We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Birdsong Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Birdsong Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Birdsong was wonderful but the best part of the stay was William Monjeki. His excellent service and help when we lost our keys was remarkable. Thank you William. The place was wonderful, it was unfortunate that the stay was so short.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boyd T
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at Birdsong Cottages. We'll be sure to share your review with William, who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

eMalahleni, South Africa
Reviewed July 21, 2016

William was so kind and caring. He ensured that we had everything we needed. Williams hospitality is exceptional. We enjoyed our stay very much!!! Internet was a bit of a problem, but other than that we have no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherrylengel
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Birdsong Cottages online. We're honoured to receive such praise and will be sharing your feedback with William and the team. We're sorry about the wi-fi issues you had during your stay but are delighted that William took great care of you.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We were surprised by all the detail and attention that was paid to us during our stay in the Flycatcher Villa. What an amazing place to wind down. You can literately sit outside and read / play games the whole day while you experience a deafening silence. If you are looking to go away to just do nothing, this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ceazare
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Ceazare for your fabulous review of your recent stay at Birdsong Cottages. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed May 30, 2016

My Partner and I visited Birdsong Cottages this past weekend and it was perfect. The service by the front man William was open and helpful to any question and requests we had he showed us around the grounds and the other cottages, we stayed at owls cottage B and it was advertised in online, perfect view on the balcony out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _mtshepang
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

We're thrilled to read that you had a fantastic experience at Birdsong Cottages. Thank you for taking the time to write about your time at the Owls Cottages. These two units are really remarkable, and the views from unit B are exquisite! We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.

la paz
Reviewed May 22, 2016

This is basically an abandoned property which might have been great back in its time. We should have known to turn around when the gate intercom did no work and due to the lack of cell reception we had to drive all the way back to main road to call. The manager William was very helpful but no one present...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank velmmaid
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience. We gladly refer you to our website where we inform guests upfront that we do not accept credit card payments on site, and that because of our location, we sadly do not have cellphone coverage. This is also mentioned in our room directories. The star...

Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing tym...the service,the beauty everything was on point,only the pool wasn't working but they explained that it was to be serviced,but we had an awesome time nonetheless...Will surely visit again in the near future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shallah V
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Birdsong. We apologize that the pool was out of order during your visit and thank you for your understanding. During the colder months when guests do not make use of the pool area, this area gets its annual maintenance and inspection to ensure come summer that our guests have a...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed February 8, 2016

Staff is very attentive. We received our first call early before leaving to confirm directions and to provide more details. Room exactly as advertised on the website. Would've been nice to know ahead of time that they do not accept credit card payments. Water pressure in the room can be increased slightly to ensure full use of the double shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VoogtWnK
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our rooms. We're sorry that payment by credit card was not made clear up front. We do have a nearby sibling hotel where we do accept credit card payments, however, our central reservations office also accepts credit card payments which may be done telephonically or online. We taken note of...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed October 27, 2015

We went to a wedding nearby and needed a place to stay overnight. We booked a place nearby called Funky Stay (Part of the same company). When we got there we were informed that the power went out (Thank you Eskom). Naturally we needed electricity to get ready. They immediately upgraded us to a honeymoon suite at Birdsong Cottages with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SchalkKruger
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kruger, we're humbled by your beautiful compliments. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and with the fortunate position that we are in (having 'siblings' nearby as part of our hotel chain called South of Africa), when affected by circumstances beyond our control, we ensure that our guests still experience the warm hospitality that is expected when staying with...

Johannesburg
Reviewed October 5, 2015

We had such a great time this past weekend! We had superb service, the whole time we were there! Will definitely be going back again!!! The kids had a fabulous time and entertained themselves. We didn't have to worry about them at all. thank you to William for making our stay most memorable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank genevieved611
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

It is always such an honour for us to respond to our guests' reviews after they have departed. Reading your feedback brought great joy to us and we're thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you wish to return. We'll be sure to pass your compliments on to William who went the extra mile during your stay....

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed August 14, 2015

We visited Birdsong last weekend and I must say Patrick is the best.From the day we check in till our departure even our car was cleaned. Thanks Patrick. Unfortunately we will never come back due our money being stollen in the back after room was cleaned.We were told the manager will call us on Tuesday and no one phoned.i then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaggyMoc
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Maggy. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We've been in contact with you by e-mail about the unfortunate experience you have had and our team gladly offered to pay you the money that was lost. We take this matter very seriously and apologize for your inconvenience in the delayed reply.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modimolle (Nylstroom) hotels
8.7 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
290 reviews
9.5 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#10 of 21 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
14 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Modimolle Funky Stay
Modimolle Funky Stay
#7 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
8 reviews
4.4 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#3 of 21 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
172 reviews
9.8 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#2 of 21 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy farm-life and warm hospitality in our overnight accommodation or self catering units. Choose from a self catered farm stay or enjoy lodgings in the rondavel or our beautiful guest house. This popular bird watching area is within close proximity of the Nylsvley wetlands. Hiking trails on the farm offer breathtaking views. Birdsong is ideal for small functions, conferences, weddings and parties, with a beautiful chapel with seating for 50-60 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birdsong Cottages

Address: Farm Rietspruit, Driefontein, R101, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: $37 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birdsong Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Birdsong Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Birdsong Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Best views and lovely animals as well”
 of 5 bubbles itu2015, May 1, 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have steep stairs, enquire first if you have elderly people”
 of 5 bubbles markthomson248, Dec 30, 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a Bosveld Boma, it is a must to experience.”
 of 5 bubbles MagdalenaDeLange, Dec 29, 2013 | Read review
“Sunbird cottage or the Villa”
 of 5 bubbles Jabulani1981, Jun 24, 2013 | Read review
“Do not go there!”
 of 5 bubbles M0ndeS, Apr 10, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay