We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
154 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sunset Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 70: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had visitors from New Zealand and thought that log cabins would be a good option for having a South African bush experience. Sunset Lodge exceeded our expectations. We were promptly checked in and were very pleased with the accommodation and facilities. Being slightly out of town is a great advantage as you are completely surrounded by the buzz of... More 

Helpful?
Thank selvsn
Edenvale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful view in a relaxed comfortable setting. Staff was very friendly and attended to all our needs immediately. Unit was comfortable and had everything we needed. Sundowners on the deck were great. Will definitely visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 107wesleyl
Shelley K, Owner at Sunset Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning Wesley, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I'm very pleased to hear our staff were efficient! There is nothing better than sundowners on the deck. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future! Happy travels More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved the location of this graet little lodge, situated in a quiet and lush part of town, right on the estuary. The little wooden cottages are very neat and cosy, and the fact that it is serviced daily makes your holiday so much more relaxing. At first I thought the layout wasn’t great, with all the cottages facing onto... More 

Helpful?
Thank 534gildas
Shelley K, Owner at Sunset Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning Gilda, Thank you for the lovely comment on Trip advisor. We glad you enjoyed your stay. I have thought of you for the last 3 nights as we have had the hippos come up every single night for the last couple of evenings. You will have to come and stay with us again and hopefully experience it! Happy... More 

Schornsheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The small house was OK, but the toilet smelt in the morning but after using it was OK. When we arrived somebody was us checking in and shows us the location. The location was quite but near to the center. Thanks for the stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Shelley K, Owner at Sunset Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning Mark, Thank you for your review on trip advisor, Next time I would highly recommend the Estuary view chalet, if you looking for more space. Do book in advance as it is fully booked 90% of the time. Happy travels and hopefully we see you in the near future. Kind regards Shelley from Sunset Lodge More 

Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

If we ever come back to St. Lucia, we will stay at sunset lodge! Friendly People, very clean and a nice Location to stay. A good place near by all the interesting places in this area. Safe and well equipped.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 128robin
Shelley K, Owner at Sunset Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning happy Travelers, Thank you for the review on Trip-advisor. We glad you enjoyed your time with us at Sunset Lodge. We loved accommodating you and your family and look forward to meeting you again in the near future. Regards Shelley from Sunset Lodge More 

Drakensberg, KZN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

The setting of this place is amazing. The view from the front lawn makes up for any moans you might have... Yes the cabins are close together and not sound proof; yes the linen is a bit tired and yes there are maintenance issues, but for what you are paying you could be in a tent with a view like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay C
Shelley K, Owner at Sunset Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning Lindsay, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on trip-advisor. You and your family were an absolute delight. We glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Shelley from Sunset Lodge More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

The self-catering chalet we had, was perfect! Sunset lodge is really well located in St Lucia, at the end of the biggest street of the town. The garden, the swimming pool and the view are really beautiful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
Shelley K, Owner at Sunset Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning Ellen, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy Travels and we look forward to meeting you again in the near future! Regards Shelley from Sunset Lodge More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

A beautiful holiday destination situated on the estuary. Cabins well appointed and very clean. My negative comments would be a lack of hospitality by the owners and a feeling that we were intruding on their privacy,rather than a feeling of being guests at their lodge. The other negative comment would be the poor quality of the mattresses,pillows and the linen.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean G
Shelley K, Owner at Sunset Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning Jean, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on trip advisor. I glad to hear you had a great holiday! Wow, you are the first person to complain about our beds, linen and pillows. Our matresses are brand new, and top of the line from a reputable company! Kind regards Shelley from Sunset Lodge More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

Enjoyed the quest - sunset lodge is on the queter side of town. Stunning views, Close enough to town fo a short walk to restaurants and shops. Hosts were friendly. beautiful sunsets can be viewed from the pool area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank victorsW6073JC
Shelley K, Owner at Sunset Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning Traveler, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regareds Shelley from Sunset Lodge More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

We were really pleased when we arrived in a steaming St Lucia to find out that our chalet at Sunset lodge had aircon! We had a nice stay at the lodge and while the 2 bed units are small, they are well kitted, clean and serviced daily. Mosquito nets on the windows would have been a bonus to keep out... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CFloros
Shelley K, Owner at Sunset Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning Traveller, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, We glad you had a lovely stay at Sunset Lodge. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future. Kind regards Shelley from Sunset Lodge More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
Seasands Lodge and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#1 of 31 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 31 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#1 of 28 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Eden St Lucia
Little Eden St Lucia
#4 of 31 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#3 of 31 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge

Address: 154 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Price Range: $100 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing