We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ghost Mountain Inn

#1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Certificate of Excellence
Fish Eagle Road, Mkuze 3965, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ghost Mountain Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Met by the manager as we alighted from the mini bus. Our room was very good, with outside table, chairs, able to sit and look at the mountain. The restaurant , bar and lounge all open to the garden and flowers. Staff very smiley and friendly, eager to help or answer a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sonia M
Rath68, General Manager at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sonia M, May we take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Ghost Mountain Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed your Zululand experience and appreciate your comments. Thank you, also, for being our guests, It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ghost Mountain... More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very warm welcome from owner and manager. Rooms very comfortable with unusual glass surrounds round bathroom area. Unfortunately our room had lots of insect life. Found out other rooms had complimentary mosquito machines and tablets which we managed to get for our second night. Unfortunately we had been bitten quite badly as they appear to have got trapped inside... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yhgittens
Rath68, General Manager at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Yhgittens, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Ghost Mountain Inn. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we appreciate your comments. We are very sorry that your room did not have the mosquito machine on your first night and for the discomfort this caused. Please accept our sincere apologies for... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The grounds are restful and cool. Wonderfully friendly staff who want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Enjoy drinks at the well stocked bar or sundowners around the pool. The rooms are large as is the bathroom. Unfortunately the bathroom needs a good scrubbing, showers especially need a thorough cleaning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Veschini M
Rath68, General Manager at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Veschini M, May we take this opportunity to thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to review your recent experience at Ghost Mountain Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We are very sorry that your bathroom did not meet our usual high standard of cleanliness. This matter has been... More 

Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and appreciated the combination of a good hotel with a nice pool and the possibilities for wildlife watching. The proposed trips on the lake as well as the gamedrive in Mkuze national park was very impressive. The guide Isaac did a wonderful job explaining all the various views. People at the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kees v
Rath68, General Manager at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kees V, May we take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Ghost Mountain Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our Safari activities to be impressive and varied. Thank you for being our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ghost Mountain Inn... More 

Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are many hotels with great locations, comfortable rooms, good food and a lovely pool. Ghost Mountain Inn has all of these things, but what makes it stand out are all the wonderful, friendly, helpful and welcoming members of staff. From the security guard on the gate and the ladies on reception to Jean the Safaris Manager and all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malachysmummy
Rath68, General Manager at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Malachysmummy, May we take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Ghost Mountain Inn. We are delighted that you and your family were our guests, especially over the New Year period, and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming... More 

Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here 47 years ago on our honeymoon and always had a desire to return.The GM was hands on 24/7 ( Ray ) and his staff were always willing and helpful. Our room was very comfortable , excellent cuisine . Spa , gym and swimming pool were a treat. The highlight was a wonderful old years dinner dance, under... More 

Helpful?
Thank 831edwardi
Rath68, General Manager at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear 831edwardi, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Ghost Mountain Inn. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to return after spending your honeymoon with us 47 years ago. Thank you for being our guests and for celebrating the New Year with us. On behalf of the entire Ghost Mountain Inn team we... More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We have stayed here twice before and always looked forward to a return visit. We have not been disappointed! The service is excellent, rooms well equipped and comfortable, food very, very good! The bar is well stocked and well staffed. The pool is inviting and the grounds are pleasant. Tobi at the spa gives an excellent Hot Stone massage. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne L
Rath68, General Manager at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Anne L, May we take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ghost Mountain Inn. It was a pleasure welcoming you back and we are delighted that you were able to bring in the New Year with us. Thank you for being our guests - as a hotelier it is always... More 

Juba, South Sudan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

On arrival at Ghost Mountain Inn, we were greeted by the friendly security man. We already felt very welcome. We can only compliment the staff at the Inn including Rath, the GM. for their friendly attitude towards the guests. we had tasteful dinner, buffet, and a great selection at breakfast. Comfortable room with working and quiet AC. It was well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Germain L
Rath68, General Manager at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Germain L, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ghost Mountain Inn. We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your Zululand experience. Thank you for being our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ghost Mountain Inn in the near future. May we take this opportunity to wish... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

An almost retro-experience with 1960s look and feel. Nothing wrong with that. But a thin veil of 'welcoming hospitality' conceals an overly pushy approach whether trying to sell drinks or game drives. I once counted 8 people ask me if I was well in under 10 minutes (one of them asked 3 times). As if they cared! Of course, like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Rath68, General Manager at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Ghost Mountain Inn. We do appreciate your comments and have noted your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. May we take this opportunity to wish you... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

This hotel has the most amazing staff so friendly helpful and obliging. I have to single out the manager Rafe. Before we got to the hotel our rep advised my husband had knee problems .... He couldn't have been more helpful offering ice, advice and lifts to hospital if required. I myself was unfortunately taken ill during a safari nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank Watfordonians
Rath68, General Manager at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Watfordonians, May we take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Ghost Mountain Inn. We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for being our guests - it was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ghost Mountain Inn in the not too... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

170 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkuze
15.6 mi away
Thanda Private Game Reserve
24.3 mi away
Leopard Mountain Game Lodge
0.0 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 10 in Hluhluwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 30 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
24.4 mi away
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
#1 of 6 in Phinda Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
2.1 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay