We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palace of the Lost City

Save
Share
Sun City Resort, Sun City, Moses Kotane Local Municipality 0316 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$325
View deal
Trip.com
$287
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/22
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Algotels$369
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3769)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (844)

About

#1 of 10 hotels in Sun City
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Golf course
Babysitting
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Water park
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Park View
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
2752Reviews156Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,627
  • 557
  • 283
  • 148
  • 137
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
GuildfordRunner wrote a review Nov 23
Guildford, United Kingdom6 contributions12 helpful votes
This is my third visit to the palace, previously this was such a special place, hence revisiting. You used to feel so special the moment you walked through the door, however this time it's different not sure if this is down to previous covid lockdown, we were nor shown to our rooms, given no information about the place, the rooms are looking tired, hairdryer didn't work, bathroom door didn't close, mirror hanging off the wall, such a disappointment as I had been really looking forward to this expecting the same experience as I'd previously had. It's no longer 5 star based on this experience
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded yesterday
Dear GuildfordRunner Thank you for taking the tine and completing the online survey. All feedback received from our guests ,whether positive or negative, is appreciated. Your feedback has been shared with the team , and we shall most certainly strive to improve in the areas that you have brought to our attention. It is our sincere hope that we shall see you soon on the resort again Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andre T wrote a review Nov 22
Centurion, South Africa3 contributions
Dirt and grime in the groove around the glass table tops of the the breakfast tables, decomposing oysters on the breakfast buffet, stale bread, mushy salomon, grey ham slices, an abandoned egg station, are not the breakfast standard anyone paying 5star rates wants to experience. The only lunch option is the pool bar serving deep fried lowest quality chicken bits or fish and chips where salt is the substitute for cooking skills. The reception and concierge staff are untrained and struggle to communicate and end up arguing with each other about how to answer a simple question, which way to get to the wave pool. Oh, and the pool tiles are infested by black algae and an unrepaired pool light is floating behind the pool fountain, maybe after having failed to electricute an unsuspecting guest. Wifi signal is fluctuating badly, making internet calls unreliable. I have been at the Palace many times before since 1993 with family, guests and business partners to whom I wanted to show the best in South Africa. My impression is that this exceptional and global jewel of a hotel with its unique architecture and setting has been beset by lazy and incompetent managers who do not uphold the most basic quality and service standards and have done too little or nothing to train and upskill the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 704andret Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, all feed back received from our guests, whether positive or negative is appreciated. I am truly sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, especially, coming from a regular guest like yourself .I want to assure you that we view your review in the serious light that it deserves, and that it has been shared with the team We shall endeavor to improve in the areas that you have brought to our attention It is my sincere hope that we shall see you soon again at The Palace Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happy traveller wrote a review Nov 21
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom3 contributions
I was blown away by not only the views, the food, the facilities, but also how kind and attentive all the staff are at the hotel, and the luxurious surroundings to suit everyone. It’s an amazing place and an amazing experience which I thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Susiee01 Thank you for your amazing review and 5 star rating. It is extremely gratifying to see that you enjoyed your time with us, as well as our services. Trust me when I say it will be our pleasure to welcome you back Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Braam M wrote a review Nov 17
2 contributions
We visited the Palace of the Lost City in November 2022 for a five day, four night midweek break, and were extremely disappointed. Compared to our previous visits, the hotel and service have gone down significantly. The bathroom basin drain was clogged, and we had to repeatedly request maintenance to fix this, with the hotel simply ignoring our request after the second half-hearted and ineffectual "fix". The clogged drain (or something else too?) meant that the toilet area had a generally bad smell for our entire visit. We asked about spa and gym facilities, only to be told that these would not be available the whole week that we were there. We would have to go to the other hotel, which was too much of a "mission" for us, for what is supposed to be a relaxing spa visit. We had understood that onsite spa and gym facilities would be a standard minimum for a five star hotel. If we had been warned of this, we would certainly not have booked this hotel. The cleaning staff only cleaned (one of our two) rooms once, while we were out. On the other days, they would arrive very late in the day, when we were relaxing in our rooms, with a half-hearted request as to whether or not we required service. It definitely felt like a reluctance to do their jobs. We were out of our rooms for many hours every day, and there was plenty of opportunity for the staff to do simple things like empty the bins unobtrusively, which we consider a basic standard at a five star hotel. While not within the hotel management's control, we had bad weather every single day of our five day visit, so that it felt like "Sun City" was very ironically named. This aggravated our disappointment at the lack of spa facilities. There is no heated pool, or other water facilities for cold days. On two of the mornings at breakfast, the waiter/waitress service (for coffee, tea and toast) was extremely lax. While the breakfast spread is large, the range is not particularly impressive for vegetarians. The fruit juice section and omelette section ran out of certain ingredients on some of the days, reducing our options further. This trip was meant to be a special, memorable celebration of the end of our son's matric exams. While it was memorable, this was not for good reasons. To make matters worse, the hotel sent a standardised email requesting feedback, to which we responded regarding various issues, only to hear deafening silence in response.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Compass324730 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, all feed back received from our guests, whether positive or negative is appreciated. I am truly sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our new spa,salon and gym have since opened. Your feedback I want to assure you that we view your review in the serious light that it deserves, and that it has already been shared with the team We shall endeavor to improve in the areas that you have brought to our attention It is my sincere hope that we shall see you soon again on the resort Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kitrynb wrote a review Nov 14
Bloemfontein, South Africa18 contributions3 helpful votes
I am enjoying a great time here at The Palace once again. Beautiful architecture and authentic decor that complements the style and atmosphere of the lost city. Great breakfast with a variety of dishes. Sushi, oysters and other delicacies that is pleasing to the eye and delicious the tastebuds. The smoothie, pancake, waffle and flapjack stations are just a few things to mention that can be enjoyed at the breakfast table. Having said all that, the music by pianist Robert Phiri was the most enjoyable of it all. It contributes so much to the atmosphere and completes the theme of beauty, taste and sound in a profound way. Robert is professional, humble and his love for music and his sensitivity to the guests are remarkable. When we started to talk about his music he offered that I join him in playing a song. He also played some of my favorite songs, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Robert is a great asset and contributes to the total package that The Palace has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 1 week ago
Dear kitrynb Thank you for your extensive review of your stay at The Palace I am glad-to see you enjoyed your stay with us once again Our extensive buffet breakfast is something that need to be experienced by everyone As you rightly mention, Robert, is truly an Ambassador for the hotel. He knows how to create memories for our guests We look forward welcoming you back to The Palace!! Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Henry S wrote a review Nov 13
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa17 contributions5 helpful votes
A beautiful hotel with friendly staff. it is looking really good - and a real treat to be in this magnificent resort. The breakfast selection is spectacular - it would take one all day to even sample the various offerings. Something for everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 1 week ago
Dear k3416WKhenrys Thank you for your review of your stay at The Palace Our extensive breakfast buffet needs to be experienced indeed It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel! Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curious31517142319 wrote a review Nov 9
Excellent service!! Phastina Pilane’s service in the Tusk Bar was outstanding! She is a true ambassador for The Palace of the Lost City. What a “gem” of an individual - attention to detail & very caring & attentive service 👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Curious31517142319 Your Excellent service review is truly appreciated! Phastina will be recognized in making such a positive impact during your stay with us We hope to see you soon again on the resort Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Parthiv Desai wrote a review Nov 7
40 contributions2 helpful votes
Fantastic experience of , great food and Awesome Bar great location. Wonderful experience beyond the words. Reception and front office staff are wonderful, Restaurant Breakfast Staff needs to be polite. They are there because of guests.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Try to look for specials on suncity website.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear ParthiveDesai18 Thank you so much for your review and feedback We are glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to create memories. It is my sincere hope that we shall see you soon again on the resort Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fazel A wrote a review Nov 1
Pretoria, South Africa8 contributions1 helpful vote
The palace was lovely. Sun city offers quite a bit wlithin the gates of the complex. It is not quite running at 100%. But it was a great trip and good to see coming out of Covid that people can gather again. Some restaurants are not fully open as yet, but it was welcome experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 6311fazela Thank you for your review of your stay at The Palace Wonderful to see you enjoyed your time with us We hope to see you soon again on the resort Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephan wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
+1
Our family stayed at The Palace for the first time this past weekend. What a joy to experience the timeless splendor of this well known gem! The waterfalls, the finer details, THE BREAKFAST! Even after 30 years, the Palace still looks amazing, aging beautifully. Our room was spotless and newly renovated. The lifts on our side of the hotel caused a bit of frustration, due to one being out of service, but a manager confirmed that they are also in the process of being upgraded. Apart from that, it was a very memorable experience overall.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from francois du toit, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace of the Lost City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear SVHugo Wonderful to sere that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. in our newly refurbished rooms. We definitely have the best breakfast in the country!!!! We hope to see you soon again Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$289 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the palace of the lost city hotel sun city, the palace of lost city
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceMoses Kotane Local MunicipalitySun City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
335
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PALACE OF THE LOST CITY - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Sun City, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Palace of the Lost City
Which popular attractions are close to The Palace of the Lost City?
Nearby attractions include King's Tower (0.4 miles), Valley of Waves (0.2 miles), and Sun City Resort (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Palace of the Lost City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Palace of the Lost City?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Palace of the Lost City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Palace of the Lost City?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Palace of the Lost City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crystal Court, RocoMamas Sun City, and The Raj Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Palace of the Lost City?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Palace of the Lost City have airport transportation?
Yes, The Palace of the Lost City offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Palace of the Lost City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Palace of the Lost City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does The Palace of the Lost City have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.