We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 297: English reviews
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

When we arrived there was no information provided about the resort,we felt lost at the beginning.the accommodation was lovely but there needs to be an information leaflet provided as the resort is so big guests need to be informed. When ordering food at the bar in the lodge be prepared for if to take a while. On a positive note... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma N
South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We where at the villas and let me tell you nice views. Saroundings are very beautiful. Different tipes of vwnues and pools and nice restaurants to pick and enjoy your momentum in the sun. Very safe and satff very helpful. Will definitely see me again

Helpful?
Thank jndj12
Durban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed at the both the Resort an the Lodge but prefer the lodge. The view from your balcony is of the forest. If you love nature then it's perfect for you. This stay was extra special as out room was just below the Crowne Eagles nest an we got to see it. The lodge is more private an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rowena C
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rowena C Thank you for sharing your stay with us. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback about our Lodge. It is a beautiful setting and extremely tranquil and we are so happy you got to experience this firsthand. What a treat to have the Crowned Eagle’s nest so close! We look forward to hosting you again and... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very good experience from the room and attention to detail to the service and location. The setting is so beautiful and the pool is magnificent no to mention the view. Food at the pool side and the service from the bar area was below average.

Helpful?
Thank mrg808
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mrg808 Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience with us from the facilities to our service delivery. It is our desire that you have these memorable experiences with us, and we hope to have you back to stay in the near future. Kind Regards Nils Rothbarth General Manager More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a unique disappointment to be again at Zimbali Lodge during our Easter holidays with the whole family. We had been there one year before for a three days stay and had been caught az that time by the warm and extremely friendly service orientation of the staff and, in particular, by this unique location right in the middle... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HannibalCicero
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear HannibalCicero Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience with us. We are most disheartened to hear that your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not meet your expectations, especially as you had enjoyed your stay with us before. We have taken note of your comments and will be investigating further to... More 

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

excellent service from the moment we arrived, The Valley of the Pools was tranquil, the food and cocktails delicious, had supper at Ayoba and the Tacos were scrumptious. The breakfast at Thandi Resturant was mediocre.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michelle J Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful location, as well as the variety of dining options on offer! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager Fairmont Zimbali Lodge More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been a while since i was last here and how things have slid. Arrived at the resort at 9pm. Had to wait an eternity before a shuttle could take me to the room. On arrival at the room. NO ROOM SERVICE. NO BAR SERVICE. Tea and coffee station without biscuits or rusks. Immediately called the duty station to ask to... More 

Helpful?
Thank nischal g
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nischal Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are disheartened to hear that we did not live up to your previous experiences and that you were disappointed by the facilities available. We value your comments and will review your concerns as we improve our service delivery going forward.... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Standing at the capacious window of your beautifully appointed, spacious room, taking in the verdant gardens, large, azure pools and endless beach, you could be forgiven for thinking you're at a tropical island resort, especially when, out of the corner of your eye, you spy a small troop of primates clambering up a tree of a balcony. From the moment... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ebrahim K
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ebrahim Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. It is most appreciated. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our little slice of paradise as much as we do. We hope that you will visit our beautiful property again soon. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very disappointing. Our toilet didn't flush, our hairdryer had no plug, our balcony had no furniture, and the breakfast was extremely average. We asked for a non-feather pillow because one of us is allergic and after promising to bring one, they simply never arrived.

Helpful?
Thank Kanina F
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kanina Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for with us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused by the challenges which you experienced. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

Last weekend decided to after meeting Durban clients to spend a relaxing weekend Chose the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge being smaller than the Resort and my preference is for the smaller hotel. The hotel is five star but I was more than surprised to find that there was no room service for either bar or food. Only breakfast and bar lunches... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike271142
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mike271142 Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not meet expectations and that you were disappointed by the facilities available. We would like to extend our apologies for the housekeeping challenges that you were faced... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (201)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
14.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
14.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.7 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $90 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay