We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilltop Country Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilltop Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of Hilltop Country Lodge
 Click to rate
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a position! All that you could wish for for a few days stay. Very comfortable accommodation and fantastic breakfast every morning. Hennie was the perfect host and lovely to talk to. Around the area are great restaurants in Wilderness and a lovely beach and cafe down in Victoria Bay. Also some good walks. Certainly a very enjoyable stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erikagraves47
Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent a wonderful fortnight at Hilltop - it truly is a stunning place with magnificent views. The owners are attentive, helpful and are delightful company. Yes, it is slightly quirky - you are staying in someone's home, with all that that entails. So, if for instance you are not happy with eating your breakfast while four monkeys watch you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Woodbury Salterton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2017

What a beautiful place to stay for our last few days in South Africa. I'm sat on our balcony overlooking Wilderness Bay and we really don't want to leave. The grounds are stunning with beautiful birds serenading us and Mr Quail and his family parading around - its paradise. Perfectly placed for Victoria Bay, (great for body boarding), George and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine Q
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 19, 2017

We booked for four nights in January 2017 and extended for a further two as we felt so comfortable here. Originally built 19 years ago and run ever since by Hennie & Magda Schoeman the Hilltop is a gem of a place. Every part, whether interior or exterior, is beautifully maintained and presented and Hennie, who is well travelled and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdrianB144
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for peace tranquility and 1st class service then this is the place,the owners simply cannot do enough for you, lovely clean rooms with comfy beds tea and coffee facilities plus amazing views over Wilderness beach, continental breakfast served which is more than ample to set you off for the day relaxing by the pool or hire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Stokke
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights late October - fantastic room, stunning view, and the best breakfast we've had for years. The landlords and their staff was very Nice and helpful. Highly recommended - we'll be back!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liv V
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

Great stay at Hilltop, while on second honeymoon!! The 270 degree view from the house is stunning, 800 ft up looking over Wilderness, the mountains and the sea. Beautiful guest house and garden and pool. Very attractive bedroom. Nature trail down through the bush below the house leads to further views. Very well looked after by the host Heny.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your response. We really enjoyed having you as guest and come back for another anniversary! Regards Magda

Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

I do no often write reviews however I received very inflexible, unfriendly service from the lodges managers/owners while traveling on business, I can easily say they ruined the experience for myself and they do not deserve near a 4 star status. From most reviews you will see the main compliment is the location and views with "nice management" however the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank D305WNthomasc
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Mrs Choice, We are sorry that you found our guest house so unsatisfactory. We only have two family rooms and the ons was booked for guest arriving after you very long ago. So you never had an option of interleading door rooms. The other room was already prepared for the guests who booked the room. You booked one family room...

Camps Bay, South Africa
Reviewed November 30, 2016

Where do I start with my awful experience at Hilltop 4 Star Country Lodge.... The setting is magnificent with the most amazing view with friendly staff but that is precisely where it stops. The owners have a terrible attitude. I travelled with my twins who are two and a half, adopted and black and my Au Pair. We are frequent...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MarvBlonde
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Choice, We are sorry that you found our guesthouse so unsatisfactory. We only have two family rooms and one was booked for guests arriving the day after you VERY long ago. So there was never an option of interleading rooms. The other room was already prepared for the guests who booked the room. You booked one family room...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 26, 2016

Well what can we say .. We entered our rooms and were blown away with the view. We also saw the super Moon Sharing a glass of wine with Hennie and Magda .(Bella too little yorkie ). This was an amazing guest house with fantastic owners it felt like we had know them for years ...the service and cleanliness of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbell070
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Friends, What a lovely reminder of our very special time together! We enjoyed you all so much. Thank you for staying with us! We wish all of you a very Happy and Blessed Christmas and a wonderful 2017. We hope to meet you all again. Take care magda

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
610 reviews
11.5 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
0.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
296 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hilltop Country Lodge

Address: PO Box 12002, Garden Route Mall, George, 6546 | Victoria Bay Heights, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Price Range: $131 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilltop Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilltop Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Country Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Best views”
 of 5 bubbles erikagraves47, 2 days ago | Read review
“AMAZING VIEWS FROM ALL ROOMS . you must do the walk down the path to see the views”
 of 5 bubbles Tinkerbell070, Nov 26, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are equally good, with a balcony and fantastic views.”
 of 5 bubbles JoHughes65, Apr 9, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have superb views”
 of 5 bubbles isabella1953, Feb 14, 2015 | Read review
“Our room, number 3, was cosy and comfortable. All the rooms have amazing views.”
 of 5 bubbles 684elizabetht, Mar 2, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question