We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Palms Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Palms Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 31: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in 2013 & 2015 it was a fantastic B&B the best we have stayed in, we loved it there and recommend it to all who visit that part of Africa, the couple that run it are really nice and easy to get along with, good food, great room.

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place needs an urgent make over. The rooms, furniture and bathrooms are 50 years old. Building rubble on both sides of our room. When we complained re the state of the place we were offered a "discount" for our next stay, which will never happen again. The place is advertised as a 4 star establishment but don't even deserve... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Chris P, Manager at The Palms Guest House, responded to this review

Good day As we were bussy putting in paving ,we did apoligies to the customers on arrival as the bricks to finished off were not delivered. The reason why we offered a discount is because we felt obliged to offered it to them we are currently bussy with the inside off the rooms as KHALAMI GROUP HAVE GOT A HIGH... More 

Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

The room was too small, there's noise coming from the shower drain the whole night. The buffet area was always dirty. The first morning @7h30 I was told I can't have breakfast because the food is finished. In the evenings I was told to come and eat quickly before the food is finished.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank setimelaveronica
Schornsheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

When we arrive nobody was their. After a call somebody from the neighbourhood checked us in. He was not the access code for the door and the WiFi code. The drainage of the shower started in the morning with noises and the wall was so thin that we here everything from the neighbor room. Breakfast we get in the Hotel... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

I had to wait for a considerable period before I was attended to. and when I was shown my room it was as if I was given a prison cell, there wasn't any warm welcoming approach. Please work on this....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank waynem49
Lippetal, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

really nice hosts, tasteful rooms in a beautyful tropical garden; you will enjoy the very good breakfast. Only the Pool needs to be more care. From this point you can start with an amazing trip throu the stunning landscape of Blight River Canyon to Krüger National Park

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 645claudiak
Secunda
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2016

Make an effor for proper parking for cars....don't boast about putting the cars in the Sun for 18 years.The TV channels are few and boring, can do more to improve the channels.The people are warm though, food is good

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Recksons
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

One of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Great rooms that were immaculately clean. A warm and friendly welcome with great advice on where to eat. Lovely pool to cool off in and a great breakfast...add to that a Yorkshire accent from the owners and what more could one ask for....we will return for sure if in the area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug_Cartlidge
Benoni
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

The venue was so relevant; accessible and befitting for a weekend away and we appreciated the hospitality. The breakfast was sumptuous. The atmosphere was welcoming and we sure will be using it again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 292adelaidem
Cape Town
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

We arrived at The Palms a bit early and unfortunately the host was out so we had to return later in the afternoon. We were warmly greeted and shown to our rooms after a quick tour of the property to show us where everything was (breakfast room being the most important). There was also a well maintained pool in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andre H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
1.8 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#9 of 66 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 66 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mariu Guest House
Mariu Guest House
#12 of 66 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 66 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Marcello
Casa Marcello
#21 of 66 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
DESCRIPTION: Warmth and welcome await you at The Palms, one of Nelspruit’s most popular and established guest houses. Bordering a nature reserve the lush sub-tropical gardens offer superb views and an abundance of bird life, creating an ambience of peace and tranquillity. LOCATION Popular tourist attractions are all within easy travelling distances, i.e. the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, Pilgrims Rest and the historical town of Barberton. ACCOMMODATION All rooms are individually appointed with your comfort in mind and all are en-suite with television, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and ceiling fans. The house itself offers superb views of the subtropical gardens and mountains beyond. DINING Our breakfast room overlooks the sparkling pool and granite slabs. Your stay will include a comprehensive, full cooked breakfast. We offer packed breakfast and lunches and dinners can be served by arrangement. FACILITIES The Palms has a guest lounge with an honesty bar. We have a Braai area and our car park is guarded. Children are welcome to explore the extensive gardens, climb the granite slabs and play in the pool. TOURS We have connections with SATOUR registered tour guides and tours can be arranged to the Kruger National Park, God’s Window, Pilgrims Rest, Sabie and the waterfalls, Blyde River Canyon, Barberton and the surrounding area’s. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palms Guest House

Address: 25 Van Wijk Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Palms Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay