We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 193: English reviews
Terrace Park, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

Wow! What a wonderful place and experience. The drive from Skukuza was long but full of adventure as we saw many animals. We were greeted by the staff and managers and quickly provided refreshments and lunch. There are six units, and lovely common areas. The tented rooms are superb. The website and pictures depict them well. The staff is very... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Radirish328
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Radirish328 - Thank you for sharing your Hamiltons Tented Camp experience on TripAdvisor. We're extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay so much, and we very much hope you will visit again in the future. More 

Budapest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

I recently stayed 2 nights at Hamiltons. Wish i had stayed longer! Choosing this hotel for my first safari of my life was propably one of the best hotel choosing of my life. I honestly cannot praise this hotel much. Every minute of my stay way unbelievable fantastic! From the moment i arrived i was called on my name and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank peterspaits
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear peterspaits - Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and at the same time we are honoured that you would recommend Hamiltons to future guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

We spent a wonderful 3 days at Hamiltons. It was a magical place and the guides were excellent. Every Safari ride we spotted amazing animals, including a Cheetah with a kill and at night a Leopard with a baby. Amazing! The hotel was great and since my friend and I were both vegetarians they prepared delicious special meals for us.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mikki950
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Mikki950 - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your time at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're very happy to hear how well the Hamiltons team looked after you and we hope you will visit again soon. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

We have visited hamiltons before but must say our resent visit surprised us Everything was so much better from the friendlyness of the staff to the quility of the food was superb The tented camp is really fantastic with its out of africa theme and perfect for couples who want to have a quiet relaxing time in the bush An... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank zero1234234
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear zero1234234 - Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your Hamiltons experience and we hope you will visit again soon. More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
308 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

The décor & the vibe of Hamilton’s harkens back to the past. A great stay. Our room was very nice & well-appointed although the outdoor shower was ‘interesting’ at 5 am before a game drive. The tents are very private with a nice sitting area. However, I can tell you it is pretty spooky at night sitting out with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank imcarthur
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear imcarthur - Thank you for sharing your Hamiltons Tented Camp experience on TripAdvisor. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Hamiltons, especially the game drives. More 

johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

We loved Hamilton's. Tasteful safari retreat, great decor, superb food, reasonably priced. Beautiful location on a river which was dried up when we visited (Feb 2016) due to the drought but the watering hold brought all kinds of animals including elephants, lions, wild dogs, ..... We are from the US but have lived in South Africa. Great place.

Helpful?
1 Thank chris f
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear chris f - Thanks for posting your review of Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will visit again next time you return 'home' to South Africa. More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Food for the soul. This has got to be the premier, exclusive bush experience. The staff, professional, caring and dedicated to service. The food, delicious. The setting and above all the professionalism, talent and sensitivity of Simon and Gareth, the resident game guides, made this experience a lifetime special. I cannot find the words to express how overwhelmed we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Garth M
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Garth M - Thank you for sharing your Hamiltons Tented Camp experience on TripAdvisor. We're very happy to hear that we met all your expectations for a premier bush experience and that you would recommend Hamiltons to future travelers. More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016

We are avid bush lovers, enjoying both private safari and self drives. There is very little parts of the Great KNP that we have not visited and never once in our experiences have we left thinking that our guides were not at least good. Hamiltons is no exception, our previous guides James and Nicolas were top dollar. Having visited Hamiltons... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Reviewer4477
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer4477 - Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We pride ourselves on our safari experience at this camp and we are therefore very disappointed to hear of your safari experience - in particular, your experience with your guide. The rapport between guest and guide is a very personal one, and unfortunately it... More 

Wilderness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

Driving around Kruger roads and having no tracker means you miss the key things. game sitings were therefore arbitrary and not good as we could not offroad to get good photographs. Food was also only average.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johan B
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Johan B - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. To respond to the specific points that you raise: 1. Due to SANParks regulations trackers are not used on the vehicles. This is restrictive in public areas although due to road surfaces and the traffic volume on public roads,... More 

Benoni
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

What an amazing place :) :) From the welcome to the tents to the food to the safari's and everything else, no faults at all, Wonderful place and really hoping I get back there soon. Most memorable trip in my life so far.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert d d
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Robert d d - Thank you for sharing your Hamiltons Tented Camp experience. We're delighted to hear how muh you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will return soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

316 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (301)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (180)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.1 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#73 of 160 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
7.6 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#49 of 160 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
8.4 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 5 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
#5 of 16 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
55.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#78 of 160 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#21 of 160 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after Colonel Stephenson Hamilton, who was instrumental in establishing the world famous Kruger National Park, Hamilton's Tented Camp reflects a safari adventure of the early twentieth century, where grace and style were the epitome of luxurious living. Historically themed along the lines of a big game hunter’s camp encompassing the bygone era of the early 1900’s, Hamiltons Tented Camp allows indulgence in pure luxury, combined with the sounds and smells of the African bush. Six magnificent canvas tents, complete with teak floorboards, dreamy mosquito nets and a superb view of the seasonal river, are linked to the main lodge area by raised timber walkways amongst ancient Jackalberry trees. Uncompromising elegance and breathtaking beauty identifies Hamiltons Tented Camp with open tented lounge, butler service and personalised cuisine.All tented suites have a romantic slipper bath and outdoor shower overlooking the Ngwenyeni Dam, private veranda, air conditioning and an intercom service.Spa treatments are available in the privacy of your room. Safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park and guided safari walks by prior arrangement.Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room. The camp is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and charged per person per day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Address: Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Price Range: $697 - $898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp Hotel Kruger National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay