We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Save
Share
5 Corkwood Drive, Zimbali Coastal Resort, Ballito 4420 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (812)
Room & Suite (166)
Pool & Beach (69)

About

#1 of 8 hotels in Ballito
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
All guest rooms have panoramic views and lots of space. Each has been meticulously designed to ensure the best guest experience possible, finding a perfect balance between form and function. Rooms come standard with complimentary high-speed internet access, an in-room safe, air-conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, as well as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, Le Labo Rose 31 luxury bathroom products, fluffy bathrobes and slippers as well as a stocked mini bar. The resort has a selection of beautiful swimming pools, including one overlooking the Indian Ocean; the perfect beachfront paradise. Wellness and fitness are taken care of with the luxurious Willow Stream Spa and fully equipped gym and dining out is done in style at a range of great restaurants offering mouth-watering culinary delights, from poolside snacks to haute cuisine and everything in between. Enjoy a round of golf, rejuvenating treatments at the spa to swimming and beachcombing to biking or exploring the estate!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
1,198Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 493
  • 283
  • 199
  • 130
  • 93
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Al P wrote a review Oct 2020
Bangkok, Thailand5 contributions
My wife and children were at this place i went there today to visit my family my wife send me a visitor code which is u need to entre in ,the security guys dont know what is going on , they scan my car disk and driver linces and i gave them my antre code but no any of them know what is going on there ,they asking each ather i waith there 40 minutes than i Go.i told them i m not gone waith any more i went back When u book in this place if your visitor come visit u same think can happen to u it will make u feel very bad front of your visitor there are Lots of much more better place than this place Pls dont go West your time by this place
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Laura's World wrote a review Apr 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa933 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
Nestled on an idyllic beachfront stretch of Indian Ocean along the North Coast, what struck me at first glance as we arrived for our weekend at Zimbali, Valley of Flowers, was the convenience. This resort is just a short drive from King Shaka International Airport. It was not long before we were safely checked into our Deluxe Seaview Suite and had a chance to take it all in with a Lavazza espresso in hand. No trouble had been spared with regards to ensuring that every comfort in our room had been made available to us, along with unrivalled views of the ocean which has its own form of therapy and relaxation to offer discerning guests. Our weekend of pampering, cocktails and relaxation was off to a luxurious start! Famished after our travels, we headed off in search of sustenance and found it in the form of a delicious sushi feast and signature cocktail with a view, at 31 Degrees. As we took in the stunning views from this fifth floor restaurant, we joked with our waitress that Fairmont was just showing off as we were teased with views of both their main pool and the exquisite Indian Ocean below us. During our lunch, I was intrigued to learn that Fairmont Zimbali has a choice of not one but five outdoor swimming pools equipped with loungers and umbrellas for us to choose from and enjoy during our stay. Spoilt for choice? I thought so! The competitive streak in me raised its head and I must admit, I found it tempting not to try to fit in visits to all five pools in the first day. We soon found that pool relaxation is just the tip of the ice berg when it comes to the facilities that one could make use of during their stay here but it certainly is a fantastic way to start the holiday. The next day, we woke up early, expectant and excited, and first up on our agenda, some pampering, complete with an Aromatherapy Massage and trip to the Blow Dry bar for a wash and blow dry. It wasn’t long before we were settled in our spa gowns enjoying the ‘Great Lounge’ between treatments enjoying a chamomile tea and healthy muesli snack. Rejuvinated and refreshed after a day of relaxation, we headed back to our Suite to get ready for some pre-dinner drinks. To kick off the evening, we were seated in the Vinum Lounge where we were given a guided tour of the extensive gin range on offer, and a few cocktails later, we were ready to “delight in the flavours of India” at Fairmont Zimbali’s OSA Restaurant. For me, no trip to Kwazulu-Natal would be complete without a delicious curry (or two) during our stay, but what impressed me whilst looking over the menu, was that the menu also offers a selection of signature grills and other options to suite most tastes. Seated in a plush booth, cocktails in hand, our exquisitely plated starters arrived in the form of Zafrani Jhinga (Tiger Prawns) and Lamb Hariyali Kebabs cooked to perfection in Osa’s tandoori clay oven. Next up, it was onto an Osa signature curry for main which also did not disappoint! Full and happy, we made our way back to our comfortable suite for some balcony views and to fall asleep to the sound of the Indian Ocean. Our stay at the Valley of Flowers, flew by in the blink of an eye, and it was not long before we were homeward bound, already discussing when next, we could possibly return. What we left with.. Whether it be a morning stroll on the beach, enjoying an afternoon tea, tennis, golf, or an indulgent spa treatment at Willow Stream Spa that takes your fancy, one thing is apparent.. Fairmont Zimbali Resort really does have your interests at heart.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Tim S wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
We ended our2 week garden route stay at this hotel where there was a clear lack of senior management grip over hotel room standards! We complained about the cracked wash hand basin, mildew and grime shower head and other unacceptable standards to be given a bigger room - a suite- to find significant other problems there. The GM was on holiday, there was no duty manager until the afternoon but we’re treated to a visit by the Chief Engineer who heaped platitudes on us and did nothing for the rest of our stay! He couldn’t have cared less. The hotel is only interested in revenue from Conventions and weddings and whilst beautifully situated is just not worth the hassle or money. I very strongly recommend giving it a wide miss!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear timsW6249UP, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations, and apologize for any way in which we fell short during your stay with us. I would like to assure you that our leisure guests are very important to us and that the concerns mentioned have been shared with our team to address, improving the hotel moving forward. We hope that one day you may consider visiting us again so that we may treat you to a memorable stay which so many of our guests have grown fond of. Sincerely, Mike Jackson General Manager
Read more
y0ungdawn wrote a review Mar 2020
Munich, Germany25 contributions11 helpful votes
We spent 5 nights at the Fairmont, our stay was more than long enough! Never ideal but a couple of friends had ‚raved‘ about the place, our expectations were quite high to beginn with! I think the fairest thing to say is that the hotel feels and looks tired. Everything is a bit grubby and old! The place just doesn’t feel loved! Apart from the entrance at the reception and the spa area, theres no part of the hotel that inspires you or feels luxurious ! Rooms are damp, as are all your clothes after a couple of days stay. You cant air the rooms for long as the monkeys come in through the windows! Its very amusing but you seriously cannot leave the window open day or night! Food choice is very basic! Unfortunately the beach bar was closed for renovations during our stay, a good sign for sure but the alternative for lunch at the pool bar every day was very basic. Not much to choose from and very basic service! Buffet dinner in the main restaurant was very tasty but no atmosphere sitting here whatsoever! The highly praised Indian restaurant was a huge disappointment! Few dishes to choose from, none of us enjoyed our meal! Breakfast buffet was lovely, sadly the gardener starts blowing away the leaves around the pool area from 07:30 onwards so breakfast with a stunning view in peace and tranquility’s not possible! That‘s what i mean by nothing feels loved.. no feel for what guests are looking for in a resort hotel! No attention is paid to detail to make you feel relaxed or special. The staff are very friendly but a tad too relaxed for a 5 star hotel! The concierge and reception team should train the waiting staff, these guys couldn’t do enough for you! The nicest touch we experienced was the ‚turn down‘ from housekeeping- that was unexpected and lovely how they prepared your room in the evening! All in all a very disappointing stay from a world ‚Fairmont‘ Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear y0ungdawn, Thank you for taking the time to share your comprehensive stay experience with us. It is unfortunate that you did not feel that your stay at the hotel exceeded your expectations, and we are sorry for the areas in which we fell short where we work on improvement. Your comments have been noted and discussed, and we hope that you will be back in the future to enjoy a fully memorable stay for the entirety of your stay! Warm Regards, Mike Jackson General Manager
Read more
refilwek0 wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions
I booked a bay window room and when I checked in I was booked in one of the garden suites. The first problem was the key not working. Then one of the staff opened for us. Then there was no kettle in the room. When I called to ask for one the phone in the room didn’t work. I called with my cellphone and I asked to get another room. That was not possible. They said they would get someone to fix the issues. Not sure if someone is coming or not. In the meantime we can’t leave the room because our door doesn’t lock from outside. Not impressed at all
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear refilwek0, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry for the frustrations felt at the time and apologize for the challenges experienced. We hope that the service recovery quickly turned your stay around, and that you were comfortable in the new room. It is clear that we dropped the ball on the outset, but we do hope that your initial complications did not hinder your overall stay with us. Sincerely, Mike Jackson General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$131 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fairmont zimbali hotel ballito
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalBallito
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Zimbali Resort?
Nearby attractions include Thompson's Bay Beach (3.6 miles), Crocodile Creek (3.2 miles), and Ballito Junction (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Zimbali Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Zimbali Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Zimbali Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Zimbali Resort?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Zimbali Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fiamma Grill, Mozambik Ballito, and Al Pescatore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Zimbali Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Fairmont Zimbali Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Fairmont Zimbali Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Zimbali Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Fairmont Zimbali Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fairmont Zimbali Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.