We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duvet and Crumpets

Save
Share
1 Freelands Place, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
$43
View deal
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams$43
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (12)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)

About

#20 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Pietermaritzburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We offer upmarket accommodation for business executives, families, sporting teams and tourists at affordable prices. We have various accommodation options, both B&B and self-catering, for individuals as well as large groups. The rooms are beautifully furnished and each room has its own TV with satellite package. We are very conveniently situated in the northern suburbs and are close to all the amenities of Pietermaritzburg.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool
BBQ facilities
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Paid internet
Outdoor pool
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
45Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 22
  • 9
  • 4
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Simi wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution
We spent two nights at Duvet and Crumpets. We were very disappointed. We were told that we would had to pay R70 per day if we wanted to use the airconditoner. We've stayed at several other well established places and were never expected to pay anything additional to use the airconditoner. The place was under equipped and not very clean. It  had a small hot plate and the   utensils were dirty. The cupboards had a terrible stench as a result all their crockery had the same smell. Management was also very unwelcoming. The checkout time is 10h00 at 9:55 we were informed by management that we had 5 minutes to check out. They never bothered to even ask us if we enjoyed our stay and if everything was okay. They need to seriously look at their customer service. We stayed at the Duvet and Crumpets previously but never had such an awful experience. Unfortunately this was our last stay. We will not be staying there ever again. They are forgetting that being in the hospitality industry it's all about making your guests feel comfortable and welcoming so that they come back and also recommend it friends and family. I was expecting to have an awesome weekend with my fiance but they ruined the weekend. We spent two nights at Duvet and Crumpets. We were very disappointed. We were told that we would had to pay R70 per day if we wanted to use the airconditoner. We've stayed at several other well established places and were never expected to pay anything additional to use the airconditoner. The place was under equipped and not very clean. It  had a small hot plate and the   utensils were dirty. The cupboards had a terrible stench as a result all their crockery had the same smell. Management was also very unwelcoming. The checkout time is 10h00 at 9:55 we were informed by management that we had 5 minutes to check out. They never bothered to even ask us if we enjoyed our stay and if everything was okay. They need to seriously look at their customer service. We stayed at the Duvet and Crumpets previously but never had such an awful experience. Unfortunately this was our last stay. We will not be staying there ever again. They are forgetting that being in the hospitality industry it's all about making your guests feel comfortable and welcoming so that they come back and also recommend it friends and family. I was expecting to have an awesome weekend with my fiance but they ruined the weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Duvet_and_Crumpets, Owner at Duvet and Crumpets
Responded Feb 5, 2019
thank you for your review. We take all reviews very seriously as this is the way we get better and better. We have not increased our rates for 2 years now and instead decided to just charge extra for the air conditioning as all the rooms have fans so this enables more people to afford staying with us. Our rates are very reasonable so charging only R75 for air con is not a huge expense but it becomes the choice for the guests to make. You have stayed with us before so know exactly what the units have in them as all our rooms are equipped exactly the same so I am not sure why now you find them under equipped. All the units have a built in kitchen with a double plate cooker with pots ,an electric frying pan, fridge/freezer, microwave and for most people away for a week end this is more than adequate. our staff go off by 12 over the week end so we have become fairly strict about guests checking out at 10am sharp as many only start packing at 10 and leave much later than 10am which means our staff then have to work much later and get no family time themselves as guests are inconsiderate about checking out timeously. our staff normally remind all our guests by 9.55 that checkout time is 10am.
Read more
Helen wrote a review Jan 2019
2 contributions
The welcome that we received from Kevin was phenomenal. He made sure our stay was comfortable as possible. The middle cottage that we stayed in was truly a home away from home and we would return and stay there anyday again. Very quiet place with lovely views and great weather too. Made great memories there and my family is soo grateful!!! Desray offered us a discount too over a peak period, lovely soul she is!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
bonolom110 wrote a review Oct 2018
Gaborone, Botswana38 contributions5 helpful votes
We checked in on Friday night. Upon getting back to the lodge there was a car and trailor parked way too close to our car. We called the manager of the place a man called Nick to complain about this and he was rude to us, instead of giving us the comfort that nothing would happen to our car he argued with us. He then told us that he keeps the air-conditioner remotes and charges an extra R70 per night for usage something that is not stated on their website. The bedding was dirty, creased and barely looked like the beds had been made that morning. The double bed mattress was sunken and when we let Nick know of our complaints he didn't assume any responsibility instead kept making excuses. They changed our mattress and bedding on our second day there. The hosts of this place do not to respect guest privacy, we stepped out to go get food after our room had been cleaned and found that someone had gone into it to switch our TV off. On our departure day, his wife also equally rude and impolite came to bang on our door at 09:50 to let us know that check out is at 10:00, a courtesy guests must be made aware of when they arrive at a place. It's their lack of mannerisms that upset me and how they practically were hurrying us out as though we had not paid for our accomodation in full upon arrival. I will never stay there and do not recommend it to any traveller whose looking to get value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Duvet_and_Crumpets, Owner at Duvet and Crumpets
Responded Oct 30, 2018
thank you for your review\ you did this booking thru booking.com and booked a family room at a special rate of only R650/night for 3 people in a unit which comprised a large bedroom with a double bed and single bed, kitchen and bathroom So I am not sure why you feel that this was not great value. You have condemned the whole establishment whereas I feel you were more unhappy about the managers than about the establishment as you even advised friends of yours who were booked in somewhere else and not happy with their accommodation to book with us! I can only apologise if you felt the manager was "rude" to you about the car incident and I will definitely take this up with them We definitely have a sign in all our rooms which does state that check out time is strictly 10am as our staff go off at 12 on a Sunday as we like them to also have family time on a Sunday - they have advised me that you only checked out at 10.50 which means you put pressure on our staff to then get the room ready for the next guests. With regard to the air conditioning being charged - this is on the booking.com site which you booked thru where it clearly states in the conditions that if Air con is required we charge separately for this - and the reason we do this is to keep the basic price down so more guests can afford to stay with us and those that want air con then just pay the extra R75/day All our staff have been requested when cleaning the units and the guests have gone off to please switch off any air cons, fans and Tv that have been left on. This is all in keeping with trying to save on the power as we feel if everyone adds to this power saving drive there is less chance of us having power cuts - which we or out guests do NOT want to go thru again All our room do however have fans.
Read more
Muaawiyah K wrote a review Sep 2018
16 contributions1 helpful vote
Thank you for the wonderful Accommodation .. Beautiful Stay Will go again if opportunity arrives Calm and Quiet  Spacious bathroom  Nice Pool and braai deck Very good budget Amenities were perfect Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Duvet_and_Crumpets, Owner at Duvet and Crumpets
Responded Oct 1, 2018
thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure having you stay and we certainly do hope you will come again
Read more
Lyndan S wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My first sports tour as a manager was made significantly easier with the amazing service at the Duvet and Crumpets guest house. Traveling near to 600km, I was in no mood to struggle with the qualms one usually finds with accommodations, but I was met with none of them. Upon arriving we were received immediately, all rooms were in great condition - neat, clean and all the amenities were in place. Catering to 17 students with 4 support staff is no easy ask, yet Duvet and Crumpets' staff made it seem as though it were mere routine. Meals were always served promptly and made to an extremely high standard. This was followed by a quick and professional team of cleaners who ensured our stay was comfortable and without problems. The facilities of the accommodation were ideal for our needs, with a make-shift conference room in the TV room, Swimming pool, Braai facility and every room boasting with a TV and DSTV connection we were amazed at the value for money we received. Neil and his staff deserve the full compliment of praise for their exceptional service. Able to cater to individuals and large groups alike, I strongly recommend the Duvet and Crumpets for anybody looking for a quiet retreat in Pietermaritzburg.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Room 5 has a historic story to it - measurements of the previous family are still on the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Duvet_and_Crumpets, Owner at Duvet and Crumpets
Responded Aug 19, 2018
thank you for your review. Your group were exceptional showing respect to our staff at all times You and your managers can be highly complimented on the way you managed the team as we have had many sporting teams stay with us and the overall behaviour of the team is determined by the managers. We wish all teams who stayed with could be just like you guys. We look forward to hosting any North West Team in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$21 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalPietermaritzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Duvet and Crumpets
Which popular attractions are close to Duvet and Crumpets?
Nearby attractions include Wylie Park (0.4 miles) and Macrorie House Museum (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Duvet and Crumpets?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Duvet and Crumpets?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Duvet and Crumpets?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Duvet and Crumpets?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Duvet and Crumpets?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quincy's cafe, Old School Rebel, and Kara Nichha's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Duvet and Crumpets?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Duvet and Crumpets?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.