We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No problems. Maybe the bathroom water could be warmer in colder days. Beautiful view from the restaurant. Could not swim because of all the rain. The food was perfect! what else to say than everything was good and we enjoyed our stay there. Will definitely come again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pietervanellewee
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pieter, Thank you for your positive review on our resort. We cannot wait to welcome you back to enjoy our spectacular views food and facilities - hope next time you get to swim! Kind regards, Johan Labuschagne

Moate, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at another excellent First Resorts location and expected a similar level of quality. This has not happened at Bushmans Nek. To an appalling level. We arrived this evening at approx 6pm. We were given keys to our lodge, 4B. The lodge was absolutely not as advertised in your online booking. Far smaller and dirty. The sofa bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi G
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Judi, Thank you for taking the time this morning to discuss your concerns with me. I am disappointed in the service you received from the team as this is not the way I manage and run Bushman’s Nek and have addressed it accordingly. As we have moved you to a new unit that is to your liking I trust...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Views from the dining room and deck are marvelous. In November there are many storms and one should be careful when hiking. The road to the hotel is dirt road and after storms there are many puddles along the way, so bucky would helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 694filipd
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued review and highlighting our amazing view. As you mentioned, November is when our rainy season really starts and the points you make about hiking and the road are valid. We are pleased you had such a relaxing time with us and look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards, Johan Labuschagne

Scottburgh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived on a Monday afternoon, to be greeted by friendly, efficient staff and complimentary tea/coffee. Shown to our room which was very clean and we enjoyed a wonderful view of the mountains after unpacking. Next day I became ill and the management volunteered to collect medicine from the Underberg hotel for us,as they were going in anyway. Thanks a million...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I9261YOrobertr
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It pleases me to hear that we made your stay a memorable stay even with the heavy downpour we experienced. We as a team aim to assist and ensure your stay is memorable and fetching medication for you was an absolute pleasure. I trust we will welcome you back in the not too distant future...

Villiersdorp
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall experience just the best! Rooms, staff, food, entertainment - all was excellent. Can only recommend the resort !!!!! It offers much more then one expects from a three star hotel! As it was raining on our arrival and you can only get to the resort via 35km of gravel road our car and trailer was very dirty - BUT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 936gerte
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that your time enjoyed with us was such a memorable one. I am glad to hear we exceeded your expectations, and that our service was even better than expected. We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Johan Labuschagne General Manager - Bushmans Nek

Southafrica
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean chalets.tons to do for the kids.fabulous views.an inhouse spa.staff incredibly helpful and polite.delicious food at the restuarant or cook your own.we celebrated a wonderful birthday here.clean fresh mountain air.....an absolutely perfect weekend break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rash1275
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback and review of our property, I have passed your comments onto the team It pleases me to hear how you enjoyed your time with us and that we could make the birthday weekend a special one. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards, Johan Labuschagne

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Peaceful, serene and tranquil environment surrounded by the mountains. Horseriding at New England farm is a must and we thoroughly enjoyed afternoon swims in the heated the rock pools. Loved the friendliness and hospitality of staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerissan2016
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review! It is always heart-warming to share these positive comments with the rest of the team. I am glad you enjoyed the horse riding as you mentioned it is a definite must. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future for more tranquility, great service and excellent views. Kind regards Johan

Durban
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our trip was disappointing. Our cabin was tiny with an interleading door to another cabin. The cabin carpets were stained and the bathroom was dirty with old stained dirt it needed a good scrub. We will not be back. Very disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A7024JFnataliem
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, Thank you for sending us your review. It saddens me to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the accommodation was not to your liking. Your concerns are being addressed with the team to rectify and prevent from happening in the future again. We are planning to start with renovations of the log...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Bushman's Nek lies at the end of a 35km unmade road from Underberg, which is part of it's charm but also it's drawback. The drive from Underberg took best part of an hour although it would probably have been less in a 4x4. At the base of some peaks right on the border with Lesotho the hotel has a wonderfully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear John F, Thank you for your review on our property. There is an alternative road that one can use but we are hopeful that the local authorities will start to upgrade the road for us soon. Due to much rain it is quite difficult to maintain though. As you have mentioned we are a great destination, especially for families,...

Jhb
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Wonderful stay lovely resort excellent and friendly welcoming staff.....only the off road to get there is terrible ......will visit again if it's nearer or over a longer period of time .highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank faatimahm2016
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Faatima Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear your stay was a memorable one, we understand your frustration with the gravel road and are hoping the local authorities will address it soon. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Kind regards, Johan

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
6.5 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
19.0 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
7.1 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 17 in Underberg
249 reviews
13.3 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 17 in Underberg
92 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bushman's Nek Berg & Trout Resort is a family resort located in the foothills of the Southern Drakensberg. The Resort has a combination of units, including hotel unit's a suite, self catering and log cabins. The open areas and incredible views make this destination a perfect choice for those who choose to relax and soak in the goodness of nature. Hiking trails, mountain biking, horse riding and rivers hosting trout in abundance make it ideal for the more adventurous. A beauty spa is located on site as well as our Bushpot Restaurant which offers an a la carte menu and weekly specials. Open for day visitors. With our friendly staff and warm hospitality we invite you to join us for a unique and exciting experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort

Address: Bushmans Nek Road | Southern Drakensberg, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Price Range: $41 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Hotel Underberg
Bushmans Nek Berg And Trout Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Garden access room was nice”
 of 5 bubbles 456santae, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“Log Cabbins can be too noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Renette_Fur, Sep 10, 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 7 has a tree in front so the view isn't the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Melinda39, Sep 10, 2016 | Read review
“Plan your hikes in advance”
 of 5 bubbles garybT9312AL, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“Any room overlooking the valley or mountains would be good”
 of 5 bubbles MikeSATraveller, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay