We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Birdsong Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Birdsong Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Start your review of Birdsong Cottages
 Click to rate
Vaalwater, Limpopo, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked a cottage in September '16 for a weekend in Feb 2017; you would think enough time to make sure everything was clean and working. Firstly there was no receipt of the deposit paid in September, we had to phone to find out if reservations actually had us on the books. The messages we left were not replied to....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed January 8, 2017

First of I had the best experience with William, my friends and I had a warm welcome from him, he made sure everyone was comfortable and regularly checked that we are doing okay. We were staying in the Kingfisher Cottage, the cottage was really beautiful and comfortable, the rooms were set up beautifully. The cleaning lady came in on Saturday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mvraganya
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. We do take note of the gravel road feedback. We can however confirm that as this is a public road maintained by local municipality, all the residents in the area take regular action to keep this road maintained...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 6, 2017

I enjoyed the main suite. It was very luxurious. The service was friendly and we didn't struggle to get anything. All the facilities were working. I did not like that the kitchen area was separated from the suites

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thuli3552
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Thuli for your review. As advertised, our Flycatcher Villa does in fact have 3 bedrooms - each with their own private entrance - and a shared kitchen with a separate entrance. We are sorry that this was not to your taste but appreciate that you still enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed January 2, 2017

The location is STUNNING. Beautiful bushveld and within close proximity to Jhb so great for quick getaways. William , the manager is outstanding and very attentive to needs. But apart from William , the venue is understaffed. We had our little cottage serviced on only 2 of my 4 day stay. Pitching up at 6pm in the evening to clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cara V
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Cara V. We take note of your feedback and will pass this on to the team to attend to, take note of and action.

Reviewed December 20, 2016 via mobile

No water, couldn't even flush the toilets. No TV connection. Dirty / dusty rooms and bathrooms. Kitchen poorly stocked. Will never visit again. I even tried to contact the manager who never phoned me back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 268lizelv
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Lizelle We wish to draw your attention to the letter you had sent us on 21 November at 6:56PM where you confirm in writing that you did in fact speak to Joseph from our Head Office. Following your two letters, our Guest Relations department responded to you on 22 November at 1:17pm, addressing all your feedback. Your post on...

Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

The guys really get their best to make your stay comfortable. The rooms were clean. Manager very friendly. We went there as two couples with two kids. So we booked FlyCatcher thinking it's one big room for six. The pictures give this impression so we were disappointed seeing that it's 3 different suites with the Kitchen and dining area separate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SelectorT
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you were under the impression that the rooms were en suite to the main building, but as per all our copy advertised on the web, we do describe the unit as having 3 separate suites sharing the main building. We're happy however that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed August 18, 2016

Birdsong was wonderful but the best part of the stay was William Monjeki. His excellent service and help when we lost our keys was remarkable. Thank you William. The place was wonderful, it was unfortunate that the stay was so short.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boyd T
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at Birdsong Cottages. We'll be sure to share your review with William, who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

eMalahleni, South Africa
Reviewed July 21, 2016

William was so kind and caring. He ensured that we had everything we needed. Williams hospitality is exceptional. We enjoyed our stay very much!!! Internet was a bit of a problem, but other than that we have no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherrylengel
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Birdsong Cottages online. We're honoured to receive such praise and will be sharing your feedback with William and the team. We're sorry about the wi-fi issues you had during your stay but are delighted that William took great care of you.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We were surprised by all the detail and attention that was paid to us during our stay in the Flycatcher Villa. What an amazing place to wind down. You can literately sit outside and read / play games the whole day while you experience a deafening silence. If you are looking to go away to just do nothing, this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ceazare
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Ceazare for your fabulous review of your recent stay at Birdsong Cottages. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed May 30, 2016

My Partner and I visited Birdsong Cottages this past weekend and it was perfect. The service by the front man William was open and helpful to any question and requests we had he showed us around the grounds and the other cottages, we stayed at owls cottage B and it was advertised in online, perfect view on the balcony out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _mtshepang
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

We're thrilled to read that you had a fantastic experience at Birdsong Cottages. Thank you for taking the time to write about your time at the Owls Cottages. These two units are really remarkable, and the views from unit B are exquisite! We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
297 reviews
9.5 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
28 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
2.2 mi away
Modimolle Funky Stay
Modimolle Funky Stay
#8 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
9 reviews
9.9 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#2 of 23 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy farm-life and warm hospitality in our overnight accommodation or self catering units. Choose from a self catered farm stay or enjoy lodgings in the rondavel or our beautiful guest house. This popular bird watching area is within close proximity of the Nylsvley wetlands. Hiking trails on the farm offer breathtaking views. Birdsong is ideal for small functions, conferences, weddings and parties, with a beautiful chapel with seating for 50-60 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birdsong Cottages

Address: Farm Rietspruit, Driefontein, R101, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $35 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birdsong Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Birdsong Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Birdsong Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Best views and lovely animals as well”
 of 5 bubbles itu2015, May 1, 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have steep stairs, enquire first if you have elderly people”
 of 5 bubbles markthomson248, Dec 30, 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a Bosveld Boma, it is a must to experience.”
 of 5 bubbles MagdalenaDeLange, Dec 29, 2013 | Read review
“Sunbird cottage or the Villa”
 of 5 bubbles Jabulani1981, Jun 24, 2013 | Read review
“Do not go there!”
 of 5 bubbles M0ndeS, Apr 10, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question