We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Protea Hotel Hunters Rest

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Hunters Rest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although they definitely tried their best to revamp this hotel it just lacks important amenities. There's a lack of plugs and I had a lot of trouble with wifi. In their defence, reception tried to help but were unsuccessful so I had to go unconnected.The bathroom was massive and old-school and therefore very cold. I liked my little stoep but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mabet V
GM-HuntersRest, Manager at Protea Hotel Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Mabet V, Thank you very much for your review. Please accept our sincere apology for the Wi-Fi connectivity issues you have experienced and the inconvenience during your recent stay with us. We usually pride ourselves when it comes to our property and its facilities however we have failed to meet your expectations. We will keep on trying to improve... More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed for business on several occasions in the last three months and the service has been disappointing. The hotel has recently been renovated and it has beautiful comfortable rooms and warm dining area. It has a well equipped gym. The service challenges start at reception where questions around lunch packs are not always consistently addressed. In the dining... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarMak1985
GM-HuntersRest, Manager at Protea Hotel Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear SarMak1985, Thank you for taking the time to review us regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for service levels you have experienced and... More 

Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I liked the service levels. Polite and happy and caring. the rooms were a bit old but people did all it takes to make this property attractive. It's location is perfect for a retreat. truly recommend for safari trips and family outings together.

Helpful?
Thank Vaiduks
GM-HuntersRest, Manager at Protea Hotel Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Vaiduks, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent stay. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a great stay. We have a project running upgrading our older rooms and keeping it up to date as our newer renovated rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so... More 

Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for only one night. A very beautiful and quiet Hotel with lots to do. Friendly efficient staff and good food. When I arrived their power was off, a bit of a bummer as it is winter and cold. The food was excellent even though the power was off until halfway thru the meal. Room was spacious, but I... More 

Helpful?
Thank HermanK449
GM-HuntersRest, Manager at Protea Hotel Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear HermanK449, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. It does get quite cold surrounded by the gorgeous Magalies' mountains but we have since your feedback invested in more sources for heating in the rooms. We value your feedback... More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently revamped, nice and clean and modern, Unfortunately they missed a few minor things...no clear place for two pin plug to recharge the cell phone (Room 143)...NO shaver charging place that could have doubled up as cell phone charger. To charge the laptop , one has to unplug something in the room ... Really at this age? The have sauna... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellingben66
GM-HuntersRest, Manager at Protea Hotel Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear travellingben66, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities of our recently revamped hotel. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience you have experienced about the facilities available in your room, as we did not get to meet your expectations... More 

Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

First Impressions are not always the best. We arrived. The lights would not work, the cupboard door handle came off and the phone also did not work. It all got sorted immediately. The setting is awesome. The 9 hole mashy couse needs some tending but not bad at all. The food is great. Rooms and linen fresh and clean. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Estelle G
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Estelle, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we appreciate this greatly. Please accept my sincere apologies for the fact that you had a bit of a rough start to you your stay. I am glad that the team was able to sort the problems out promptly. Thank you for the feedback with regards to... More 

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

The extensive upgrade has added to the charm. Loved the new Spa. The friendly, confident and willing staff/hosts- from front desk to dinning add to the relaxation. Thank you for a great break from the city! Well done!!

Helpful?
Thank LawrieKcoco
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Lawrie Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted to year that you had a great break. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future. Best Regards Siyanda Dlamini More 

Gaborone
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

Service - Tick Rooms - Tick Food - Tick Location - Tick Value for Money - Tick Facilities - Tick I have stayed here before, and was impressed with the renovations ! They put a lot of thought into it, especially the dining area; i was not disappointed !! Staff at reception are friendly, and attentive as well as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bushman4367
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Bushman, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us! We are delighted to hear that we ticked all the boxes. I am sorry to hear that you had noisy neighbours, sometimes people get carried away and forget that there are other people that need to be considered. We do have security guards... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

We were a party of 5 ladies form 3 different generations- it was Grandma's 85th birthday and her 2 daughters and 2 granddaughters decided to celebrate the occasion at Protea Hotel Hunter's Rest. We drove only 1 hour from Pretoria and found lovely scenery on the smaller roads. What a lovely surprise to return after 15 years and find a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronel-rocky
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Ronel Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your latest visit. I pleased to hear that you and your party had a lovely time at out property. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the gardens. I will share your review with the garden maintenance team, they will be pleased to hear that... More 

Reading
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016

We've stayed at Hunters Rest a few times but had not been back for almost 15 years. It has been upgraded and taken over by a hotel chain. Rooms were clean and tidy. the golf course is a bonus if you play golf. There is a little zoo which is great for children. The pool is clean and well kept.

Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineCyprus
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Christine Thank you for your review, we are glad that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Siyanda Dlamini General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
18.4 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
7.3 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
5.0 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#10 of 12 in Rustenburg
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
6.4 mi away
WoodRidge Palms Boutique Hotel
10.3 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A country resort nestled in the Magaliesburg Mountains With the resort's rich history and heritage, it now also forms part of the Magaliesberg Biosphere, guests both young and old can enjoy the relaxing sub-tropical ambiance of this resort. It provides a wide range of facilities that includes child-friendly playgrounds, children's tractor rides, pony rides, seasonal kids activities program, golf for dad and the boys, on-site health and beauty spa for mom and the girls, or enjoy picnic as a family by the pool and have some drinks from our pool bar, light meals served from our caravan by the pool or on the patio adjacent to our restaurant, nature drives to our famous viewing deck overlooking the natural asset of the Magaliesburg Mountains and the Olifants Nek dam. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Hunters Rest

Address: R24 Rustenburg / Krugersdorp Road, Rustenburg 0300, South Africa (Formerly Hunters Rest Mountain Resort)
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Price Range: $67 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Hunters Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Protea Hotel Hunters Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Rest Hotel Rustenburg
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rustenburg
#3 Spa Hotel in Rustenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay