We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birdsong Cottages

Farm Rietspruit, Driefontein, R101, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Birdsong Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff is very attentive. We received our first call early before leaving to confirm directions and to provide more details. Room exactly as advertised on the website. Would've been nice to know ahead of time that they do not accept credit card payments. Water pressure in the room can be increased slightly to ensure full use of the double shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank VoogtWnK
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

We went to a wedding nearby and needed a place to stay overnight. We booked a place nearby called Funky Stay (Part of the same company). When we got there we were informed that the power went out (Thank you Eskom). Naturally we needed electricity to get ready. They immediately upgraded us to a honeymoon suite at Birdsong Cottages with... More 

Helpful?
Thank SchalkKruger
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kruger, we're humbled by your beautiful compliments. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and with the fortunate position that we are in (having 'siblings' nearby as part of our hotel chain called South of Africa), when affected by circumstances beyond our control, we ensure that our guests still experience the warm hospitality that is expected when staying with... More 

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We had such a great time this past weekend! We had superb service, the whole time we were there! Will definitely be going back again!!! The kids had a fabulous time and entertained themselves. We didn't have to worry about them at all. thank you to William for making our stay most memorable!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank genevieved611
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

It is always such an honour for us to respond to our guests' reviews after they have departed. Reading your feedback brought great joy to us and we're thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you wish to return. We'll be sure to pass your compliments on to William who went the extra mile during your stay.... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

We visited Birdsong last weekend and I must say Patrick is the best.From the day we check in till our departure even our car was cleaned. Thanks Patrick. Unfortunately we will never come back due our money being stollen in the back after room was cleaned.We were told the manager will call us on Tuesday and no one phoned.i then... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaggyMoc
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Maggy. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We've been in contact with you by e-mail about the unfortunate experience you have had and our team gladly offered to pay you the money that was lost. We take this matter very seriously and apologize for your inconvenience in the delayed reply. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

I visited Birdsong Cottages with 4 of my friends on the weekend of 24-26 July 2015. The place is nothing like what they show on the Website. we stayed in a 2 bed cottage. The bedroom and the Bathroom was okay. Everything in the Kitchen was slanting. From the Microwave that you need to Open with a trick, to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AmplifiedRM
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and are sad to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Our farm pool is accessible from all cottages via walkways through the bush, since our cottages are all scattered across the property. We do not advertise that the pool is closeby. We gladly invite you to advise where it was promoted as such in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Modimolle (Nylstroom) hotels

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We stayed at the Owl cottage not too long ago, the view was beautiful and we had a good stay overall. The place was quite nice even though the setup was not the smartest. The major problems with out weekend was that we had rats in the main bedroom and that the kitchen was quite ill equipped. There were hardly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VeeKT
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize that the unit was ill-equipped. This is not our standards and it will be investigated and rectified with immediate effect. We apologize that there had been a rodent problem during your stay and will also address this with our exterminator. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We checked in on the 5th with our Kids, and the stay was just bed, the kids were not even comfortable sleeping along, because they called it a GHOST house, the showers had a smell, the kitchen floor was just bad, we did not feel like touching anything. The living room couch was dark in colour but with lots of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mpho M
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mpho. We thank you for sharing the photographs and apologize for your experience. Our unit was renovated in 2014 and we will use your feedback to discuss the matter with our housekeeping and maintenance department. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

firstly the pictures of this place are misleading, the common area is old and has bats and mice residing comfortably on the top floor. secondly mysterious damage to our vehicle took place while on the property and the supposed manager was not very helpful in the matter only after it was escalated to senior management was there more promising responses... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lesego_shoke
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear lesego_shoke, we are disappointed in the manner in which your review portrays our property. Our efforts to assist you further with your claim depends solely on the action still outstanding by yourself, and we have offered to be of further assistance when you have provided the documentation as per our e-mails to you. During our conversations there was never... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

The best experience ever I had with my partner Sphiwe n itu and the staff are very welcoming and lovely must say and the place is peaceful n beautiful. We are definitely going to come back more often because of the manager n de staff n de place as well

Helpful?
Thank itu2015
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing your photos with us on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled to read that you had a memorable experience and we can't wait to welcome you back in the near future. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

A two day break in the bushveld is just what the doctor order. Thank you to Joseph and William who went out of their way to ensure that our group had a good stay. Joseph, thank you for always going that xtra mile or us, it was much appreciated. The only problem we found was that there were no rubbish... More 

Helpful?
Thank markthomson248
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Birdsong Cottages. We take note of all your suggestions and feedback and will address these issues with our team. We're delighted that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
8.7 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
#5 of 9 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
18.4 mi away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Modimolle Funky Stay
Modimolle Funky Stay
#3 of 9 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
9.1 mi away
Silver Streams
Silver Streams
#1 of 9 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
4.4 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#2 of 20 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay