We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 277: English reviews
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Checked in for 1 night..got upgraded at reception for being ihg member.late check out given..2pm..breakfast area very accomodating..rooms extremely comfortable..big walk in shower..on downside no cupboards but that was fine.get a corner unit..bigger rooms

Helpful?
Thank mohamed V
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful scenery and rooms are immaculate. The accommodation is close or walking distance from gateway. Staff not so on point and found them unfriendly we got there early before 12 and ended up checking in around 3.

Helpful?
Thank NtsumiTwala
STANGER,KWAZULU NATAL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Bonny and his wife Anna Maraj started this Company 30 years ago in Stanger and their Son Rikesh joined them ten years later folloewed by his sister Shareena and a few years ago Mikhail the eldest son of Shareena joined the company after completing his studies in Finance..they operate in Stanger and in Richards bay where the Company has branched... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna Rachel M
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very convenient location, restaurants etc. all close by. In typical Holiday Inn style everything works well like it should. Good value breakfast as usual. Airport is close and Uber is always around for a quick ride.

Helpful?
Thank g0shj
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is locate at the umhlanga ridge, giving you a very nice view of the indian ocean, and Durban city a distance off. The stay was lovely, clean rooms, hospitable staff, great art works on the walls. Only challenge with internet (not included in the hotel costs). They provide 100MB data limitation per device per day.

Helpful?
Thank Moses_Waweru
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your extremely positive review from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Warm regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 5th to 9th August. Stay was comfortable . We had great service from the front desk staff . Special thanks to mohammed for sorting out my confusion of the booking on arrival. Staff are pleasant and professional . Was a busy weekend but the hotel managed with the volumes especially in the morning with breakfast making sure everyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mansoof S
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a lovely review from your recent stay at our Hotel. We are so pleased you were well looked after and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have not a single complaint about the hotel. Room are a bit small but the great service from staff make up for it! Room in an excellent condition and great shower! Every single staff member was smiling and friendly-even at breakfast! Will definitely return for a couples trip!

Helpful?
Thank Sadiasulaman
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

We certainly are encouraged by your extremely positive review from your recent stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very clean and comfortable rooms. Delicious food. Was not happy with room, reception arranged another room for us with beautiful views. Beds were very comfortable. Very modern furnishing. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Value for money.

Helpful?
Thank janushanaidoo
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased we were able to accommodate your request for a room move. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a one night stay here whilst travelling aroun the area.We had a wonderful welcome.The rooms are clean and adequate,with television and wi fi.The bed was quite small,that's the only downside.The price included a wonderful breakfast,more than you could eat.Great value for money and will stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Letteuce
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Cape Point, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

The Holiday inn express is absolutely great accommodation at great prices. The rooms are well modern ,furnished and designed. Room service is efficient and rooms are cleaned well.The hotel staff are friendly and willing to assist. The basement parking is secure however a bit of a distance to your room . The buffet breakfast leaves one spoilt for choice. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank Majozii
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review from your recent stay with us. We certainly do appreciate your favorable comments, and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future! Warm regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $79 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay