We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sanbonani Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
off Stormvoel Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sanbonani Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The grounds are beautiful, the chalets are cute, and the staff is great. The highlights of our trip to South Africa were mostly created by recommendations from Joan, the onsite excursion coordinator. Our full day safari with Vishnu was the best tour we had all week. He was extremely patient and it was clear that he enjoyed the animal viewing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulieSoynuts
agnes10072016, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and your kind words. Vishnu is another jewel in the in Sanbonani crown and we are so happy to hear that your game viewing with him was memorable. On behalf of Joan at the on-site safari desk, we thank you. Kind Regards, Staff and Management Sanbonani Resort. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hidden gem!! This place is amazing! So are the staff and management. They were so accommodating even though I was not going to make the initial check in date. Wish I could have spent more time! Definitely choose this option when in hazeyview again

Helpful?
1 Thank CanSmile257A
agnes10072016, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you found the staff helpful and accommodating. Sanbonani Resort Hotel & Spa strive to meet the guests holiday expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards. Sanbonani Resort Management. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sanbonani is our Winterholiday resort for 30 years. Chalets are beautiful. Lots to do and see. Big swimmingpool, tennis courts etc. Krugerpark 10 min drive to Phabenigate. Three rondawels, beautiful sightseeing . Graskop, Sabie and much more.

Helpful?
1 Thank Annalize9
agnes10072016, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Sanbonani Resort Hotel & Spa. We are happy that you have enjoyed your winter holidays for the past 30 years and look forward to your visit next winter. Kind Regards Sanbonani Resort Management. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a beautiful resort! We visited Sanbonani a few weeks ago, i cant begin to explain what an awesome experience it was, you have to see this for yourself! Close to most amenities , the Kruger Gate and more! The staff, you are more than amazing! the entertainment, the restaurant, our chalets are the best! superior quality...and way to many... More 

Helpful?
Thank francoisgrobbelaar83
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and i visited Sanbonani for a midweek : 20 - 24 June 2016. This is the second time we have been and every time it just gets better and better!! The staff there are absolutely amazing, they honestly go above and beyond for every guest, even after hours they were just as friendly and helpful! The entertainment was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank j0hn035
agnes10072016, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this review

We at Sanbonani Resort Hotel & Spa are humbled by your kind words. As always it is our pleasure to facilitate a wonderful holiday experience. Our staff are gems in the crown of the Jewel of The Lowveld and look forward to welcoming you and your partner back in the near future. Kind Regards Resort Management. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sanbonani is an amazing resort. With friendly staff everwhere. Beautiful pool for swimming, relaxing and amazing view of the gardens. The chalets has a very neat layout and is also best for relaxing and comfortable. Entertainment was a blast the "Minute to Win it" games night was the best. Thank you for an unforgettable holiday. Will defanatly return.

Helpful?
1 Thank AnzaziBurger25
agnes10072016, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this review

The staff & management of Sanbonani Resort Hotel & Spa thank you for your kind words. On behalf of Martin we would like to extend his appreciation that you enjoyed the entertainment program and that your holiday was a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Jewel of Lowveld in the near future. Regards Resort Manager. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sanbonani is the place to be!! Friendly staff at check in.... A very relaxing resort with a beautiful swimming pool...and amazing garden views!! Chalets is very well equipt and comfy!! Had alot of fun with the games and entertainment during the day and the evenings....thank you Sanbonani staff!! Cant wait to be back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Erne14689
agnes10072016, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind words. Sanbonani Resort Hotel & Spa prides itself in ensuring that all our guests holiday expectations are met. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Resort Management. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a great stay! Stunning chalet that is well-equipped and spotlessly clean, excellent facilities, friendly & efficient staff. Kids thoroughly enjoyed the fun & games, swimming, tennis and putt-putt. Can't wait to come back! Thank you so much for a memorable holiday :-)

Helpful?
Thank MonicaCoetzee73
agnes10072016, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this review

On Behalf of the Management & Staff of Sanbonani Resort Hotel & Spa we thank you for your kind words and are happy that your stay at the Jewel of the Lowveld was memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Resort Management More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having been to Sanbonani 19 years ago I was very disappointed to find that it is not the same place it was those years ago. The atmosphere is just too commercial. The staff is very pleasant but that's about all. The resort itself is average and I find it difficult to find anything they offer that puts them above nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
agnes10072016, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Sanbonani Resort Hotel & Spa - We appreciate your comments and point of view. Sanbonani has a full entertainment program for "kidz" and adults, we are sorry to hear that you did not embrace this fun filled program hosted by Martin. Kind Regards Sanbonani Resort Management. More 

Goldsboro, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was recently part of a short term missions trip to South Africa. We wanted to take the missionary's wife that we were visiting, out to breakfast and to all have manicures and pedicures. Her daughter helped us to arrange it here at the Sanbonani resort, and we had such a wonderful time. The staff was pleasant, and the spa... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NCJasper
agnes10072016, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this review

On behalf of the Management of Pause Spa and Wellness Center @ Sanbonani Resort Hotel we thank you for your kind remarks and are happy to hear that your experience at Sanbonani was memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Resort Management. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Protea Hotel Hazyview
#10 of 12 in Hazyview
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
4.9 mi away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
4.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
20.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
luxury Chalets are situated on the banks of The Sabie and Sand Rivers and comprise of 64 two bedroom chalets and 22 three bedroom chalets. The fully equipped chalets are serviced on a daily basis and include such items as a microwave, telephone and a DSTV with 10 channels. In addition, each chalet has it’s own braai area on the patio and a covered parking bay nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanbonani Resort

Address: off Stormvoel Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range: $57 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanbonani Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sanbonani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanbonani Hotel Hazyview
Sanbonani Resort Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay