We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (122)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (13)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#2 of 50 Specialty lodging in Hazyview
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Tanamera Lodge is nestled on the malaria-free slopes of the Sabie River Valley, offering luxurious accommodation and breathtaking Lowveld scenery. Being centrally located, guests are able to explore the Lowveld Panorama, including sights such as God's Window, the Blyde River Canyon and Pilgrim's Rest. We are 4 Star graded and offer beautifully decorated rooms with personal touches and attention to detail. Each chalet is complete with a tea and coffee selection, a log fireplace to keep you warm over wintry nights, and ceiling fans for hot summer nights. With the Kruger National Park's Phabeni Gate just a short 30-minute drive, our visitors may easily access this world-renowned Big 5 reserve on self-driven or guided safari tours. This is a birder’s paradise and home to birds such as the Narina Trogon and Purple Crested Turaco. Activities in the area include abseiling, white water rafting, microlight flights, elephant encounters, horseback riding and much more! We outsource spa treatments from massage to reflexology to manicures and pedicures, all brought to you in the privacy of your own chalet. A couple's massage is ideal for a romantic getaway.Our five magnificent Luxury Chalets are fully serviced and offer king-size beds with mosquito nets, stone baths, waterfall showers, fireplaces and plunge pools. In addition to this the two Honeymoon Chalets offer open-door outside showers on private decks with outstanding valley views and a sitting room and dining area. Each Chalet is secluded, private and surrounded by the unspoilt indigenous bush. Tanamera is perfect for romantic getaways. The main lodge area is tastefully decorated and comprises a dining area, a lounge and a comfortable bar area. You can step down onto our main deck where there is a rim-flow pool and absorb the exceptional views over the cascading Sabie River Valley. Meals are served in our main lodge area, on the candle-lit deck, or privately in your chalet or on your deck. Rates include dinner as well as bed and breakfast.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
220Reviews
0Q+A
35Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 186
  • 20
  • 6
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My wife and I spent the weekend at Tanamera for her birthday. Both the hosts as well as the staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast and dinner was excellent. Enjoyed the fire place, and the calm sound of the river at night. We would definitely return.
Read more
Response from Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Ashley S Thank you for your comments about Tanamera. We really are happy to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay. I am glad to hear that you felt welcome by the staff. We hope to see you soon again and make you feel welcome. Kind regards, The Tanamera Team.
Read more
We had the most awesome time at this beautiful venue tucked away in the hills surrounding the area. It is private and well maintained with super friendly staff. I would recommend this venue to anyone without a doubt!
Read more
Response from Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Dear andrej48 Thank you for the review. We really appreciate any comments about Tanamera as this tells us where we are doing good things and where we need to look at other items. Thank you for recommending us. Kind regards, The Tanamera Team.
Read more
We stayed at Tanamera a couple of days in April. What outstanding hospitality. Maritha went out of her way to make us feel welcome and assisting us with all our needs.. Ian was an excellent, knowledgeable host giving us tips on the Kruger Park. Chalets was immaculate and the
Read more
Response from Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Dear KAT_3526 Thank you for your comments about Tanamera. We are glad to hear that you had great hospitality at Tanamera. I will pass on your comments to the various staff. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Tanamera Team
Read more
lovely stay,great service except for a couple of the waitresses..quite surly. Rooms just lovely but could have done with some new pillows mine felt like concrete..didnt say anything because I nicked my husbands.The location is wonderful but I think a heads up about the potholes
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge
Responded Mar 27, 2019
Dear Coastal40803426963 Thank you for your review of Tanamera Lodge. I do apologise for the attitude of the waiteress. I will definitely be looking into your comment. I find the comment about the pillow strange as we have just replaced our pillows with standard comfort pillows and this is the first comment with regards to them, but I will also see if there is anything we can do to sort out the issue. On all our emails that we send to guests, we mention that the main road - R536 has potholes and one needs to be aware of them, This information is also sent to agents when they book. Unfortunately there is not much we can do with regards to the potholes and the R536 is not the only road in South Africa with potholes, I am sure. Kind regards, The Tanamera Team
Read more
We prefer not having food brought to the room. Celebrating our marriage anniversary, we would have preferred dinner at our own table in the dinner room. We did not enjoy the company of international guests at the large dinner table.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge
Responded Mar 27, 2019
Dear Voyage54456219223 Thank you for choosing Tanamera for celebrating your anniversary. With regards to the dining with other guests, we have always done it this way and unfortunately our dining room is not big enough to accommodate separate tables. If you had requested to eat by yourself, we could have maybe come up with a plan. We look forward to seeing you on your next anniversary celebration. Kind regards, The Tanamera Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$269 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaHazyview
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing