We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Anchor's Rest

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Anchor\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 206: English reviews
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent quality for resonable money. Owners Cilla and Peter and Manageress Sindy - agreeable people. They are very friendly and create a homelike atmosphere in Anchor's Rest Guest House. We would like to return with pleasure for more time and good rest

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 216mikhailb
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quality appearance from the start. Clean comfortable stay in rooms with all ameneties. A warm home away from home feel. Excellent breakfast, with a wide variety of choice. Great personalized owner touch, engaging on all levels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tonycH982XZ
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

It was an absolutely lovely experience! The property is very clean & well kept and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in.The bedrooms, dining area and lounge are very upmarket & tasteful. The Staff are very friendly & courteous. A lovely 'home-away-from-home' experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gregannawhi
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

We came to SA to a friends wedding and has a fantastic stay at Anchors Rest, Sandy really looked after us and we would like to say a massive thank you to her for making our first trip to SA an enjoyable one...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank laurahW9897DF
Steynsburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

One of the best guesthouses we have stayed in - quiet, comfortable and generous. The owners live on the property and are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Situated within easy walking distance of many restaurants. Everything clean and in good order.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank I6850YClizs
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

The website gives a false impression of spacious rooms, but instead we picked a poorly decorated and smallish room. Also, the breakfast (not included) is way too expensive for what it is. A really poor experience and definitely not a place I would recommend to family and friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T2511XJchristopheb
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Christophe Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Anchor’s Rest. We were so distressed to read that you had not had a pleasant stay at Anchor’s Rest. You mentioned that our website gives a false impression of spacious rooms so you were clearly disappointed with regards to the size of the room which you chose.... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Very neat and comfortable room, relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff! Around the corner from Chartwell Ave. With numerous up market restaurants! Walking distance from the beach front. Beautiful gardens and scenery.

Helpful?
Thank Ianabcdefg
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Ian Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review on Anchor's Rest. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the position of the Guest House to be so convenient. We are spoilt with the climate along the north coast as even in winter our gardens do look lovely - despite... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

Our room could not be faulted. Everything was on hand to make for a very pleasant stay. Sandy, the manager, is most helpful. Excellent breakfast. King size bed very comfortable with large TV. Anchors Rest is highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ffilmalter
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

What a lovely place. Very friendly and helpful people. The cheetah room was lovely and private, with all you need for self-catering. The location is close enough to walk wherever you need to go. I will go back if next in Umhlanga.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mikemargotw
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Mike and Margot Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Anchor's Rest. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and in particular in the Cheetah room which is indeed a lovely, private room. We are also pleased that you enjoyed being able to walk everywhere, as it's good to be able to walk to... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

We arrived a little late due to flight delay and were greeted with a friendly smile and tour of the premises. The location is excellent, only two blocks from the main restaurant strip in Umhlanga. The room was spacious, bathrooms clean and the pool area stunning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 424lynettec
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Lynette Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Anchor's Rest. Sandy, our Manageress was looking after the Guest House in our absence and we know that we can always rely on her to look after our the Guest House and our guests as she is excellent at her job. We are pleased that you enjoyed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 1,395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchor’s Rest is a small, friendly, relaxed guest house with the emphasis on peace, tranquillity and the personal touch. Whether you are on holiday or business, we will provide you with an ideal retreat and a warm welcome.Tropical gardens, sparkling pool, warm ambience and excellent service await you at Anchor's Rest, located in the centre of Umhlanga Rocks. An easy walk to the shops, restaurants, coffee bars, beaches and vibrant night life. The Guesthouse boasts four fully appointed en-suite bedrooms all of which are Wireless Internet enabled, with all the luxury and comfort for which we have become renowned.Each suite is delightfully furnished and has every modern facility, convenience and comfort - including air-conditioning and heating, king size bed with cool cotton percale linen, complimentary bathroom toiletries, hospitality tray, books and magazines for guests’ reading pleasure, personal safe and hairdryer. All rooms lead directly to the pool or garden and have private entrances.A full English or Continental Breakfast is served every morning.After a busy day sight-seeing, or sun tanning on the beach, relax around a sparkling pool, enjoying the magnificent weather and warm hospitality of the hosts. In the evening, bar-b-que under the stars, dine al fresco in the gardens, or stroll into Umhlanga to enjoy a variety of cuisine at any number of good quality restaurants.Secure off street parking is provided, airport transfers, car hire and private tours can be arranged. Solar heated swimming pool. Visa, MasterCard and Diners credit card facilities. Daily laundry service. Children 10 years and older are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Address: 14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $76 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay