We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Rio Vista Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rio Vista Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 58: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

The lodge is situated on the Crocodile River bordering the Kruger National Park. We stayed on the 1st floor overlooking the river area. The rooms are small but has a balcony which is nice. The lodge has a restaurant on site and I can recommend the dinner. We had starters and main courses and it was excellent. Breakfast which is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank knowtel
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016

My family group of 11 from the UK stayed here for just one night in March 2016. I wish we had booked for longer. I had let the hotel know in advance that I was vegan (vegetarian, no dairy), and asked for a suitable meal. We all assembled on the deck for dinner, and I was treated like royalty. "Are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia Z
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2016

This is my second trip in consequtive years to the Rio Vista Lodge. The first time I stayed in one of the Rondavels, which are very African in design, but at the same time Luxurious.This time I booked one of the brand new challets,which allows total freedom for barbequing (Braaing as they say in SA) as and when, our own... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
spain
Level Contributor
532 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We were originally booked at the Belvedere next door but they informed us that the whole of Malelane was without power and they did not have a back up generator. This lodge was recommended by them as they did have a back up for power. The two rooms we had were good,the viewing deck and pool was good.breakfast was good... More 

Helpful?
Thank alexanderSpain
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

The view over the Kruger is lovely from the deck restaurant and the food served is hearty, no fuss fare. The air conditioning is a life saver and the rooms comfortable, clean and simple. The staff can't be nicer. It reflects exactly what the price suggests. The only negative was no door between the toilet and the room but maybe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johanet
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
664 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 679 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

This is a very beautiful place on the bank of Crocodile River where you get to see a lot of wildlife, especially at night. We spent only 2 nights there, but caught sight of several elephants, a rhino, a hippo, waterbucks, monkeys and plenty of birds. Sunset by the river was also very pleasant. We had a double room facing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyW358
Mishmar HaYarden, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

We had a great time at this nice hotel, with his amazingly friendly staff that took care of all our needs and answered all of our many questions. The hotel has a very good restaurant with beautiful view to the kruger park, with affordable prices.

Helpful?
Thank shaharnaim
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you in the near future More 

Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Stayed during August as our favourite B&B was fully booked, but had absolutely no regrets. The room on the first floor had the most amazing view over the Crocodile River and we saw many animals from our veranda. It is also a birders paradise. Saw our first ever Trumpeter Hornbill. Our Room was beautiful and very comfortable. The food at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krugerholic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

We recently visited Rio Vista Lodge. Beautiful lodge. Just do not be booked in the rondavel. Not part of the main Lodge. Room was sub standard. Defnitely needs attention to detail. Air con not working properly. Fridge very noisy. Blinds in bathroom broken. We had to cover the window with a towel. After power failure we were offered to move... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tessa B
Anita B, Manager at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I must confess the rondavels need a good revamp of which it is scheduled for January, February next year. I am so glad you had the opportunity to stay in the main lodge and enjoyed the rest of your stay. I am sure in the near future when you return the Rondavels are of a... More 

Alberton, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Perfect place to stay outside the Kruger National Park. No matter what food you order "its delicious" and well served. Clean and well serviced rooms. Excellent views and a great place just to relax. We visited the Rio Vista for the last ten years and every year is an improvement.

Helpful?
Thank sastarfinder
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malelane hotels
3.0 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
3.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khandizwe River Lodge
Khandizwe River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Malelane
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#3 of 11 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Malelane
5.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
8.6 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 8 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere-on-River
Belvedere-on-River
#4 of 11 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rio Vista 4 star Lodge is situated on the border of The Kruger National Park. Experience spectacular views from The Deck overlooking the Crocodile River as animals come to graze and drink while you eat. A dam with various species of fish for the catch-and-release angler. An ideal location for a much needed relaxing break away. Rio-Vista is 27 roomed lodge, all rooms are air-conditioned with DSTV and bar fridge, swimming pool and secure parking. Our facility is child friendly with spacious gardens. We have a lovely thatched deck and cocktail bar with an open view into the Kruger park. Our a la carte Restaurant serves the best meals in the region. Lino's Lodge consist of eight air-conditioned single or sharing chalets , all with DSTV, private patio, and bar fridge. Relax in a homely atmosphere, close to shops and the Malelane Kruger Gate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rio Vista Lodge

Address: Stand 1062 | Monte Vista Estate, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Price Range: $81 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rio Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay