We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palace of the Lost City

Save
Share
Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City, Moses Kotane Local Municipality 0316 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
$319
View deal
Destinia.com
$300
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
Orbitz.com$319
Travelocity$319
Prestigia.com$325
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3607)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (756)

About

#1 of 11 hotels in Sun City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Golf course
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Water park
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Park View
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
2671Reviews155Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,591
  • 541
  • 270
  • 139
  • 130
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Colin wrote a review Nov 27
1 contribution
The service and the upkeep of the hotel has deteriorated significantly, I can’t understand how they still qualify as a five star hotel. That was a complete waste of some hard earned cash and it was a gift for my son’s 18th birthday. Another South African gem going down the toilet.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel completely, you do not get what you pay for.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
ORT wrote a review Nov 10
Hoedspruit, South Africa35 contributions2 helpful votes
It’s run down and probably a 3 star hotel. The food was sub par and the waste enormous. The golf clubs are a total rip off and it’s startling that the European PGA would have an event at this place. Gary Player should not attach his name to this “ muni “ quality course. Lost city course is worse as it bills itself as private but acts as a second rate muni course by international standards. The staff are terrible and management is dishonest w their policies. Give it a miss!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Go to Pecanwood or Steyn city for golf.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kruger50 Thank you for your review I am truly sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time with us on the resort. Your review has all been shared with the management team Kind regards
Read more
Tienie Nel wrote a review Nov 10
Ventersdorp, South Africa124 contributions23 helpful votes
The Palace 5* Hotel??? Mabe 8 years back but now? I will give it a 3*. Check in at 14:00 they are still working on the welcome drinks and it is not ready. Rooms Old and needs a lotte of attention. 1. Shower overflows drain not working. 2. Bath tube also empty very slow. 3. Carpets are worn and worked out. 4. Cabinet in the living room has no shelf where the bar fridge is in. 5. Two lights in the living room that was supposed to switch off at the door doesn’t you need to unplug it at the wall. 6. Turndown was only done the first night and not on the second. 7. I ask for ice to keep the sparkling wine cold the second night it wasn’t done. The Crystal Cord: 1. The service stations are falling apart. The cabinets short drawers and looks bad. 2. Windows are cracked. 3. Plates, cups and saucers are chipped. Swimming Pool: 1. The plastic glassed are very old and cracked. 2. You are not taken to you sun bed like in the old days. Transport on the resort in a Sprinter Van??? Where are the days that you used MC Viano and C - Class for transport. and the list can go on. Really don't think it is the money worth slept in room 448. Regrads
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tienie Thank you for your review. Your feedback is appreciated and we have taken note of all your feedback The hotel is currently busy with a room refurbishment program. I The block you were staying will be refurbished in January 2021 .All the other points you have raised will be addressed . Kind regards
Read more
Dr FJ Labuschagne wrote a review Nov 3
Pretoria, South Africa34 contributions15 helpful votes
The Palace of the Lost City at Sun City is a true five-star hotel and an oasis in the sun. It does what a resort hotel should do: catching the imagination and transporting its guests to an escape from the mundane. My wife and I frequent The Palace of the Lost City often, and each time is an experience, making us long for more. The staff is friendly, the service impeccable, and the food scrumptious with the best breakfast buffet ever with champagne and oysters. The dinner buffet at the Crystal Court restaurant is always a highlight, as is enjoying the fare at The Grill Room on the balcony, under a starry African sky. The rooms have always been well appointed, but with the recent upgrades (ongoing still) weary travelers have lots to look forward too. During a recent stay in the refurbished Luxury Pool View room, we did not want to leave our room, taking in the views of the Palace Pool below, surrounded by mountain and bushveld. The most important thing for us, is the passion of the management team. Josiah Montsho is a true leader, and he instills confidence. Francois du Toit is a beacon of calm and professionalism. We look forward to visiting our home away from home very soon again. Insofar as any bad reviews below are considered by other guests, remember, they are subjective. With an establishment this size, something can go wrong (and one can never keep everybody happy). The secret is how a hotel corrects anything that went wrong, and this is where The Palace of the Lost City is in a winning league. It has passionate and professional staff who makes us want to return time and time again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear DrFJLabuschagne Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind words. It is always gratifying when receiving great feedback from regular guests , like yourself. I am glad that the newly refurbished rooms are to your liking Trust me when I say, the pleasure is ours, looking after you and your wife. We cannot wait to welcome you back To The Palace once again. Kind regards
Read more
AshleighElizabeth17 wrote a review Oct 2021
Pretoria, South Africa48 contributions25 helpful votes
My fiancé and I stayed at the Palace for two nights in September. Although we have visited Suncity often, it was our first stay at the Palace and it exceeded our expectations. The room was beautiful, with a lovely bed and view. But there were tiny errors, for example the chair had a lot of wear and tear, there was no toilet roll holder, the sink was broken and I had to ask for a hair dryer to be brought to my room. The breakfast was out of this world with everything under the sun. We enjoyed the buffet one evening and it was absolutely delicious. The live music during meals adds such a wonderful atmosphere to an already magnificent setting. The separate pool at the valley is a wonderful, relaxing addition and has fantastic drinks. Although it is a topless pool, most people have bathing suites. The gardens are absolutely magnificent to explore and you could lounge by the Palace pool all day. The experience was the epitome of luxury. A truly wonderful spoil showcasing Africa's raw beauty. Thank you to the friendly and professional staff for making it a magnificent memory.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Enjoy every minute of it!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear AshleighElizabeth17 Thank you for your feedback of your stay with us I am glad to see we were able to create memories and that you enjoyed your time at The Palace, as well as, on the rest of the resort We hope to see you soon again Kind regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$237 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the palace of the lost city hotel sun city, the palace of lost city
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceMoses Kotane Local MunicipalitySun City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
335
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Palace of the Lost City
Which popular attractions are close to The Palace of the Lost City?
Nearby attractions include King's Tower (0.4 miles), Valley of Waves (0.2 miles), and Sun City Resort (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Palace of the Lost City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Palace of the Lost City?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Palace of the Lost City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Palace of the Lost City?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Palace of the Lost City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crystal Court, RocoMamas Sun City, and The Grill Room.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Palace of the Lost City?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Palace of the Lost City have airport transportation?
Yes, The Palace of the Lost City offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Palace of the Lost City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Palace of the Lost City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does The Palace of the Lost City have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.