We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 107: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Have been to Redlands hotel a few times as I travel to Pietermaritzburg a lot. Generally eat there even if I am not staying there. I have been there recently and the one night the food was good as always (had the curry) but the second night the food was not up to standard. Had a rump and asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacques C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this place overnight. It is located within an exquisitely quite and clean neighbourhood yet close to town. Of course it Is a bit pricy but I got it a promotional price which till today I still think someone made a mistake. But great place. Huge rooms and if you need a place to retreat for writing a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Entire experience was just fantastic all round, food was well cooked, well presented, the lamb shank was divinely cooked, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms clean, neat and tidy, just everything was awesome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 84gailp
Underberg, South Africa
Reviewed December 10, 2016

Accessibility, reception, ambience, service, choice of public yet private lounges, all tastefully decorated. Ability to relax in quiet surroundings. Attention to individual guest needs was a bonus for me. Housekeeping: Sadly need to mention daily shower floor/drain scrubbing and handbasin plug/drain clearing of previous guests residues, should be prioritized for detailed attention please. So, all in all...thank you so much...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 670marianner
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 2, 2016

Extremely helpful staff. Breakfast was rather chaotic on our second morning. Very comfortable stay overall and would definitely use again. Situated in nice part of city and close to motorway. Chris. Bedford U.K.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissY4982AN
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed December 1, 2016

We have stayed at the Redlands Hotel on numerous occasions when travelling to PMB on business. We have always had excellent service and meals. We also use the Redlands Hotel for meeting clients when we are just visiting for the day and the staff always ensure we are well looked after.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanSueb
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Reviewed November 10, 2016

Good location No drinking water in the room No Min Bar No Coffee House keeping Staff keep harassing me to clean room even after i had the please don not disturb sign up Good Landry service Food was Okay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D8417RHnicolasr
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nick. Thanks for taking the time to review Redlands Hotel. We are very fortunate in that the tap water in South Africa in general and Pietermaritzburg in particular, is of excellent quality and so we do not need to supply bottled water. These are however available on request. Similarly we do not have mini bars in most of our...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed November 9, 2016

I was not impressed with the facilities in the room. No porter or staff member to help with luggage in an end room. No hair dryer, no plug to charge phone, no TV channel guide, TV remote broken. No breakfast included with an expensive rate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M9298WZamandaw
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. In order for me to follow up correctly. please can you e-mail me on gm@redlandshotel.co.za. Unfortunately due to privacy issues, I am unable to determine which room you were in or when you travelled. We do not have a porter however guests should be asked on check in and departure if they require help with...

Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Its difficult to say why I didn't love this place as nothing was wrong. The staff was friendly and the room was spacious and overlooked a beautiful pool. I found the furniture a bit drab and electrical outlets were limited. My three main tests of any hotel (food, bed & shower) all passed with flying colours. The dinner and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ronald. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that we did not hit the spot in giving you a great stay. If you have any insight into what we could be doing better, please do not hesitate in contacting me directly at gm@redlandshotel.co.za. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed November 3, 2016

We stayed three nights at Redlands and found the staff friendly and helpful, the suite (#12) extremely comfortable, and the surroundings very relaxing, with pleasant outdoor space for meetings with friends. We will definitely return to Redlands the next time we are visiting Pietermaritzburg.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D223LRjeanh
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jean. It was great having you back. Thanks so much for your feedback. Really good to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
4.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#2 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
65 reviews
4.0 mi away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg
Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
115 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
76 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#2 of 62 in Pietermaritzburg
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Redlands Hotel and Lodge caters for the discerning corporate traveller, parents visiting school children in the area, tourists wishing to explore the Midlands, intimate weddings and functions. Our restaurant and Club Room are open daily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Address: 1 George Mac Farlane Lane | Wembley, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Price Range: $62 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Redlands Hotel and Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Redlands Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Redlands Hotel and Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 4 overlooks the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles johnmZ4333OT, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a garden view”
 of 5 bubbles 898JohnR, May 12, 2016 | Read review
“Arrive early to enjoy their dinner...”
 of 5 bubbles thulim2014, Apr 21, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south wing - you can ask for rooms on the right of the corridor - the staff and hotel management are very accommodating!”
 of 5 bubbles lulamam, Dec 10, 2015 | Read review
“I would prefer the garden rooms where you can walk straight onto the terrace and pool”
 of 5 bubbles RunarF, Oct 30, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay