We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

765 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 722: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the ultimate in luxury. Let's start with the bad things about the hotel. Portions of food are so large that I put on 4kg from the start to the end of my trip. If you have not been there, the resort falls within the Zimbali Eco Estate which consists of the Zimbali Lodge, the Zimbali Resort as well... More 

Helpful?
Thank VimalSardar
Mansfield
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel and friendly staff great location near the sea. Very secure and good value. wonderful views from the balcony. Watch out for the cheeky monkeys they pinched my wine gums, my fault I should have kept the patio door closed.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard Julian G
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I made a booking for the 26 November. There was a death so we rescheduled for the 3rd December. When we arrived we met Melissa at reception who was not friendly. She advised me that I was a no show for the 26th. I had to show her an email confirming the date change. There after she asked us to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rajendrinaidu1912
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I was in Durban in March and stayed at a villa in Zimbali, beautiful grounds with an awesome golf course... I like that you get a golf buggy with your villa to get around... will definitely like to visit again!!

Helpful?
Thank Jamey S
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms are very spacious especially the bath area (though the toilet needed a fresh coat of paint but that didn't bother me). The bed was very comfortable. I loved the fact that each room has its own iron and ironing boarding. I had no issues with room service. The room I was in was on the 1st floor so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vee201504
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms are amazing and I simply loved my shower. They have lovely rose scented toiletries which I fell in love with. The views from the breakfast venue are simply beautiful and the pools very inviting. I was slightly disappointed with the food, i expected a bit more in this regard, but the staff are very accommodating and overall it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Guy_100
cape town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My sister and I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of the city so quiet nice for relaxing as it's on the beach and good for families with kids too. Breakfast was excellent aswell as the service we received. The pool gets a 10 out of 10 from me.... More 

Helpful?
Thank fazlinjacobs
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had our family out from Italy and we took a family holiday. The rooms are very clean and spacious mostly sea facing. The house keeping staff are a bit abrupt and rude. Be careful of booking on the first floor as there are poor sea views especially in the suits. The fifth floor is reception and can be noisy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexia C
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Alexia C Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disheartened to hear that your stay at our Resort did not exceed your expectations. We are sorry that you did not have a good interaction with our housekeeping staff and we apologize for the challenges you faced with our WiFi. Our internet connection is currently being reviewed by our... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

There for business but great relaxing place. Good gym and spa. Good service and food at the restaurants. Loved the view from my room. Rooms too are large and luxurious laid out. Bar at the pool is great for evening drinks and its all a short drive from the airport which is great.

Helpful?
Thank danders212
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear danders212 Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you were able to mix business and pleasure at our Fairmont Zimbali Resort and that you had a favourable and memorable impression of all of our facilities. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our service delivery, dining options and our location,... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I hosted a group at Zimbali Fairmont Resort in November, and I was totally blown away by the beauty, organization and friendliness of the staff. One little hiccup of no communication, but after that all ran exceptionally smoothly. Claude was extremely friendly and helpful, Mandla at the Concierge's desk was fantastic in finding a "lost" box of clients gifts, Phumela... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen M
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Helen M Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are delighted that our staff left a lasting impression on you and we are pleased to hear that your event ran smoothly as a result. We will certainly pass on your compliments to our team and we thank you for your specific commentary allowing us to do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

455 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (391)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
341 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,515 reviews
13.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
93 reviews
13.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $155 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The rooms on the upper floors have a good view. However, on the ground floor you can walk out onto the lawn.”
 of 5 bubbles Michelle_Guy_100, 3 days ago | Read review
“Get a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles danders212, 1 week ago | Read review
“Sea facing rooms are spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles HelenM941, 1 week ago | Read review
“We loved our sea facing junior suite which is really a lovely big flat with a huge covered veranda.”
 of 5 bubbles annelie_hattingh, 1 week ago | Read review
“sea views deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles Shube1, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay