We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Underberg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 37: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were traveling in the Drakensberg during the school holidays in October, and the first place we stayed confused our reservation for the 2nd night of our trip. Fortunately, we found rooms at Pile Inn. It was incredibly comfy--the beds were soft and I especially enjoyed the complimentary coffee and tea in the room. We were planning on getting up... More 

Helpful?
Thank JeanVerde
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We made a last-minute reservation here when our original plan fell through. We didn't know what to expect, as we didn't have internet access to see photos & reviews. We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived! The rooms were very cozy, clean, comfortable, and comparatively much more luxurious than the other places we had stayed (backpacker lodgings). This was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise J
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the Pile Inn for two nights - one at each end of my hike in the Drakensberg Mountains. Lucia is a great hostess and serves a first class brekkie, but unfortunately for us travellers she is moving on to something different. Hopefully the new host(es) will be equally good. The rooms are basic but nice (as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lena H
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a few months agog and this was a real gem of a holiday for our family of 5,including our very ill, moither-in-law. Lucia, did take care of ALL our needs, I mean ALL our needs. Weil be back, or i might even think of buying this little gem of a old house,if the price is right..

Helpful?
Thank jutishra
pilesey, Owner at Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your great response. I am Sure Lucia was thrilled to have received it, as we were to read it. ps, everything is for sale at the right price!! More 

Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lucia is certainly the best guesthouse keeper we met during our South African holiday. According to our Dutch needs she made us a special breakfast. And profided us with all the info and arrangement we needed. A trip to the Sani Pass was one of the highlights.

Helpful?
Thank Niels B
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a great BB if you are looking for clean, friendly and good value for money in the Underberg area and intend to explore the area. The English breakfasts are awesome and the your are made to feel so so welcome. Not ideal if you are not good on stairs as all rooms are up some steep wooden stairs.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chefane
Durban
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

No frills, but inexpensive, The rooms are simple, but comfortable. It's a good place to use as a base to explore the southern Drakensberg. There's no TV in the room, if that is what you are looking for, and not really much to do at night in Underberg. But the traditionaly English breakfast is great, cooked and served by the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NautieZA
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Upon entering the front door, we were put-off by the non-existent entry and run-down appearance of the establishment. I remembered that this was a marginally 3-star accommodation and decided that my husband and I would "wing it". I'm tremendously glad we did. We had plans to join renowned mountain/rock art guides, Philip and Christeen Grant for hikes to important San... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ougeekgirl
Gent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Pile Inn B&B is situated in a very quiet street with nice rooms and excellent personal service with quiet some flexibility (e.g. breakfast hours) . Ideally situated for visits to the Drakensberge and the Sani Pass and Lesotho.

Helpful?
Thank uyunisalar
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Ian and Sue made us feel total relaxed and welcome. They were up VERY early to see to our breakfast needs on the day of the Sani Stagger race. The room we stayed in was clean neat and fely like home.

Helpful?
1 Thank glennandkaren
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
15.9 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
5.8 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#1 of 12 in Underberg
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Himeville
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Douglas Drift Cottages
#7 of 12 in Underberg
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pile-Inn achieved AA Awards, Semi Finalist, based purely on guest comments. Perfectly situated on the outskirts of Underberg, we ensure a memorable and relaxed stay. Tours into Lesotho now available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Old Main Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Price Range: $240 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing