We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

769 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 567: English reviews
Starnberg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hippo Hollow is located just outside Hazyview in a lovely garden surrounded by a river. In the evenings, just after 6 pm, you can see hippos strolling through the river looking for food. Not to end up as hippo food you should obey the warning signs and keep away from the river in the evenings. Our courtyard rooms were nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank StefanMR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

What a beautiful, charming place!Our room was down by the river and that's just the place to be because the hippos come out of the river there and graze on the grass. Also, this location is within walking distance of the Elephant Sanctuary. Another must site if you love elephants.

Helpful?
1 Thank C B
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

the lodge is geared to accommodate guests for no more than 2 nights - everything is good to very good but not outstanding. the great thing was that everything works or was resolved if mentioned. Rooms are equipped but standard of TV are poor. Having drinks at sunset next to the river was great - service was slow. Shangaan event... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christian T
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first time using a travel agent.The agent name is Natalie Benson and she is with Perfect Africa. She recommended Hippo Hollow to us because we were traveling with 2 children age 7 and 4. This location was perfect and a walking distance to things we wanted to do. She did a great job and was available to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 808wendy
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad that you were happy with the location and the recommendation from your travel agent. It is always comforting to know that you have someone to rely on when in a different country. We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the future. More 

Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed every moment on property. The staff was so friendly and everything was well organized. I would also recommend doing the traditional Shangaan dinner which is right next door on site- fun experience and the food was authentic and delicious. Hippo Hollow also does a fantastic job organizing other activities such as Safari's,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emilygrace45
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. It brings us great joy knowing that you found the Shangaan River Club, the staff and all we had to offer to your satisfaction. Our Shangaan River Club offers a true traditional set up with a carefully thought through menu based on culture. We are glad that... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our trip this year was wonderful again. The staff and rooms do not disappoint! Our meals were wonderful. The staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable again. We accidentally left an iPod in a room and the staff was quick to remember us, find us and return it before we left.

Helpful?
2 Thank Irishjenn
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part in making yet another trip a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our staff understands the needs of our guests and is determined to ensure a comfortable and unforgettable stay for each of them. We are delighted to know that you were made to feel... More 

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nesting next to the Sabie river gives Hippo Hollow a beautiful setting. One can relax, enjoy serene nature and hear the cry of the fish eagle. It is conveniently in close to the Kruger National Park, which was our main daily destination. The hippos visiting at night is a really exciting view! Good food (catering for all tastes and sensitivities)... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank TheresaTrump
Brunei-Muara District, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great two day stay. Excellent location for Phabeni Gate into Kruger National Park to the East or The Panorama Route to the West. The staff were very accommodating with nothing too much trouble. Rooms were fine and great view to the Sabie River. The big bonus were the Hippo's that wander the river banks at night which certainly adds to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank j0die22
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights on a Riviera Tour. Ideal for Kruger National Park. Room was good with plenty of space and comfortable beds. Large bathroom with basic power shower. Not a great deal of storage but fine for our short stay. Only room gripe was very noisy fan in bathroom which made us feel guilty when washing at 4.30am... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaMark1958
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at Hippo Hollow was a one night stop over travelling from a safari lodge in the national park to mpumalanga airport. The room was clean and spacious, we had a view over the river and to the fields opposite which was beautiful, we could see the elephants from here. The food was nice, the service perhaps a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

633 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (542)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (124)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (195)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
0.3 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#4 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
22.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
1.3 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range: $97 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, South African Hotels, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay