We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

La Montagne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Montagne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 152: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had to say the problems with water and plumbing was challenging as we changed apartments on two occasions but further water problems seemed to follow us, but management was very helpful and supported where possible.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R7887TXrachelc
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Peace of mind. Opertunity to rest & recover and recuperate . will advise family including my-self to book at same resort when bargains are available off seasons next year as I will be a pensioner looks like a very good resort for children

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rameshchandrahm
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are indeed a good resort for children, and guests of all ages. I am glad that you had the opportunity to relax and recuperate at La Montagne, and see you are already planning a future visit. Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you at La... More 

Cape Point, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My parents went for 50th anniversary and enjoyed it fully. Manager excellent assistants including the staff. From the minute they were picked up at the airport to the time they were dropped. Thank you to all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clifford Lestrade
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Dear Clifford Lestrade, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are very excited to read that your parents enjoyed their 50th anniversary at La Montagne, and we are so pleased that La Montagne was the choice to enjoy such a wonderful occasion. I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here before and as we only stayed 1 night we opted for a studio.It was very comfortable and we used the restaurant for a take` away,it was excellent and cheap.I highly recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jacobusl537
Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Water Restrictions therefore no clean linen during our stay. Water Restrictions - No Air-Con Whiskey Bar - NOT OPEN (not enough guests ?) I weekend later I tried to visit the restaurant only, had to pay R20-00 day visit per individual. Only if you use the facilities (pool) this should be applicable / or not ?? They were busy with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank W8466KIandred
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review on our property. I would like to offer my sincerest apology that we did not meet your expectations during your last visit. We are busy changing the system for entry to our property for day visitors. The new system will allow for a redeemable voucher. We are also in the process... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is perfectly situated with a view of the Indian Ocean. Every morning and night, you will hear the rhythmic sounds of the ocean crashing against the shoreline. What is even better, every room is only steps from the beach to play, relax, or picnic. There is also a boardwalk which allows you to take a casual stroll or nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank TERRY S
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband broke his hip but we decided to still go. We had a wonderful holiday. We stayed in the studio apartment and I new it would be small but it was perfect for us and made it easier for my husband. The staff was also very kind and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eloiser111
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our Resort. We take great pleasure in reading that you had a wonderful holiday, and that the studio apartment was perfect for your needs. Our staff are indeed helpful and kind, and we will be sure to share your message with our team. We wish your husband a speedy recovery, and hope to... More 

Johannesburg, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Place needs to urgently be revamped. Rooms so old and uncomfortable. Never even opened balcony door, but room full of terrible insects. Part of roof in bathroom falling in. The parking are so tiny and not easy at all. The place is a great location, but honestly not worth it as too old

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 16debraj
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Your comments are noted, and will most definitely be addressed by our team. We agree that our location is great, and we are very happy to report that the entire resort is currently undergoing a complete refurbishment. The newly completed rooms are amazing, and we do hope that we will... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ballito hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
263 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We come to this resort regularly because it offers good service with good food with good value for money. We enjoy just sitting on our veranda watching for whales and dolphins which come by regularly, or we go walking on the board walk or if the weather is bad we either sleep or read or go to some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kdgarlipp
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on our lovely property. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and the our team has met your expectations. I am also pleased that you have noticed that the food has improved with the new menu changes. I will communicate your message to the rest of the team... More 

Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2016

The overall impression was dissapointing. The room had a very funny smell, and our aircon didnt work. Maintenance did fix it but kept on givivng problems eventually left it. Front desk staff wasnt friendly and not welcoming at all, at least the porters tried to help with towels etx. The staff took the big black dustbins in the lift with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank leaniv2016
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review to us. I would like to offer my sincerest apology in that we did not meet your expectation this time. We do pride ourselves in service excellence and I will address all your concerns mentioned with the relevant departments. I do hope that you would give us an opportunity in the future to host... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
341 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
44 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 25 in Ballito
299 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.8 mi away
Vetho House
Vetho House
#3 of 14 in Ballito
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated along the Dolphin Coast, just 15km from King Shaka Airport, 120 luxury terraced apartments with breathtaking sea views await you at La Montagne Resort Hotel and Spa. With restaurants offering a wide variety of cuisine and room service, a great in-house Wellness Retreat, a live supper theatre club, squash courts, swimming pool, magnificent seaside sun deck and a daily entertainment programme for the whole family, La Montagne is guaranteed to fulfil your holiday dreams. The resort also boasts superb wedding and conferencing facilities with a full banqueting function, themed evenings and special activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Montagne

Address: 100 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4420, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $58 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Montagne 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Montagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Montagne Hotel Ballito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from La Montagne staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from La Montagne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room in the front sea facing block”
 of 5 bubbles kdgarlipp, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
“Higher is better.”
 of 5 bubbles vernonv435, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have a better ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles j0hanc0etzee, Jul 26, 2016 | Read review
“Any four bedroom rooms are a lot bigger than just a two sleeper. It has an open kitchen and lounge area.”
 of 5 bubbles Janine_van_Wulven, Jun 21, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view, ask for a room with good wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles AntonColenbrander, Jun 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay