We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makalali Private Game Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Makalali Private Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great value for money. The staff is amazing. The drive from Joburg through Dullstroom is great except for the few areas with the potholes. Very scenic drive. The staff and management are very hands on. The fact that they go off road is amazing...enjoyed the thrill of being up close to the animals. The rangers and trackers skills is amazing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karabok564
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Although the property was nice with all facilities and amenities which one could imagine in the middle of a jungle..we had a tough time with the food..the worst part is that they charge with all meals included but the kind of meals which they serve is not value for money..during our stay..the food was served cold..they gave explanation that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GauravJ
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for taking the time to write of your experience at Makalali Private Game Lodge. I am very dissappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations during your time with us. I have taken cognasence of your comments and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We prode our selves in... More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
227 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We had a great time, were alone, just 4, on a vehicle and our guide showed us a lot of game as well as birds. His knowledge was very good and we felt very save. The food was delicious and the rooms were superb.

Helpful?
Thank Susanne412
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for the favourable review that you have written on Trip Advisor of your stay with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. We so appreciate the praise and so pleased that you had such a wonderful time with us at Makalali. Thank you for making Makalali Private Game Lodge a destination of choice during... More 

Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

We stayed at two other reserves during our visit to South Africa-- the rooms at Makalali were the most uniquely decorated and attractive of our stay. The memory of relaxing on the sala of our bungalow while elephants stroll by won't soon be forgotten. Shadrack and Isaac were diligent in making sure that we had excellent wildlife viewing and educating... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tamara P
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge during your travels to South Africa. I am so pleased you enjoyed the rooms and decor as well as the setting of the sala's along the river back. Being a person who has a great love of elephant... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

I would like to withdraw my first review. Which I wrote on my first day at the lodge after the incident. The next day i had a word with the Manager and discovered it was all a misunderstanding and all was corrected promptly. I must say that the rest of my stay was totally enjoyable. The Staff all friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank avrylhoren
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for revising your review that you wrote with the heading "French Group". We appreciate the sentiment and kind words and comments you have afforded us in you revised write-up. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Makalali Private Lodge in the future. More 

pretoria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

had an amazing 2 nights at Makalali with friends. it was our second trip there, the last one being 17 years ago! . Saw a wide variety of game and the game drives were awesome. Our Ranger and tracker did all possible to find game for us , and were very successful. The food was tasty and varied, especially the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill528
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so please to have read your review of Makalali Private Game Lodge on Trip Advisor. Thank you for choosing to return to Makalali Private Game Lodge after such a long period of time away. I am so pleased that you found the experience amazing. We try to ensure that we create many a memorable moment for... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

Not recomended for groups. They isolate guides away from there customers most probably to avoid bad reports.So far i have not seen one thing that they advertise on there web site. I can't imagine what must be going on with my group. They didn't even bother taking me for dinner my food was brought to me last evening. This is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Horen P
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to thank you for writing of your expereince with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. Reading your review however has left me somewhat perturbed. Having investigated the matter there seems to be some confusion as to why you were not seated with your guests as all tour guides are encouraged to do at Makalali. We... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

very luxuous resort for game safaris, and friendly people! Big rooms, nice resort and very good meals. We saw some lions and an elephant also, many giraffes. We will try to come again, for sure Thank you for this stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabine R
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for posting a review of your experience with us at Makalali Private Game Reserve. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We take great pride in crating wonderful memories for our guests and I am happy that we hav managed to do so for you. Thank you for choosing Makalali... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

Makalali is a lovely game reserve to rest and enjoy amazing game viewing. The nature reserve is 260000 hectares and game are seen in a very natural environment. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the outdoor shower is lovely. You are comfortable and yet have a great experience of being in a game reserve. The turn down service is... More 

Helpful?
Thank AJIR_10
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest We so appreciate you writing a review of Makalali Private Game Lodge on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the wonderful review that you have written of your experience. We hope to welcome you back one day. More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Great Sfaff... Great trackers, animals and rooms. Highly recommended for families, singles or couples, take a good camera as lots to shot ( photos ) Take nothing but pictures...leave nothing but footprints))))

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ron8747
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for writing a review of you time with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge and sharing your experience of Makalali Private Game Lodge with the readers of Trip Advisor. I strive each day to deliver the highest levels for service to our guests. It is an absolute delight to build memories for guests.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

378 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (378)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (243)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.9 mi away
Garonga Safari Camp
Garonga Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Makalali Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kuname Lodge
Kuname Lodge
#6 of 95 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#3 of 95 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
14.3 mi away
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
#2 of 95 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
48.3 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#8 of 95 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Makalali Private Game Lodge

Address: PO Box 809, Hoedspruit, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: $369 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makalali Private Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Makalali Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makalali Private Game Hotel Hoedspruit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay