We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Fourways, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to take an unplanned roadtrip to suncity. As my husband and I didn't want to drive back to joburg in the evening we looked for a place to stay. Everywhere was fully booked. We unfortunately ended up at safari lodge. The photos are misleading. The only place that looks attractive is the bar. The rooms are old. Beds... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback very much and we are glad that you found the staff were friendly. Your feedback is very important to us. We apologize for your experience regarding your recent stay. Senior Management has been informed about this complaint and they will be looking into... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Except for being disapointed at dinner. We chose the al a carte option as the buffet only had 2 maincourse options. On the menu out of the 2 salads they offered . The one we wanted they couldn't make. When it came to ordering mains we decided to ask if there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Calvin F
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Calvin Thank you for the kind review of Safari Lodge Rustenburg. We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay. Excellence is customer satisfaction is of prime importance to us. We would like to apologize for not being able to serve you with your preference at dinner due to some of the dishes being out of stock on our... More 

Pretoria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016

I was extremely impressed with the friendly, efficient and helpful staff at Orion Safari Lodge in Rustenburg. Nothing seemed to be too much for the staff, despite the large numbers that they were attending to. Whenever I needed something or my television sound was problematic - the staff / maintenance staff were there within minutes. The executive room was extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank theroncee
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the lovely review of Safari Lodge! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback will definitely be reviewed by the Line Manager concerned. We do hope to see you back with us in the near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management Safari Lodge Rustenburg More 

Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

I have had Sunday lunch at the Orion Safari on several occasions and have never had cause to complain. The buffet provides a variety of tasty dishes - something for every body. The salad bar and the hors d'oeuvres are great. If meat is your thing, you will be very content. Oxtail lovers will be in their element. Service pleasantly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MargretS495
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Margret Thank you for the kind review of Safari Lodge Rustenburg. We are pleased that you had always enjoyed our Sunday Lunch selection and experience and it is always very nice to hear when our valued guests have a great time. We do hope to see you return soon again and look forward to welcoming you. Warm Regards Staff... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016

My 3 friends and I visited Safari Lodge for the weekend. The staff was very friendly, the food was amazing. We ate so much each time we had to go take naps before we went out. Our dinner waitress Bonolo was so nice. Everything about the stay was pleasant. We will definitely come back again.

Helpful?
Thank MarrysM
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Marrys Thank you for such a wonderful review of Safari Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. We do hope to see you return for another wonderful stay in the near future Warm Regards Staff and Management Safari Lodge Rustenburg More 

Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

Stayed here for two nights. The place is clean but a bit dated i would say. They have suffered a fire about 8 months back so im sure things were not running as smoothly as they would normally. The staff were very friendly and I certainly enjoyed playing free mini golf (though i think maybe a weekly service of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessie_swan
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jessie Thank you for taking the time to review Safari Lodge. We appreciate all comments and feedback and we take it very seriously as it helps us to improve our standards and services. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding the restaurant and your food experience. Senior Management has been informed and the matter is being resolved. We... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

On afternoon of Friday 25/3/2016, we arrived at the Orion Safari Lodge in Rustenburg and was greeted very friendly by the Reception Staff and Klaas Mogele (Banqueting Manager (he previous met my wife)). We were shown to our room and were pleasantly surprised when we entered the room. Not only was the airconditioner already cooling our room (extremely hot outside)... More 

Helpful?
Thank LGericke
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the lovely review of Safari Lodge! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to see you back with us in the near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management Safari Lodge Rustenburg More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

Visited here again in april 2016 and despite the burnt out diningroom i still felt the peace and tranquility ive found there over the years. Congrats to all - and i mean all - the staff who are very friendly and helpful. Found the substitute diningroom to be modern and cosy. The food still good. I look forward to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Teresa Thank you for the wonderful review of Safari Lodge Rustenburg. We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and that your experience continues to be peaceful considering the renovations and unfortunate circumstance. We aim to please our guests no matter what happens and we appreciate your feedback as we want to improve each day... More 

Middelburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016

Stayed there for Easter Weekend with my family. The so called 3 Star Deluxe Family Rooms are old and very updated. They only deserve 0 Star. Town Lodge is 100 times better than this Shabby Hotel. The Reception area is indeed a 3 star and very appealling but their Family Rooms are an opposite of what you are seeing at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 96jacobg
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. we appreciate your feedback very much. We apologize for your experience regarding the hotel rooms and the electricity problems over the weekend. Senior Management has been informed about this complaint and they will be looking into the issues. The generator unfortunately does make a lot of noise and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rustenburg hotels

Middelburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

Had a terrible Easter Weekend Vacation in my entire life. The hotel claims to be a 3 star hotel but its not at all. its only 3 Star at the reception and Conference rooms but the so called Deluxe Family Rooms are way below expectations. They are 0 star and very shabby.The Hotel staff was very helpful but was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hlalo G
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. we appreciate your feedback very much. We apologize for your experience regarding the hotel rooms and the electricity problems over the weekend. Senior Management has been informed about this complaint and they will be looking into the issues. The generator unfortunately does make a lot of noise and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
11.2 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
10.6 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
3.9 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#10 of 12 in Rustenburg
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
1.1 mi away
WoodRidge Palms Boutique Hotel
24.2 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled at the foothills of the Rustenberg Kloof and Magaliesberg Mountains, the Safari Lodge is easily accessible from all the major metropolitan areas of Gauteng. The tranquil and relaxed country setting, together with its central location, makes it an ideal conference venue, or holiday destination, from which to explore the many attractions and natural splendours of the area.The Coach Restaurant offers gourmet dining and is perfectly complimented by the Usutu Restaurant and Cocktail Bar that serves mouth-watering buffets. This country hotel has numerous activities and facilities onsite. The swimming pool and pool bar are the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day at a conference, or after enjoying a scenic walk in the Rustenberg Kloof. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: Donkerhoek Road, Rustenburg 0300, South Africa (Formerly Orion Safari Lodge)
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Price Range: $74 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Safari Hotel Rustenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay