We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (364)
Room & Suite (119)
Dining (35)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Affordable, award-winning country lodge. Stylish, relaxed and informal. A la carte restaurant, open 7 days. Superb food. Fully licensed bar. Colourful gardens. All rooms have own bathrooms, fridges, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, private entrances, verandahs and breathtaking views. Garden Suites and Hillside Suites have hammocks or daybeds. Cheerful, attentive hospitality. Swimming pool and walks down the valley. Spectacular birds and game sightings. On the Panorama Route and 10 minutes from the Kruger National Park. Golf, riding and a host of activities nearby. Rissington Inn - Exceeding expectations.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Fax / photocopying
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Xhosa, Zulu
698Reviews
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 461
  • 186
  • 39
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was our second stay at the Rissington Inn and it didn’t disappoint. We stayed for 7 nights. On arrival the staff were extremely welcoming and after signing in, explained where we could park our car and that it would be our parking place for the length of our stay. We were
Read more
Response from OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn
Responded Apr 9, 2019
Thank you Judy - it was so lovely to have you both here again, and staying for the whole week. What a treat. We look forward to the next time, maybe for two weeks?! Keep entering the competitions in the Rag, and you never know, you might win. All the best from all of us here. Chris
Read more
Reviews were generally good for this hotel so we decided to stay overnight on our way to Sabi Sands, driving there via the Panorama View. The terrible service started from check in - staff were not welcoming at all, and when taken to the suite was not shown around the room,
Read more
Response from OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn
Responded Feb 8, 2019
Obviously, the reviews are generally good because this is generally a good hotel. That stands to reason. And you have got to be really miserable and rough on the staff here for them to be unfriendly to you. I can't imagine what happened. Or maybe - actually - I can guess, after all. Just for reference, here is a feedback form from a guest who left today (verbatim and in its entirety) : "A BIG COMPLIMENT TO THE STAFF FOR THE GOOD SERVICE. THEY ARE GREAT PEOPLE BUILDING UP A WONDERFUL ATMOSPHERE AND A WARM FEELING IN A VERY SHORT TIME. WE LOVED IT VERY MUCH. 5 STARS ... AND ANOTHER 5 STARS FOR THE STAFF, WHO ARE ALL STARS." And that is the norm. Day after day. In feedback forms and in our visitors book. Our helpful friendly staff are our greatest asset and I will stand up for them any time! I don't know you (because you are hiding behind your anonymity) and you don't know me (I think I would have remembered meeting you, had I done so, don't you?) but for you to call me opinionated is, from what I can surmise from your comments, something of a case of pot/kettle - and yes, I have read some of your other reviews just to be sure. The big difference, of course, is that whilst I may indeed (just occasionally perhaps) be a little opinionated, I have a sense of humour (and believe me, after 35 years in this industry, running good hotels, you need one). Almost everyone (including a lot of French people) finds the guest information amusing (yes, not sarcastic) as well as being helpful, which it is, when read in full and with a happy holiday feeling. Perhaps it would have been more helpful if you had followed one of the other snippets of advice it includes, and contacted me directly to discuss whatever complaints you had, either at the time or since. Because this kind of bullying comment is totally unconstructive. And by the way, the rooms are lovely too (and very good value). We have just refurbished six of them and it is all looking cracking. But, of course, you will never see them, because you won't be coming back - and I can tell you that over the past month, on an average night, a third of our guests or more have been returns. Why? Because we are a good hotel - that's why... Just as the majority of the reviews say.
Read more
A great stopover whilst visiting the Lowveld under your own steam. Thank you Chris and all your wonderful staff at Rissington. Second visit of the year and only wish we had had more time this visit. Quite simply two days is not enough. Great rooms, wonderful food, super staff
Read more
Our thatched cottage was very roomy and had an outdoor shower. The patio was pretty with a hammock for a relaxing view of the grounds. Wifi didn’t work in the cottage but was available in the office. The restaurant was good with the best seats overlooking the pool.
Read more
Panorama Route and Kruger NP was the last leg of our 4-week SA trip. Hating move-outs each morning, we decided to stay our last 5 nights at Rissington which is conveniently situated for waterfalls and waterholes alike. What a good choice! Our Hillside suite came with a private
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rissington hotel hazyview
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaHazyview
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing