We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Marc's Treehouse Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Marc\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed for four nights a Marc's Treehouse Lodge, as part of a 6-day AfricanBudgetSafaris / VivaSafaris trip. Having read some of the reviews on TripAdvisor, we requested a "genuine" tree house upon booking, and were very pleased that our request was granted. We had a fantastic time, and look forward to a chance to return. Guests... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marc-Olivier C
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Marc-Olivier What a long and detailed review !! We are pleased that you really experienced the magic of our treehouse lodge. Your ablutions were indeed only for your use - each of the three non en-suite units has its own designated shower and loo. We are flattered by your statement that our treehouse lodge beats the impersonal 5 star... More 

Europe
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from a magic safariadventure walking up in the mornings meeting the nice nyala anthelopes, and with so many activities such as educational bushwalk, visit in the private game reserve Tshukudu where I met not only rhinos, buffaloes and lions close up but also the two rehablititated cheethas Toby and Savannah that live and hunt in the wild but... More 

Helpful?
Thank catspotting
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for a wonderful review ! It is so rewarding to us to read the obvious gratitude and passion that your review clearly indicates. " Magic ", " Excellent " and " Educational" encapsulate the very essence of our safari experiences and I thank you most sincerely for such kindness !!! Hope to see you soon on your 4th... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I loved my time at Marc's treehouse lodge. For the reasonable price we payed, you really couldn't get any more for your money. Victor was incredibly hospitable and welcoming after a day's safari in the Kruger, and our tent was extremely comfortable and homely. The food was delicious and locally sourced and staff were all friendly and fantastic. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kelly What a pleasure to read your review after the previous one ! We are pleased that you found our product a " truly South African experience " - thanks for that ! Extremely pleasing is your analysis of the unbeatable value for money experience you had. We are really happy to read that your tent was " extremely... More 

ohaupo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not really a tree house as a few basic huts on poles we managed to get a run down tent 10 minutes walk from reception, with heavy bags and a rough dirt path quite an effort. We stayed here as the second part of Viva safaris 4 day Kruger park trip and this was a bit of a shock, a... More 

Helpful?
Thank galashiels
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Hi After having responded to so many great reviews, I find it difficult to reply to you. You clearly did not read the details of your safari - how did you expect an en suite tent ? "Rough and rustic" - exactly what we describe on our website !! I have spent 4 hours asking our bemused staff about your... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were super excited about staying at Marc's treehouse with our teens and were very happy. Alan, the host, went way above the line of duty in taking care of our needs, as well as everyone else's. My daughter who is a vegan was happy as they had a special vegan menu for her and others who have vegetarian needs.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Linda Just as you loved our place, so we love your review ! We are pleased that Alan and our staff went out of their way to take care of your needs including your daughter's vegan diet. We agree with you that Marc's Treehouse Lodge has an " incredible beautiful rustic setting". We are glad that you enjoyed meeting... More 

Hereford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed as a family of 5 for six days, at the beginning of August and had a great time. The staff were friendly and helpful and the camp was great fun. I notice some reviewers have complained about the standard of accommodation and the quality of the food. In my opinion these were exactly as described by management before... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prurup
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pru Thanks for a frank and super review. I am so pleased to read that your family had fun and appreciated the friendly and helpful staff. It is edifying to know that, in your opinion, the accommodation and food were " exactly" as described by us when you booked. The words " authentic" and " genuine" give me great... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my husband and twins for 2 nights. We weren't looking for 5-star accommodation so, our expectations were well-managed. Despite the cold temperatures at night seeping through the walls of the tree house, we found the experience, exhilarating. The manager, Alan, was very responsive when we asked for extra blankets. It was lovely to be able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank CassHongKong_China
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Cass Thank you for a great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the "rustic charm" of the treehouse accommodation. Equally pleasing is your comment about our helpful staff and delicious food . Well done on seeing all Big Five in Kruger - Patrick seems to get this right every time ! Kind regards Piero More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Marc's treehouse. Staff were awesome and so helpful and the location was right in the bush! Couldn't have been closer to nature if you tried! Our treehouse was perfect and even had an en suite! But as it was in a tree, it did get a little bit cold at night so take advantage... More 

Helpful?
Thank James P
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Hi James We are so pleased that you felt you were " at one with nature " - Marc's Treehouse Lodge certainly allows for this amazing feeling ! We are glad you found the treehouse " perfect " and that you had no complaints. You were fortunate to see the Big Five in one day in Kruger - well done... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this tree house lodge as part of our Kruger safari. It was a fantastic experience. The lodges are elevated to high ground/ tree level creating the ambience of living in the forest. We requested for twin bed with ensuite, and the lodge room we were assigned to actually has 4 beds in it. Maybe they ran out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chiehshan
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Chiehshan Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you found the experience "fantastic ". Good to know that you found lodgings and food to your liking - and to the liking of the kudu and monkeys ! With the shortage of natural food because of the drought, the animals are becoming desperate - hence we have staff trying... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the tree houses (rather than a tent) here. The room itself had lots of character - it's built on stilts and our room had a stream running alongside it, which added to the peacefulness. As expected, the tree house itself wasn't completely sealed on all sides so late evenings and early mornings were very cold,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip B
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Philip Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you liked the character of the treehouse you stayed in. It is great that you also appreciated the staff and Camp Manager Allan who was able to accede to all your requests. We are glad that you saw the "fun" side of pesky monkeys - it is a memory you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

261 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (257)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 17 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
78.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#81 of 161 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#3 of 16 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
17.9 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 17 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
25.1 mi away
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Ezulwini Game Lodges
#6 of 17 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Marc's Treehouse Lodge

Address: Motlala Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Marc`s Treehouse Hotel Kruger National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing