We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Start your review of Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
 Click to rate
Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The kitchen and bathrooms are filthy. Even though it says everyone should clean up, its really dirty. The carpet in the room was wet. No cupboards, or fan. Only stayed there the first night and then went and slept at another place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 377sharona
Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sharona I am so terribly sorry about your experience! I wish you would have told one of the staff about the wet carpet, as we still do not know which room you were in. As far as the bathrooms and kitchen goes, the housekeeping staff clean it in the morning and just before knockoff at 16:00. We do ask...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The place is in a verynice area in the garden route surrounded by vegetation and close to the lakes, even though it is not right next the to the village (we had a car). The bar is an interesting place where locals hang out and the breakfast (not included) is good. The dorms are a bit crowded though and there's...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z2160FEcristinaa
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I highly recommend staying at Fairy Knowe. Everyone working there was very friendly and as soon as I arrived I was invited on a walk that they had organised to a fascinating cave-turn-homeless shelter. The whole place has a really nice laid back vibe and the bar layout is very cool. The backpackers location is wonderfully placed in the woods...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophia L
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pretty decent backpackers, I stayed in main house at the top. With private room and had to share bathroom which was reasonable enough. They have a nice bar/ slash entertainment area with pool tables and foosball... Some people really lose their heads paying that game including the plastic men on the pitch. Gets quite partyfied in the evenings and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardinio0
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sure it's cheap but as the saying goes "you get what you pay for" The staff were really friendly and helpful but if you not accustomed to this setup it really grates on you how inconsiderate guests can be. Having shared a room with 5 other people who came in and out the room all hours of the night and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlene B
Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Charlene Thank you for your feedback. It is true, dorm life is really not for everyone. We do have private rooms as well as lovely en suites available should you choose to be a bit more private. I agree that many guests tend to be a bit loud, especially in a dorm situation, but many are indeed considerate. Unfortunately...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed January 20, 2017

Beautiful view,friendly people,comfortable and homely. We only stayed the one night but it had a nice atmosphere. Verandah has a magnificent view and we got to see the Guinea fowls with babies close up as well as a surprise visit from the Knysna Loerie. Rooms are clean and spacious. Kitchen area had easy access. Parking no problem .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathycV2275FM
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

Hostel is in a central location for activities but not within walking distance of any shops or other restaurants. Has a relaxed family atmosphere featuring group dinners each night. The bar is popular with locals and backpackers alike. Features a range of dorm and camping options. Book ahead in high season!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
jhb
Reviewed January 10, 2017

We stayed over at Fairy Knowe backpackers for one night and enjoyed our stay... Good mix of people and a relaxed atmosphere. The only downside was that the backpackers' cleanliness wasn't up to standard and that some of the bathrooms were out of order - causing congestion in the mornings :(

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank g0happyfestival
Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the atmosphere. We do try to keep it as relaxed as possible (all be it quite the task between xmas and New year) Our staff clean the bathrooms twice per day and mops are provided in each bathroom so that guest can mop up the water spills after using them....

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Great stay in beautiful surroundings. The lodge was very busy though when I stayed as it was New Years eve. I think it would have been cleaner has it not been for the sheer number of guests. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lodge had good facilities. Surrounding scenery amazing!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I4798QLhelenc
Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our road trip to Cape Town. At first I thought its so far from the beach but soon after our arrival discover that the forest and lagoon adjacent Wildernis is the best kept secret of this beautiful outstretched white sandy beach location. And that Fairy Knowe are right on the edge of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharne B
Didi T, Manager at Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Sharne! It was wonderful having you around! Hope to see you next year!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
591 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Fairy Knowe Hotel
#24 of 55 in Wilderness
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Wild Farm Backpakers
The Wild Farm Backpakers
#13 of 34 in Wilderness
98 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#22 of 55 in Wilderness
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge

Address: Dumbleton Road, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Price Range: $19 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay in a private room with ensuite - little thatched chalet huts”
 of 5 bubbles estill88, Feb 13, 2016 | Read review
“The en suite roops are great”
 of 5 bubbles BDP_001, Nov 12, 2015 | Read review
“Stay away!”
 of 5 bubbles DiemsDay, Sep 6, 2015 | Read review
“Definitely upstairs in the old house.”
 of 5 bubbles theod609, Jul 8, 2015 | Read review
“If you can get one of the cottage suites, they are wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles RyderDA, May 4, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question