We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is pretty unique, this area is totally unique. It's hard to actually express the feelings you get at the Royal or in the town. Wander around in the stillness of the night, after a fair few sundowners in the hotel bar, and step back 150 years into the old South Africa. Look into the skies and see the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard J
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Richard Thanks for your review, we're thrilled that you feel the beauty and unique stillness of the town and area, Pilgrims really is a very special little place! it's very encouraging to hear from people who feel the Magic! I am working hard together with our team to change our food style, and I believe next time you visit... More 

Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very nice! The quality of the food at the restaurant (self service) is not acceptable, it was the worst experience (actually the only bad one) we had during our three-weeks stay in South Africa.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andreanic198
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Andre We're really pleased that you liked the hotel, but very sad that you didn't enjoy the restaurant. Please would you be so kind as to send me an email with details about your experience, so that I can address the problem areas with the team. (royal@rhpilgrims.co.za) Thank you and kind regards Lella More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had lunch at The Royal Hotel in a recent visit. This is the only building left in Pilgrims Rest that looks like it is being properly cared for, the old hotel looks the part as the town meeting place and is popular as a lunch stop. The food was simple but good and they catered for children with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrendanL26
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brendan Thanks for your review, the team at The Royal Hotel are always pleased to hear about what we are doing right! Please do keep spreading the word that Pilgrims Rest is still alive, there is a committed community doing everything they can to work together with Government to ensure that visitors continue to enjoy the experience. Kind Regards... More 

Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

There was something incredibly special and genuine about this hotel - time stood still and my team and I were at complete rest. The staff and service was incredible with wonderful food served. Only the pillows were a little uncomfortable to sleep on, but overall we really enjoyed our stay surrounded by a multitude of natural wonders.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 721devond
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Devon Thanks so much for your positive review, and we're thrilled that you felt how special the place is! I will certainly address the pillows, would you be so kind as to inbox us with regard to which room/s you stayed in, if you can remember? Thanks again Kind regards Lella More 

Toulouse, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

Sent back to the Early 1900. Very strange and funny western experience. Nice atmosphere also in the restaurant and correct good. We missed wifi in the rooms and it sas very weak in the commun zone. Highly recommandable for a trip on that part of SA

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christinedJ9220PW
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Christine Thank you for your positive review, our team appreciates feedback about what we are doing right! We are in the process of upgrading some of our technical equipment, and hope this will enhance our wifi signal. Kind regards Lella More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

This was my fifth stay at the hotel - one the annexes this time, the Bank House. When the village was first renovated it was a genuine charmer but lack of ongoing investment in maintenance is really starting to show. Probably more disappointing is the decline in service standards in the dining room and Church Bar. The food from the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T7105ULneilm
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments, and I will certainly look into the service issues. With regard to the village in general, despite many challenges, there is an enthusiastic community who are committed to keeping Pilgrims Rest alive! We hope we have the opportunity to host you again. Kind regards Lella More 

Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

Good location in the middle of the village. Big room with old-fashioned decoration. In the winter time the bathroom was very cold. Restaurant for diner and breakfast was a buffet with average quality food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 637annemariet
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Annemarie for your feedback. Guest reviews are very important to us and we will investigate additional heating for our bathrooms. We will also address "average quality" food, and hope you will visit us again. Kind Regards Lella More 

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

I was the only guest in the hotel. The staff went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and welcome. I would definitely stay there again. It's just too bad that the government does not support such places anymore. It was sad to experience the abandonment of the historical town and lively culture.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin Z
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kevin Thanks so much for your positive review. Our staff are very grateful for your compliments. Kind Regards Lella More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

This hotel was a surprise - well-maintained, filled with beautiful antique furniture. The best feature were the HUGE bathtubs. It was cool during our visit, but the hotel seemed to have an endless supply of hot, steamy water for lovely soaks.

Helpful?
Thank kjdbjd1983
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. It's wonderful to hear about the things we are getting right! We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards Lella More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the famous Royal Hotel. We have booked the Royal Cottage, it was beautiful decorated with old period furniture. We had a beautiful view over the mountains. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinner were also very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Rudi O
Neels J, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rudi O, We thank you for the time with us and we hope we see you soon with other friends. From Management and Staff its always a great pleasure to have such wonderful Guests to serve. Neels van Rensburg Management and staff More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (189)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (78)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilgrim's Rest
6.0 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
13.3 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
4.2 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Nkambeni Safari Camp
#96 of 163 in Kruger National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Main Road, Pilgrim's Rest 1290, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Pilgrim's Rest
Price Range: $68 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Pilgrims Rest
The Royal Hotel South Africa/Mpumalanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay