We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blyde River Canyon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Limburg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

This a very nice lodge with an 'Old-World' charm .. shades of the colonies still hanging around. There is a very friendly family type of reception, they will do everything to make a pleasant stay .. and arrange visits/trips etc ... no chain 'hotel' feeling here. Very nicely appointed rooms .. WIFI & good TV .. decent pool. My only... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for your lovely feedback. We enjoyed having you here. We hope to see you back at some time. Kind Regards Vicky Mittan More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

The lodge is really close to the Blyde River Canyon as the name says, and you are also fairly close to the Kruger National park. The staff at the lodge is lovely and so sweet! And they are helpful and arranged a boat ride on the dam for us. I’m sure they also arrange lots of other activities for their... More 

Helpful?
Thank marieke115
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marieke115 Thank you for wonderful comments. I agree, our staff are lovely and always try to make the time spent by our guests at the Blyde River Canyon Lodge special. Unfortunately when you were here there was a private wedding about 4 kms from us and the sound did travel in the quiet african night. It was beyond our... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

I had to check out before the 2 days that we had initially booked for. let them have our money that's how bad it was, the TV was not working, no signal on cell phones,no activities to do with the kids so if you plan to go there with the kids please don't ever the only thing we were told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Musa P
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Musa It is sad to see how people want to damage business that are committed to service excellence because they do not book into the correct style of accommodation which would suit their needs. I see that you have reviewed us on Tripadvisor. When you left early I asked you for the reason. You said that you could not... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016

Food was not very good at all. The only place in South Africa where we didn't like the food! No menu to choose from. Staff were very nice and accommodating. Very attentive. Some animals would wander onto the reserve which was nice to see. Room was fine. Wifi was poor, but it is the bush! You must pay to use... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

We recently stayed over at the Blyde River Canyon Lodge as we were attending a wedding in the area and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. While it was a short overnight stay, of the little we experienced, we were thoroughly impressed. The staff were welcoming and pleasant, the room was cosy and neat, and the farmhouse breakfast the next morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank India G
delhi
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2016

We stayed at the Blyde River Hillside House about 10k away from the lodge. There were 6 of us staying very comfortably in the large well furnished house. It is self catering so need to bring your own food and drinks, but they do have spices, salt, pepper and sugar for one to use. They also have a Nespreso type... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank africanbush
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2016

No working WiFi, no SAT-TV, the bar is closed at half past eight and no further service. The staff there was extremly loud talking to each other, when we are lying at the pool and want to relaxe, after one hours we left the pool. I complained about the not working TV and WiFi at the receiption, but the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jens G
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jens G Thank you for your taking the time to review Blyde River Canyon Lodge, we take constructive criticism very seriously but find that your review on Trip advisor is incorrect. To put it chronologically. I am surprised at your reaction towards the staff being loud as when you arrived you were very happy and enjoyed your interaction with... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

I was taken her on a surprise engagement weekend by my now fiance. The staff were friendly from the minute we arrived and while we checked in were given a welcome drink. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The fourposter bed had mosquito net curtains and was huge and comfy. The bathroom had a bath and a shower and... More 

Helpful?
Thank beansy201
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights but wish it could have been longer. The rooms at the lodge are gorgeous and the food was excellent. The setting is also lovely and very convenient for the Blyde River activities and the animal Rehab centre which is only a 10 minute drive away. The best thing though was probably the staff. Portia... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara M
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Stayed in the 2-room cottage at the Lodge in December 15. The staff are excellent and the food was very good indeed. The place has a nice, remote feel to it and is surrounded by very nice scenery. It is a short 10 min drive into the centre of the Blyde River Canyon, which is worth the effort for its... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheBrownTrout
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (164)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
8.3 mi away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#26 of 94 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.9 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 14 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
19.9 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#5 of 94 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Amafu Forest Lodge
Amafu Forest Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kampersrus
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
14.4 mi away
Nyaleti Lodge
Nyaleti Lodge
#2 of 14 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
26.3 mi away
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
#3 of 94 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Address: Swadini Road | Blyde River Botanical Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: $112 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blyde River Canyon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Blyde River Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyde River Canyon Hotel Limpopo Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay