We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ascot Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ascot Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Lady Frere, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was there with my husband and we had a great time.The staff is very friendly,the rooms are very clean and the place is easy to find.I will definitely recommend this place to my friends.Affordable place indeed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BongekaMataka
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Accommodation in Pmb is limited and when the team was looking for a place to stay I recalled some good evenings at the Ascot Inn on my last project in the area around 2000. Well not much has changed apart from me getting older and most likely an appreciation for the finer things in life. The Ascot Inn is fairly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whctree
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm home away from home again. Best accommodation, best food, best atmosphere and best bar in PMB. I work from guesthouse to guesthouse and this is the best by far. Can recommend it to everyone. Thanks Mary-Ann!

Helpful?
Thank Frikkie v
King William's Town, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is welcoming and beautiful, perfect for a group of people. Definitely I will recommend it to friends, family and at church. I love it for it can accommodate a large group. Staff was friendly

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nomfunekon
Botswana, Maun
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked during winter & it 4 degrees that night but the room was very warm & blankets were enough, reception staff were friendly. Couldn't find a thing to complain about . The secure parking made us so comfortable, our stay was too short: we'll definitely come back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank freedomn730
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place with amazing food. Very friendly staff who look like they actually enjoy working there which makes a big difference. Will definitely stay there again the next time I'm in pietermaritzburg.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rowanp336
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a weekend stayed at the ascot inn. For that price I paid I expected a lot more. Plug point were not working in the room, toilet system was faulty. No a place I will stay again. My cons were the noise from the swimming pool area carried on until 1am in the morning. The ironing facilities are in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shiloh N
Mary-Ann N, Owner at Ascot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do have staff on duty 24 hours of the day to attend to any problems which may occur. Our laundry, which is open from 7.30am until 3.30 pm offers an ironing facility , should our guests not wish to use the designated ironing area. Our security staff will be instructed that the swimming pool... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Ascot Inn in Pietermaritzburg, and I have to say it is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed in. This is not only due to the beautiful indigenous surroundings with wonderfully maintained gardens full of interesting plants, but also due to the exceptional service one receives from all the amazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz E
Mary-Ann N, Owner at Ascot Inn, responded to this review

This is a heartwarming review , thank you Liz. It is wonderful to know the entire Ascot Inn team are living up to our motto "thoroughbred service and hospitality". We wish you well on your travels and hope to see you on your next visit to South Africa. More 

Sabie
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Ascot Inn is very much a 2 star (by international standards) establishment and offers accommodation in line with this. If you are a 4 star (an up) person, best to avoid. Accommodation is comfortable but basic, breakfast was good and reception is very good. The room is not good for business travelers since there is not a suitable desk... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerrit M
Mary-Ann N, Owner at Ascot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do have "budget", rooms at budget prices and I can only assume you were in one of our smallest units. We do have free wifi in every room. We are aware that the speed is too slow and are working on upgrading this service. Without feedback we are not... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

A big thank you to all the staff at Ascot Inn. We had an absolutely fabulous time staying at the Inn recently. The welcoming reception from Mary Ann and her staff made our family reunion extra special. The food was amazing. The security was top notch and the free Wi-Fi access was a real bonus!!

Helpful?
Thank LilacMax
Mary-Ann N, Owner at Ascot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this positive review. It is heart warming to know you had a good stay at Ascot Inn. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
#4 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
7.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Hilton
Protea Hotel Hilton
#1 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ascot Bush Lodge
Ascot Bush Lodge
#3 of 24 in Pietermaritzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#1 of 59 in Pietermaritzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
4.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 59 in Pietermaritzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ascot Inn is your perfect home-from-home whilst visiting Pietermaritzburg. You'll receive a warm welcome backed by friendly and efficient service and comfortable accommodation. Ascot Inn's charming rooms are converted racehorse stables, which,in their day stabled legendary racehorses competing at the neighbouring Scottsville Race Course. These units boast upmarket facilities-all en-suite, hot & cold airconditioning, secure parking as well as 14 DSTV Channels.All units are nestled in landscaped gardens, which have "nooks and crannies" to explore. Relax and unwind in the "Gallop Inn Pub and Grill" where breakfast and dinner is served daily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ascot Inn

Address: 210 Woodhouse Road, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Price Range: $33 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ascot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Pietermaritzburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay