 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
417 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
3.6 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
581 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 11 in Rustenburg
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tumbling water flowing through a tropical forest gives The Cascades hotel in South Africa its name and firmly positions it as one of the most sought-after Sun City accommodation destinations. Experience the romance of the elegant Cascades hotel as you discover the Big 5 in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve or meander underneath the lush forest canopy. Waiting a stone’s throw away from Johannesburg is luxurious accommodation, sophisticated entertainment and the Gary Player Golf Course ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cascades, Sun City

Address: Sun City Road | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: $194 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascades, Sun City 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Cascades, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Sun City
Cascades Sun City
Hotel Cascades Sun City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cascades, Sun City staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Cascades, Sun City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for the high floors - they have gorgeous views”
 of 5 bubbles sabel0d, 3 days ago | Read review
“1st floor rooms are perfect for families with strollers”
 of 5 bubbles 982ashar, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“Corner room that have the poolside view and the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles magdelines2016, Nov 24, 2016 | Read review
“No elevators to second level so ground floor probably a better choice”
 of 5 bubbles 916carleneh, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balcony facing the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles zeldas2015, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay