We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

My Family and I have been to Sparkling Waters on a number of occasions,but this was our first Winter visit.Our overiding impression,is a resort that is living on its reputation,but there are clear signs that this is wearing very thin.The rooms are clean and well maintained,but very dated,old carpet,ancient TV'S,and bathrooms,that scream of the 80's.Without any heated pools,the Grandchildren had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harryeli
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

We used to stay here often but on our last visit we see the place is looking shoddy and the food is nowhere near the standard we expected. Rates have gone through the roof and to describe the spa as the world's best is stretching things a bit. The area where the spit is held is decidedly grubby. I ordered... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 451Duncan
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your thoughts are extremely valuable to us, and these assist us in continuous improvements to our service delivery. Mostly we receive positive feedback about our country atmosphere and good food, so I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay with us. As a result of your comments,... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

Rooms not up to standard. Over priced dinner, charged double than what was quoted. Slap in the face reply when complaint was sent to management!!! Will never stay there again, allthough spa was excellent, will rather stay at close by lodge and drive there for the spa experience

Helpful?
Thank Pierre D
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. All comments and thoughts are received positively. We use guest feedback in staff training sessions in efforts to continuously improve our service delivery. We are a 3 star family resort hotel with a recently refurbished Conference Centre. Room refurbishment is ongoing, together with some Executive Rooms. We are sorry if you did not find... More 

Rustenburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

We thank Sparkling Waters for their perfect atmosphere, activities, food, spa, room, etc. We enjoyed each moment and felt spoiled each day as we were able to rest and keep ourselves busy with the numerous activities to choose from. We will definitely visit again and look forward to it.

Helpful?
Thank wswartz
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your delightful Tripadvisor review. We are a getaway that's not faraway from Gauteng's cities, where guests can simply relax and unwind, or enjoy the many activities on offer. In addition to the Spa, the Magaliesberg Canopy Tour adrenaline adventure is located on our premises and there are a number of activity packages provided in addition. We look... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

We booked into this hotel for one night and were pleasantly surprised as it's only a 3 Star rating but we had 5 star service. The room was clean, large and bright; the bed was very comfortable and the shower was lovely and spacious. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the food was delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank JackPugg
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful Tripadvisor review. We pride ourselves in offering value for money, and exceeding expectations. Many guests consider that we offer a 4 star experience, so we love your comments on the 5 star service that you received on your stay with us. We aim to provide awesome memories that linger long after departure, and... More 

Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016

This place still enchants , young and old , winter or summer , rain or sun.Great food , great accommodation , great service and great surroundings.The canopy tours are still a thrill every time. You wont be disapointed.

Helpful?
Thank GeraldG729
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your brilliant Tripadvisor review. It is always a delight to welcome you back to our home away from home, and we are so pleased that you continue to enjoy our country surroundings and facilities on your trips to South Africa. We are looking forward to your next visit to us. More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016

A wonderful hotel in the Magaliesburg mountains with comfortable ensuite rooms in beautiful gardens. Staff were friendly and efficient. Food was well presented, delicious and plentiful. There was something for everyone. Nightly entertainment and fun stuff for the kids to do too. The spa was a delight too. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Helpful?
1 Thank lisabrollo
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful Tripadvisor review. Our Oasis in the Magaliesberg Mountains and Biosphere, less than 2 hours from the Gauteng cities, is the perfect weekend getaway. There are plenty of activities or simply relax and unwind. In addition to the Award winning Spa, the Magaliesberg Canopy Tour operates from the premises, which is an adrenaline adventure. We have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at Sparkling Waters after a full day of travel and couldn't have picked a better place to relax and have fun with our family. The kids enjoyed the trampoline and pool while the adults enjoyed a glass of wine and the spa. Everyone was happy and that is hard to achieve when traveling with kids. The staff was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great Tripadvisor review. We pride ourselves on being a family resort, where guests, younger and older, can enjoy our numerous activities or just relax and unwind. We have many repeat regulars over the years, and we have 2nd generation guests return with family and friends for Anniversaries, Birthdays, and reunions. We look forward to... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

My wife and I just had 3 magical days at Sparkling Waters! The food was superb, the service and staff excellent and the atmosphere incredible! Not too far from the speed and pace of Jhb, sitting and reading our books in this peacefull setting was just what we needed. Even though they were very busy one would have thought we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank glen_conf
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your delightful Tripadvisor review. We pride ourselves on being a family resort in the Magaliesberg Mountains, and only 1.5 hours from the Gauteng cities. As well as providing activities for young and not so young, the hotel grounds are large enough so that it is also a perfect venue just to relax and unwind. The Sparkling Spa... More 

Rustenburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

Took my family there as a surprise for my little girl's 8th birthday.. what a dissapointment, came in and ordered Burger and hot dog roll,after 30 minutes I still hadn't received my order and had to re-order! The room..very outdated,nothing charming or better than my room back at home. Dinner was dissapointing, rice had too much turmeric, the oxtail was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shimmy P
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. All comments and viewpoints are received positively, and we use them in staff training sessions. Your thoughts are most valuable to us. The majority of our guests comment favorably about our food, so I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy certain aspects of the meals. Our chef, Mark, is always willing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
14.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
13.7 mi away
No photo provided
16.8 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
26.5 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
12.3 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family resort hotel in the Magaliesberg Mountains, approx 35 kms from Rustenburg, 1 hour from Pretoria, and 1.5 hours from Johannesburg. Ideally located for a convenient break away from the cities of Gauteng. Our motto is 'The getaway that's not faraway'. Both Sparkling Spa and Magaliesberg Canopy Tour are located on the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa

Address: Rietfontein Farm JQ 348, Rustenburg 0300, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Price Range: $128 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rustenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay