We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thornhill Safari Lodge

Traveler (281)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (14)
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Thornhill Safari Lodge offers an affordable getaway with comfortable rooms and excellent facilities in 13 authentic thatch-roof chalets. Located within the Greater Kruger Park ecosystem - South Africa, a mere 40km from Kruger Park's Orpen gate.We cater for group bookings, individual guests on self drives, fly in safari's and honeymoon couples. Come and enjoy a "Kruger to Canyon" experience which is "More than just a Safari".
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Park View
Reviews & more
62Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 349
  • 83
  • 21
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Spent a few nights here ( a solo female traveller) and loved it. Would happily stay for longer All the staff especially Vincent were great and they couldn’t do enough for you. I would highly recommend this place to anyone
Read more
I was here for three nights in January of 2019 with my girlfriend. This is a beautiful and friendly lodge with a very good vibe. The manager, Vincent, car awesome and did everything he could to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. We went on a few tours with them that were
Read more
Response from Sean R, Owner at Thornhill Safari Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Hi There Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us and will pass on your comments to all staff concerned. Our team really enjoy hearing positive comments and appreciate all feedback in order to better themselves and our guest experiences overall. We look forward to hosting you soon again and wish you and your family a very prosperous 2019. Kind Regards Sean Ryan Owner
Read more
We stayed for three night. Everything was just perfect, the food, our room, the safari tours. The staff was the nicest and made us feel welcome, Vincent, Goodman the guide and the kitchen staff APP A great experience that i won´t forget
Read more
Fantastic, very nice staff, great food. One of the nicest places to stay at on our trip to South Africa. Great safari as well and last but not least a nice little pool to relax. We enjoyed the great hospitality a lot.
Read more
Response from Sean R, Owner at Thornhill Safari Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Good Day Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thornhill on your next visit to our beautiful country. Wishing you and your family a prosperous 2019. Kind Regards Sean Ryan Owner
Read more
I have reviewed this property on Booking.com The meet and greet was very unprofessional as we felt the manager?? did not know anything about our booking, when I told him about my dietary requirements as I did email the lodge on booking our stay, his reply was you are joking, no
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Sean R, Owner at Thornhill Safari Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Good Day We thank you for your valued feedback and strive to make positive changes where necessary with any feedback that we receive. We apologise for the misunderstanding and I have spoken to the Manager involved on the day. According to him, he was not laughing at your comments made regarding dietary requirements but instead laughing at a joke made by your travel partner. Be this as it may, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused due to any misunderstanding between yourselves and have also taken note of your comment regarding the size of the rooms. We are in the process of completing some renovations in 2019 and hopefully upon your return, you will be pleasantly surprised. Looking forward to hosting you in the future again and all of the best for 2019. Kind Regards Sean Ryan Owner
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Photo provided by managementThornhill Safari Lodge
Luxury family units at Thornhill Safari Lodge
perfect lodging for me
Are there any vacancies available? I would like to apply
Good day. I only reviewed the lodge. I was a customer not a manager/owner. I have no idea how come you asked me for a job. Thanks.
1 vote
Tea and coffee on tap in the main area. Sockets in the room, so bring your kettle if you wish -if you have time to use it before the 0530 start for the safari. Great place, authentic and memorable. Well run with excellent owners and staff. Whats not to enjoy. Everywhere we stayed in SA had facilities for tea etc in room by the way.
1 vote
Hi Bernard, Sorry for the delay via this mode of media but I've been away on leave, albeit I see that you have had some excellent advise. I did respond via your facebook enquiry and I know that my reservation team have been in touch with you. Hopefully you'll be coming to stay with us and I look forward to seeing you soon. Regards Chris
0 votes
Show all answers
"Not rooms 1,2, 3, 4."
"every room has a charm. all amazing"
"Honeymoon suite"
"Make sure you order a drink from the bar and sit in the tree house to watch the sun go down - magic!!"
"All the rooms are similar."
$168 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
thornhill safari hotel hoedspruit
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceHoedspruit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing