We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 291: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Been a while since i was last here and how things have slid. Arrived at the resort at 9pm. Had to wait an eternity before a shuttle could take me to the room. On arrival at the room. NO ROOM SERVICE. NO BAR SERVICE. Tea and coffee station without biscuits or rusks. Immediately called the duty station to ask to... More 

Helpful?
Thank nischal g
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Standing at the capacious window of your beautifully appointed, spacious room, taking in the verdant gardens, large, azure pools and endless beach, you could be forgiven for thinking you're at a tropical island resort, especially when, out of the corner of your eye, you spy a small troop of primates clambering up a tree of a balcony. From the moment... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ebrahim K
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ebrahim Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. It is most appreciated. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our little slice of paradise as much as we do. We hope that you will visit our beautiful property again soon. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was very disappointing. Our toilet didn't flush, our hairdryer had no plug, our balcony had no furniture, and the breakfast was extremely average. We asked for a non-feather pillow because one of us is allergic and after promising to bring one, they simply never arrived.

Helpful?
Thank Kanina F
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kanina Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for with us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused by the challenges which you experienced. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last weekend decided to after meeting Durban clients to spend a relaxing weekend Chose the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge being smaller than the Resort and my preference is for the smaller hotel. The hotel is five star but I was more than surprised to find that there was no room service for either bar or food. Only breakfast and bar lunches... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike271142
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mike271142 Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not meet expectations and that you were disappointed by the facilities available. We would like to extend our apologies for the housekeeping challenges that you were faced... More 

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for the weekend as part of a Kulula travel package booking and were presently surprised. It was a lovely weekend from start to finish. Our room at the lodge, 509, was lovely and well maintained. The beach club is relaxing and the willow stream spa is one of the best we've ever been to. Thanks for making... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rivonia1983
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rivonia1983 Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us following your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your much needed break was everything you hoped it would be and more. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager Fairmont... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A wonderful place to stay with amazing views. The generous kind helpful hosts provided for our every needs including advise as to where we should visit and eat. We stayed in many places on our recent tour of South Africa and we rate Zimbali the best. The room was modern and beautifully clean with sea views, (We even managed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jillking2016
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jillking2016 Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort. We are glad that our friendly and helpful staff were able to leave a lasting impression on you during your time with us and that we contributed to a lovely trip to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We loved staying here.Felt like we were in Thailand again. Beautiful tropical forest, nice walk to the beach trough the forest, with waterfall, lakes. birds, monkeys and other wildlife. Helpful and polite stuff. We will be coming back again.

Helpful?
Thank Yuliana T
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Yuliana T Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us following your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our helpful staff left a lasting impression on you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

The rooms are beautifully set in the forest. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff are friendly. We experienced some issues. It was cold during our stay and the room has no heating. The polished concrete floors are very slippery and my wife and I almost fell a few times. There is a bath but no bubble bath or... More 

Helpful?
Thank m0ec
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear m0ec Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge even though you were faced with some challenges during your stay. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience that you endured during your stay with us. We will... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Very nice for who like the nature. Peaceful location, close to the never ending beach, you can also rent a bike and go to the beach. Golf is amazing, and club house has good food and Ernie Els wine. The only think they have a problem with internet connection, it doesn't work in the room, very slow in the reception,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tasi123
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tasi123 Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused due to the slower than normal internet access. We will be sure to review this with the team and hope to improve on this going forward. Kind... More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

The G M of this dump needs to be taken to task I have stayed in hotels without star ratings in some remote places that are more deserving of calling themselves a hotel than the Fairmont .Since when does 5 star mean dirty rooms , a dirty mop stood outside our door on arrival and was still there when we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank bushwaca
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear bushwaca Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us following your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations and that you left feeling disappointed by the experience and service received. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused and kindly request... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (199)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
14.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
14.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.7 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $96 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay