We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 647: English reviews
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Although a lovely property there is not much to do for teenage kids if the weather is not great. Out of season there is no service at the pool and some things are closed. I wasn't happy to have to queue for breakfast. Cleanliness of room was good, toilet needed attention. Servicing of the room was poor over the weekend... More 

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank aju2000
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Truly amazing hotel and a beautiful place to get away from the concrete jungle. I did not feel like I was in South Africa. The staff is so friendly and the service is absolutely amazing . I will definitely be back and looking forward to staying at the villas

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 232radhikap
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Group of friends we had a amazing stay. We will definitely be back. We were treated like queens from the time we drove in. Excellent service. View was amazing. Delicious food. Fairmont is home away from home.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 760charityz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for an evening after our 11hour flight from London and then 1hour flight from Johannasburg, it was a welcome retreat before driving another 3 hours to the game preserve we were staying at the next several days. The staff was so welcoming and friendly. I had the chance for a facial and massage that... More 

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
Alain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

excellent views customer service the door men was exceptional.very friendly and helpful.very clean.views are outstanding only downside too many monkeys.close to beach mall is just up the road security highest quality

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Prishern P
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Things that are good: - size of rooms - quality of breakfast - majority (sadly not all) of staff are very friendly and helpful - location and you 'feel safe' Things that are not so good: - property is getting a bit 'tired'... we had a room with broken locks and faulty lights - drainage problems - some areas of... More 

Helpful?
Thank 751ChrisC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm back from a weekend and must admit I left feeling rather disappointed. There just doesn't semn to be the level of service one expects from a five star resort. I've stayed at a 2.5 star disney resort and 3 star Proteas in South Africa that are more customer focussed. Staff while being polite, you kinda get the feeling that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yodaimran
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Yodaimran Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am most disheartened to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We are in the process of analysing the room in which you stayed and can assure you that any deviations from the Fairmont brand standards will... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

My wife booked us a surprise getaway.She booked a champagne and chocolate strawberries,Never got them.The Aircon did not work and we complained about this .They came to our room and could not find the problem,Offered to move us at 10pm on our last night. We had stayed before and it was really special.I was really disappointed with the way management... More 

Helpful?
Thank Restaurantwww
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We returned several days ago from a 3 night stay at Zimbali resort. It was a great experience all round. The service through the hotel is excellent, from the moment we were welcomed by Manesh at the front desk, to all the restaurant & bar staff, to the cleaning staff too. Every single person we encountered was super friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank chopsky_za
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chopsky_za Thank you very much for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay and hope that this will encourage you to visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful African location staffed by a team of caring individuals who wanted to make our stay a positive and memorable experience. We were greeted by name on most occasions which seems to be a welcome feature of the Fairmont organisation.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank williamgordonm
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear William Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. Our team prides themselves on ensuring that all our guests experience a memorable stay and I am very happy to hear that you experienced such a positive stay with us. I hope that you will visit us again soon! Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

440 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (376)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
13.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $145 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay