We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Splendid Inn Bayshore

Priceline$32*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$40*
$32*
$39*
$40*
$32*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Splendid Inn Bayshore
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of Splendid Inn Bayshore
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in for a one-day conference and a two-night stay. The weather was horrible, and with all my equipment I didn't even need to ask Percy at reception for assistance. During the conference, Natasha was very helpful with coordinating the break times and guest access to their facilities. The food was amazing! The internet was slow though and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mthoko M
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Splendid Inn Bayshore, responded to this review

Good day Mthoko M, Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words about our Team. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to both Percy and Natasha. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The price per night is not bad at all however the breakfast at R155.00 per person is in my opinion a bit overpriced. The restaurant staff is friendly although not the most helpful. 4 staff members/waiters standing around but everything is self service and you have to stand up and go pour your own coffee etc. The overall quality of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 443leandriv
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Splendid Inn Bayshore, responded to this review

Good day 443leandriv, Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. I must apologize for the service levels that you experienced during your last stay with us, this is certainly not the standards that we are justifiably proud of. I assure you that I will speak with the relevant department and rectify the shortfalls as stipulated. Regarding the...

South Africa
Reviewed March 19, 2017

I arrived late the evening at the hotel during a heavy downpour of rain. First, when looking for the hotel, could not find the place but followed the GPS instructions. I went in at the destination to be told the name of the hotel has changed (sic). After checking in, I was pointed in the direction of my room. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hummingbird663
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Splendid Inn Bayshore, responded to this review

Good day Hummingbird663, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and providing feedback on your stay. Firstly I must apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us, I assure you that this is not the service levels that we are justifiably proud of. Please could you provide me with your full name...

Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed October 25, 2016

wonderful staff , the breakfast was also enjoyable but an upgrade of the noisy air conditioners in the room and the carpet smells moldy in the rooms and hallway .all in all its a really cool place even though it is a tad bit far from the beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zolilemthimkhulu
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Splendid Inn Bayshore, responded to this review

Good day Zolilemthimkhulu, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and providing us with feedback on your stay. It is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for bringing to my attention the carpet smell as well as the air-conditioning unit. I will...

Mthatha, South Africa
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Service at reception was excellent all staff very friendly, hall way carpets stained and room smelt very mouldy, bed was clean and comfortable. VERY noisy with guys sitting on steps late into evening, I had to ask them to tone down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shanebrauns
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Splendid Inn Bayshore, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest - Shanebrauns, I am writing further to the receipt of your review. At the outset I must apologize for the breakdown in service levels experienced and assure you this is not the standard we are justifiably proud of. I thank you for bringing to my attention the various points. These have all been noted and I have...

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

Over priced for what it is. Sofa beds are very uncomfortable. Breakfasts are nice, but again over priced. Restaurant staff are really nice. Reception staff aren't very helpful. I was supposed to have a refund from this hotel and I still haven't received it! Not a great location either, quite far from nice beaches. Swimming pool is also very small....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Splendid Inn Bayshore, responded to this review

Good day Emma, I hope that you are well. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your stay, it is greatly appreciated. I must appologise for the inconvienced caused during your stay with us. I have spoken with the front office team regarding your refund. We have tried to contact you with...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

This is the noisiest place I have ever stayed. I agree with a previous review that the two story building is like a student res. Walls are very thin and you hear lots of unpleasant noises, talking, shouting at all times of the night. Also air-conditioning sounds like very large noisy generators and that was not mine. Will not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeaKid01
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Splendid Inn Bayshore, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest - Leakid01, I am writing further to the receipt of your review. At the outset I must apologize for the breakdown in service levels experienced and assure you this is not the standard we are justifiably proud of. I thank you for bringing to my attention the various points. These have all been noted and I have...

Reviewed July 10, 2016

I can recommend this as an excellent service rendered and staff with sense of humour , rooms were clean and tea set in room were superb, I will definitely be staying again KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK !!!!!!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MOIBY G
Paige C, General Manager at Splendid Inn Bayshore, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest - Moiby G, Thank you very much for your positive review and your wonderful words. I will ensure to advise my staff during our next meeting on their great achievement. Until your next visit to Richards bay, keep well and see you soon. Kind Regards Paige Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed June 14, 2016

The hotel we were booked at was too full to take the extra delegates we received at last minute so they splendid inn bay shore took us in.The staff is so friendly and the environment just wonderful.Best conference venue i have been too so far.The food,cleanliness and passion that comes with their service is just excellent.We have made them our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Splendid Inn Bayshore, responded to this review

Dear Susan S, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We would like to thank you for your very kind words, it is truly appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We are happy to have been able to accommodate yourself and your delegate for your stay in Richards Bay. Once...

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed May 18, 2016

A clean modern place with friendly staff going out of their way to help where possible. My brother had to rush off to the airport, reception printed his boarding pass. Showers were impressive, much needed after a muddy parkrun. Slept well, what more can I say. Yes a bar fridge would have been great but sadly missing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Splendid Inn Bayshore, responded to this review

Dear Colin D, Thank you very much for your positive review and your kind words. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will ensure to advise my staff during our next meeting on their achievement. With your next stay we would be happy to accommodate you in one of our executive rooms which...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richards Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 8 in Richards Bay
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#1 of 8 in Richards Bay
154 reviews
3.3 mi away
Seagull Lodge
Seagull Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richards Bay
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
#6 of 8 in Richards Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Splendid Inn Bayshore is located adjacent to Premier Hotel The Richards and offers luxury three star accommodation in the heart of Richards Bay. Just 90 minutes out from Durban, Richards Bay is perfect for breaks where you want to get out of the city, but still enjoy easy access to the CBD when needed. Attractions in the area include a number of popular nature reserves as well as the Richards Bay Game Sanctuary and Empangeni Museum. In terms of facilities, Splendid Inn Bayshore presents an offer of simple, affordable and quality accomodation. Choose from 102 rooms, including Standard, Superior and Family Rooms, all of which are furnished for supreme comfort. Conference facilities are world-class, with two venues that can seat up to 70 delegates each. Experience the warm and welcoming hospitality that has seen the Splendid Inn Bayshore gain a reputation as one of the top hotels in Richards Bay. Call our reservations line now and speak to a friendly consultant, or alternatively secure your booking online. LOCATION Situated in the upmarket suburb of Meerensee, just 90 minutes North of Durban. Splendid Inn Bayshore is 10 minutes away from the Boardwalk Inkwazi, the biggest shopping mall in the area, and 5 minutes away from Alkastrand - the most popular beach in the area. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Besides rapid industrial expansion, the tourism industry of this region is flourishing. The commercial and industrial development of Richards Bay has been a bonus for the sophisticated tourist and holiday maker. Its bustling business centre has every modern facility and the town boasts excellent recreational facilities for residents and visitors alike. Richard's Bay boasts the country's largest harbour and some of its most magnificent wetland scenery. "Industrial Tourism" is actively promoted and groups are able to visit industrial plants, mines and other operations. Richard's Bay also offers the visitor entrance to Zululand - this once forgotten corner of the African continent is a land of exquisite beauty characterised by incredible diversity. The coastline stretches some three hundred and fifty kilometres from the mouth of the mighty Tugela River in the south to the Mozambique border in the north. The coastal plains include endless unspoilt beaches and coastal conservation areas and incorporate the largest estuarine system in Southern Africa. Shopping, beaches and natural wonders are everywhere and those in search of true African beauty will not leave wanting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Splendid Inn Bayshore

Address: 4 The Gully Street, Richards Bay 3901, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Richards Bay
Price Range: $35 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Inn Bayshore 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Splendid Inn Bayshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Splendid Inn Bayshore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Take your own hairdryer with a flat 2-point plug”
Hummingbird663, Mar 19, 2017 | Read review
“ask for the WI-FI rooms”
zolilemthimkhulu, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“Rondavel rooms are beautiful .”
, Jun 14, 2016 | Read review
“WI-FI available in the bar and reception area.”
colind649, May 18, 2016 | Read review
“1) Maintenance must be done regularly.The key card device to my room did not work...twice. Also, the bedside light bulb fused when I switched the light on. 2) Towels were a problem. Each room only had 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel. However, there were two adults in one of the rooms we booked and the towels enough. ”
565ushap, May 3, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Priceline
$32* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$39
TripAdvisor$32
Booking.com$40
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates