We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Zeranka Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umhlanga Rocks
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Zeranka Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We only stayed one night at Zeranka Lodge. We got the most remote room but nevertheless it was very nicely decorated and got all we needed. Very friendly staff which made reservations at a very good restaurant(Olive&Oil) and for the taxi! Thanks for having us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlouwe5
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. The room you had is a little way from the Lodge, but the most private and the nicest! So glad your enjoyed your meal at Olive and Oil and its always best to take a taxi then one has no problems drinking and driving. Travel on safely Regards Marcelle

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's the second time I've stayed here. All was spot on ! Conveniently located ..peaceful, calm , relaxed, clean and a home away from home. Marcelle is a great host and the staff are great too. Beds are comfortable, clean sheets and all conveniences are here. Private beach is about a 50 meter walk from the venue. The pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tcloud
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words. We really try to have our guests experience a "home away from home" feeling. So glad your found your stay as great as it was last time. It was a pleasure having you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Marcelle

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in zeranka lodge just one night after a long drive. Nonetheless we were very impressed by the Zeranka the spacious lodges and the bed was excellent. There are some nice restaurants in the area and the lodge is very close to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaanK1
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Daan Thanks for the review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good sleep after the long drive you had. We pride ourselves on our comfortable beds. Yes, we are very spoilt having the beach so near. Travel on safely Regards Marcelle

Reviewed September 27, 2016

Very cousy and relaxing place! We were a bit unlucky with the weather but with nice sunny weather it's the perfect place to be (nice swimming pool and terrace + own path to the beach). We stayed there because we had to take a flight from Durban, it's just a short and easy drive from Zeranka Lodge. We had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik T
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thank Erik for your review... Yes, we try hard to have our guests feel that home away from home feeling. Glad you enjoyed the snack breakfast. Sorry about the weather, its raining again today!!! but no complaints as rain is badly needed. Hope you will visit us again and I will order our beautiful sunshine!!! Regards Marcelle

Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

We have really enjoyed our stay at the Zeranka Lodge. It was just a pitty that is was only 1 night. Very nice surroudings and the beach close by. Very nice and helpfull staf. Hope to return for a longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Ellen Thanks for the review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay, even for such a short time. No matter how short or long the stay, we always try our best for you to have an enjoyable time, would love to have you back Regards Marcelle

Freiberg am Neckar, Germany
Reviewed September 11, 2016

well, for a 4 star accomodation the furniture was too old, bathrooms were very small and old. We had to leave early in the morning (about 6:30) 1 hour before regular breakfast time and we even didn't get some Toasts or any warm coffee or tea in the morning. only some Muffins and packaged apple Juice ... lol ... not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jens290972
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Jens for your comments. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay or find anything to your satisfaction. We have a very strict Star grading in SA and I assure you I am 4 star. All the rooms are totally refurbished every 2 to 3 years and painted annually. When we bought the Lodge, it was...

Wijchen, The Netherlands
Reviewed August 21, 2016

Nice place to stay with very helpful and friendly people. Centrally and conveniently located in a quiet area. The rooms are clean and spacious. we had a kitchenette in it. The breakfast is good and they prepare what you want.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Germa v
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Thanks for your kind words. We at Zeranka, try very hard to offer as much help, assistance and information as possible, to make you stay as relaxing and pleasant as possible. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Travel safely Regards Marcelle

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Good B&B with all the necessities and friendly staff. Quite slow (but free) wireless internet that only worked well in a limited area. Close to the beach, although this is not the nicest part of the beach and you have to go a few km away to be able to go swimming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roberthI7584XL
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. Unfortunately you arrived soon after the dreadful floods that Durban experienced. Part of the Lodge was flooded as were many other areas of Durban This badly affected our wifi in all the rooms, we could only pick it up in the front seating area. This is now almost back to 100% As too our...

Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewed August 4, 2016

Good and Nice b&b. Unfortunally we came a day after a big storm so the beach was gone. Nice location and room is prefect size. Aldo near to airport it was quit and confortable.free wifi. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbraitman
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes the beaches are an absolute disaster and will take months or years to get back to the beautiful beaches that we had before that terrible storm. Most of the plastic and rubbish has been cleared, but so much sand washed away. Very sad. I am glad you enjoyed you stay, even if so short. Travel...

Delft
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

The staff is so friendly and helpful! We had an excellent stay and for any future visitor we truly recommend to stay more than just one night. The lodge gives the holiday feeling and is a great accommodation. It has a pretty large pool and many nice resting areas such as comfy lounge couches. It is very close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Groen G
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. We really try hard to be as helpful as we can to make our guests stay at Zeranka as pleasant as possible. We are very blessed to have the the beach as close as it is, even though its a non swimming beach, sometimes I am thankful for this, as it is so peaceful with...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.8 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,517 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
3.0 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Zeranka Lodge is the winner of the B&B sure/Kwababa Award and we are 4 star registered. It is a family run Lodge. We have a beautiful garden with pool and BBQ facilities. We are only 30 metres from the tranquil lower La Lucia beaches which can be accessed via a gate within Zeranka grounds, and approx 4km from Gateway (one of the largest shopping malls in the world) offering a multitude of shops, entertainment, and eating experiences. You will have one secure parking bay on the premises per room/unit and all rooms are air-conditioned. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zeranka Lodge

Address: 12 Cowrie Terrace | La Lucia, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Class:4 star — Zeranka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zeranka Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“choose another accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles jens290972, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the swimming pool are the nicest.”
 of 5 bubbles 839germav, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“You won't be disappointed once chosen one of these rooms”
 of 5 bubbles leointgroen, Jun 23, 2016 | Read review
“Choose the left room when you enter the lodge garden. But in the morning you can hear people talking from the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles MjWebb1989, Jan 6, 2016 | Read review
“relaxing rooms pool side”
 of 5 bubbles Q1544SYmichaels, Jan 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question