We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg

Save
Share
Cnr. Hesketh Drive and New England Rd Hayfields, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$55
$47
View deal
SAVE $8
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Trip.com$55
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
traveler_photos_ffffe986 (10)
room_amp_suite (3)
phototagging_dining (2)

About

#6 of 11 hotels in Pietermaritzburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Pietermaritzburg? Then look no further than Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of Pietermaritzburg to your doorstep.

Guest rooms offer air conditioning, and Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Close to some of Pietermaritzburg's most popular landmarks, such as Tala Private Game Reserve (2.6 mi) and Pietermaritzburg Worlds View (2.9 mi), Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg is a great destination for tourists.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out John Dory's Golden Horse Casino, which is a sushi restaurant that is popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for something to do, Natal Museum and Macrorie House Museum are a nice way to spend some time.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg as you experience everything Pietermaritzburg has to offer.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
hotel_amenity_free_parking
amenity_free_internet_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_internet
hotel_amenity_outdoor_pool
amenity_children_activities_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_airport_transportation
Room features
hotel_amenity_air_conditioning
hotel_amenity_flatscreen_tv
Room types
tags_category_tag_non_smoking_rooms_1
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
hotel_style_tag_11266
39Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 12
  • 11
  • 7
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sunshine54341324871 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Best Road lodge ever,clean,friendly staff and good breakfast.Clean rooms and bedding and plenty toiletries.The staff also very helpful and friendly.I enjoyed my stay whilst I was there.Plenty of wifi too my children were so excited.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Marketing at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Responded 5 weeks ago
We are so pleased to read such a review! Thank you for staying with us and commending our staff for their great efforts to give you a comfortable stay, meeting all your requirements and needs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Johann K wrote a review Oct 2020
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa3 contributions
I'm usually a guesthouse person, but now I think City lodges like this offer a better deal than most guest houses. The place is spotless clean, the staff are friendly and they have a range of services that you typically wouldn't find at a guest house.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Marketing at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Responded Oct 4, 2020
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Eckart Z wrote a review Aug 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
Nothing is explained or communicated No service provided at all for anything, not even coffee There is a kettle in the room but nothing else, so its useless there is not even a cup in the bathroom for toothbrush etc. Staff and Management have no clue how basic services such as tea and coffee or breakfast can be provided even during Covid 19
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHG Marketing, Marketing at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Responded Sep 24, 2020
Thank you for choosing Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg and for sharing feedback on your experience. We are so sorry that you found your stay disappointing. City Lodge Hotel Group has strict Covid-19 prevention protocols in place to ensure that guests and staff stay safe. In addition, we have launched a contactless online check-in system and are working out the teething problems. However, this is no excuse for failing to deliver our usual high standard of service excellence. Our hotel general manager has looked into all of the challenges you listed. Your room was booked through a third party and they declined the packed breakfast and reserved your stay for room only. However, staff should have checked with this with you on arrival, you should also have been offered a refreshment box at upon arrival, to make tea and coffee in your room, and we are truly sorry for this oversight. Our reception team is being retrained to ensure that you benefit from all of the time-saving and safety features of the online check-in, but that your needs are also fully met and you receive our traditional warm welcome. The housekeeping team has been made aware of the lack of a cup and glass in your room, and again, we apologise for this oversight. We have taken the necessary steps to ensure they won’t happen again. We hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves and show you our very best hospitality.
Read more
Nkosie wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Everything was in order. Except that the Network for Vodacom in my Corner Room 4 was bad, but that is not RL problem i guess. i really enjoyed my short stay here. Should i decide to take a short left to PMB and surroundings I would definitely re-visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
ur_question.prompt.11
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Upstairs with a Good View to the N3 Freeway.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Quintin Fitzpatrick wrote a review Mar 2020
Vereeniging, South Africa21 contributions
Very noisy you can hear everything but one good thing I suppose is that the reception let us know and apologized for it before, never the less we had a large group check in with us lots of children but no discipline ran up and down knocking on room doors and running away at 5 am in the morning this was bad. Then they offer free Wi-Fi that does not work on the most simple of WhatsApp message reception well say no more. You get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Responded Apr 30, 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing feedback on your experience. We are so sorry that we did not meet your requirements. Our hotel general manager has looked into the matter confirms that there was a large group checked into the hotel during your stay. We do try to limit the noise and disruption large groups can cause to other guests, but on this occasion we were clearly not successful. Hotel management has investigated the WiFi service and confirms that this is now working optimally. We do apologise for the inconvenience, as we strive to ensure our guests are as comfortable as possible. We hope that you consider booking with us in the future and allow us to redeem ourselves.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$40 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalPietermaritzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing