We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Farm Rietspruit, Section 29, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510 South Africa
Snaptravel
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (83)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (7)

About

#11 of 33 Specialty lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy farm-life and warm hospitality in our overnight accommodation or self catering units. Choose from a self catered farm stay or enjoy lodgings in the rondavel or our beautiful guest house. This popular bird watching area is within close proximity of the Nylsvley wetlands. Hiking trails on the farm offer breathtaking views. Birdsong is ideal for small functions, conferences, weddings and parties, with a beautiful chapel with seating for 50-60 people.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Pool
Conference facilities
Banquet room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Chapel / shrine
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
70Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 24
  • 20
  • 9
  • 7
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bushbaby007 wrote a review Nov 2019
Pretoria, South Africa22 contributions11 helpful votes
We decided to do a quick booking and booked at least 24 hours in advance. Upon arrival, there was a locked gate and no mobile phone reception. We drove to the main road and was able to call the booking company. We now had a code for the gate, and our booking confirmed. When we arrived, nobody we informed of our booking. nevertheless an hour later we had a place to stay. The views are stunning, beautiful nature, and a little cottage, which we were very happy about. The kitchen was poorly equipped, not even a salad bowl to use. Sadly. Somewhere the shower lost a door, so I could not keep all the water inside. The views are stunning, there is a splash pool that is super nice. The unit we had is definitely not for older people as there are stairs and stairs, BUT I presume there are other units that will be suitable. There is a chapel on the premises, and if there is a bit more attention it could be a fantastic venue. The place is in need of some TLC, some small issues that is easy to solve
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Views are beautiful. There are different places but we are not familiar with the others.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages
Responded Dec 19, 2019
Thank you for your review. Your comments are noted and we apologize for any inconvenience. We advertise that there is no reception at our property but are happy to hear you managed to retrieve the gate code from the main road. The chapel you referred to is no longer a chapel and has been converted into a self-catering cottage in 2018.
Read more
Melanie M wrote a review May 2019
The Crags, South Africa12 contributions2 helpful votes
Long story short. They never answered the phone, ever. I never got a gate code and those in our crew who did, received an incorrect gate code, had to jump over the gate and run a distance through the reserve to find somebody to let them in as there is no intercom or security at the gate. I Had to drive home at 02h00 in the rain after DJing till 01h30 as I had no access to the property and nobody answered the phone. After all of this, they still refused a refund. Shocking customer service from start to finish.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages
Responded May 30, 2019
Thank you Melanie M for your review. We have been corresponding with the person who had booked the accommodation which you were part of, and explained our reasoning as to why a refund was not approved. All the necessary information was sent from our side with the relevant contact details. Your comments are noted in this regard and we are sorry that our final decision was met with dissatisfaction.
Read more
Steph wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
When we arrived there was no water (after flying in from Cape Town and then driving to a very hot Limpopo this was distressing to say the least). When we eventually did get water, it was cold and only trickled in the shower. We could therefore not bath or shower for the entire weekend in our chalet. We had to use the chalet next door that our family were renting. We were all there for a wedding at Kathaba. One of their rooms also had no water. We had no privacy or rest as we had workers in the chalet the whole time trying to fix everything. The one double beds' headboard and tailboard were collapsing in on itself causing a 'hammock' effect when one tried to sleep. Our complaints were not taken seriously. We should've been compensated financially for a dreadful weekend. We did like the swimming pool and we did like being exposed to all the wildlife at the reserve.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages
Responded Apr 24, 2019
Thank you Mrs Van Wyk for your review. We take all guest feedback seriously. Your e-mails have been responded to by management.
Read more
SamTravel68 wrote a review Mar 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa623 contributions64 helpful votes
We spent one night at birdsong the night before going onto our wedding accommodation at Khutaba. The rooms are all miles away from each other and from the pool, so be prepared to drive. We had 4 different rooms, the Owl units, guinefowl and francolin. All of them were extremely run down. The main swimming pool was green and you could not see the bottom of it. The private pool at the owl units was so dirty that it looked like a pond. It smelt as though something died in owl A in the kitchen. The tiles were all cracked and broken on the floor. In guinefowl and francolin the furniture is all ancient and the units stink of moth balls. The one microwave was filthy. We had a door handle break off in the one bathroom. One of the ceiling fans was on the verge of falling off the ceiling. Kitchen cupboards that did not close. A number of wedding guests stayed at birdsong and all complained about the state of their rooms. The property is absolutely lovely and there is lots of great game however this resort just needs a facelift and some TLC. I would not recommend staying here in its current state.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages
Responded Mar 31, 2019
We thank you for your feedback and apologize for your experience. We will be investigating your comments and have management address this with all seriousness.
Read more
MargieF123 wrote a review Nov 2018
Somerset West, South Africa8 contributions3 helpful votes
We spent 2 nights at Birdsong Cottages for a family wedding in the area. We eventually started a list of everything that was wrong because we could not remember all the things! Some were little things whilst some were more important but the overall impression is that the owners don't care. And very, very expensive for what we got. I felt bad for William, the manager, but our experience was not great. We had all 3 rooms of the Flycatcher suites and Owl Cottage B. At our "private area" of Flycatcher, the surly cleaning staff kept walking through us (between us and the coffee table) to get linen for other cottages which is stored in Flycatcher. 1 working lightbulb in the 10-bulb chandelier, broken blinds could not be lifted so our room was always dark...we had to ask for tea, coffee, milk and sugar sachets in the complimentary beverage tray as there was non. but the list goes on.....
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages
Responded Nov 16, 2018
Thank you Margie for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience and will be sharing your points of concern with our team for immediate action.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$27 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceWaterbergModimolle (Nylstroom)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Birdsong Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Birdsong Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Bergenbos Kontreiwinkel (3.9 miles), Oude Werf Antiques & Decor (3.4 miles), and Embellished Memories (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Birdsong Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Birdsong Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Birdsong Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Birdsong Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Koffiekan Plaaswerf Restaurant, Lone Bear Spur Steak Ranch, and Wimpy.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Birdsong Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Birdsong Cottages offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.