We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Penwarn Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Underberg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Penwarn Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Penwarn this weekend, found it to be very expensive for what we got. Food not good at all, very salty and soup, custard all had lumps. Apart from very salty no taste at all. Accomodation run down and needs urgent attention. Room not cleaned properly, bath not washed, fireplace not cleaned. Zero ambience at the bar as to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denis B
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

All I can say is that this was the best decision Ryan and I made to celebrate our wedding at penwarn. From the start Shannon and Barbara were extremely helpful with every detail I was not worried at all. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves and all want to return for fishing and horse riding. The views are breathtaking and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephenie M
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Ryan and Stephenie, thank you for choosing Penwarn to be a part of your magical day! We were honoured to host your family and friends for a truly special occasion and thoroughly enjoyed the entire weekend. Thank you for trusting us with such an important event in your lives and we are thrilled to hear that you are so happy.... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2016

The staff were friendly, but really attention to detail is not the order of the day. We had no heating in our room - the fireplace had not been cleaned, the bathroom only had hot water, no shower gel or shampoo in bathroom. The lack of internet connectivity made it impossible to contact management after hours as only Vodacom was... More 

Helpful?
Thank MicheleStarke
ShannonDommett, Owner at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Michele, We pride ourselves in being a country retreat away from the busyness of the city and aim to provide an experience that is unique and centred around farm life. We have Wifi available in the Reception area as we understand that we are in a remote location and that business must go on. The managers and owners... More 

Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

I do not know if they still have the same chef, but their restaurant was way too good. The accomodation was amazing too. We were there to shop for horses and the horse riding experience was just as spectacular with a good guide riding with us. If you seek peace of mind away from the noise, this could do it... More 

Helpful?
Thank romeobleck
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We hope that you will be back to enjoy the food, accommodation and horses for many more years to come. We are always so thrilled to hear from guests who enjoy our "little piece of heaven away from it all" as much as we do. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Gauteng
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

We stopped over at Penwarn on our way down to the Transkei. The rooms were comfortable with a cosy fireplace . Scenic surroundings allowed us to take lots of photos and good walks amongst the horses. The staff were friendly and informative of the area.

Helpful?
Thank raymondr500
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful comments! We are happy to hear that you so enjoyed yourself and hope that the next time, your stay with us will be longer. More 

Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2016 via mobile

Short and long.... We wished we could've stayed longer. Lovely setting, warm friendly service. Lodging is more than sufficient given the price charged. We did the farm tour and the kids loved it. The only disappointment was the fact that fishing was not possible due to the drought that dried up all the dams a few weeks earlier. I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Schastri
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments! We so enjoy watching families take to farm life like yours did. The farm tour is the perfect vehicle to experience the entire farm and all its enterprises We were privileged to show your family around. We hope to host you for a fishing weekend in the future once the weather conditions have improved... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Mziki self catering chalet at Penwarn, right on the dam within a beautiful farm surrounding. The chalet has a relaxed atmosphere and cosy with a well equipped kitchen. All the bedrooms face the dam and can appreciate the views. We enjoyed sunny weather and during our walks we were able to absorb the stunning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Muggins01
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear "Muggins01", Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are thrilled to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to take in the scenery and animals on offer. We hope to host your group for another ladies weekend soon! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

My family, including two from overseas, stayed here at the Mtini Lodge in the week leading up to Christmas. This was my second visit and Mtini had caught my eye for its beautiful location overlooking a large lake. Because of the severe drought the lake was in reality a marshland with a stream running through it but this seemed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Foregone
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, “Foregone” for your lovely comments. We love hosting families that embrace farm life as yours did! Mthini truly is a special place and I’m so glad that it was home to your family reunion. You’ll have to have another reunion once the drought has broken to witness the view become even more spectacular. We wish that you had... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2015

We spent one night at Penwarn as a stop over from Eastern Cape to the Northern Berg. The farm is absolutely beautiful. Our room was perfectly appointed and well equipped. A morning run with the resident border collie in the mist was a highlight. The farm has lots of dams and I am sure you could wonderful walks across the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet B
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, Janet! We hope that you will return for a longer stay in the future. I am sure that Tack the Collie is missing his morning adventures. Your starter of Baked Camembert and main course of Chicken Florentine with double cheese sauce are considered to be two of our specialty dishes. We often have these dishes requested for wedding... More 

Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2015

We were travelling as a group and unfortunately we only spent one night at Penwarn Country Lodge. We enjoyed every minute! Nicely decorated rooms with good beds, good food and the management and staff always go a step further for us. I will remember this wonderful evening at the open campfire for a long time. And I know that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martina K
ShannonDommett, Manager at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, Martina! We hope to host you again this year and this time for a longer stay. Look forward to seeing you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
7.7 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
13.0 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
15.2 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 17 in Underberg
248 reviews
7.4 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 17 in Underberg
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Penwarn Country lodge is situated on the edge of the Ukhlthlamaba Drakensberg Park in the Southern Drakensberg, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa.Both hotel and self-catering accommodation is available. There are 2 hotel lodges and 4 self catering units that can accommodate from 2 to 14 people.Many activities are on offer - horse riding; farm tours of the dairy and horse-stud farm; birding; hiking; fishing are merely a few. Sani Pass tours are arranged for the guests with the local tour companies.Warm hospitality, relaxed atmosphere, good country dining are our some of our specialities!We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Penwarn Country Lodge

Address: Bushmans Nek Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Number of rooms: 19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Penwarn Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“In winter stay in the Lodge itself, there is a large fireplace should the electricity go out.”
 of 5 bubbles PaintedBlackbirdKim, Sep 16, 2015 | Read review
“Lodges give total peace!”
 of 5 bubbles 772jillf, Mar 1, 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are great, but get the lodge rooms overlooking the lake for something special.”
 of 5 bubbles Bounderboys, Dec 16, 2014 | Read review
“The Zebra room was perfect for us: PROS: larger, fireplace, dstv, minibar, personal outside access. CON: bathtub with hand held shower (no curtains)”
 of 5 bubbles CattleSpeed, Jul 31, 2014 | Read review
“go self-catering”
 of 5 bubbles 257dereks, Jul 23, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question