We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Albatros Guest House

Booking.com$53*
View Deal
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Albatros Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Bessie and André are the best. They helped us with a last minute booking- while I was torn between staying in their beautiful guest lodge, we chose to stay in their self catering accommodation near the beachfront and that turned out to be a great decision. We had a wonderful time. Everything we needed was there and in place. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VLD_SafariGirl
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear SafariGirl, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us. So sorry about the rude man who could not understand reason (most probably because of alcohol consumption). We will surely take it up with the Body Corporate of the complex. May you have plenty great safaris ahead!...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed December 13, 2016

Our trip was a short one, but we had great service, and great stay, its a lovely place with wonderful sea views and the hostess and host are lovely people who accomodated all our needs. We will visit this place again, well recommended,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thabisav2
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Thabisa, thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We glad you enjoyed our views and hospitality and do look forward to welcoming you back . Kind regards Andre, Bessie and Team

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed November 29, 2016

My husband, sisters and I were kindly requested to move to an apartment in the Lagoon since we were double-booked with another couple. This was the best early Christmas that anyone could ever receive. We had the time of our lives, the only thing that was missing in the apartment was us. The short walk to the beach was AMAZING....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nombuso K
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Nombuso, thank you for staying in our Self catering unit and taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay and breakfast you had at the Guest House. The unit location is ideal for walking to the beach and restaurants. We do look forward welcoming you back. Best wishes, Andre, Bessie and Team

Reviewed November 20, 2016

The Albatros is a gem in the heart of Margate, with a warm and professional welcome the Albatros blew us away with its beauty and peaceful setting. Our room was big and comfortably spasious with plenty of cupboards and cleaned and restocked after returning from a day out. The buffet style breakfast is enough for even the biggest appetite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anton P
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Anton, Thank you very much for providing us with such valuable feedback. we are glad to know you had such a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed our buffet style breakfast. Please remember you are always welcome here and we do look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Andre , Bessie and Team

Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

We had tickets for the zipline at Oribi gorge and looked for a place where we can stay close by on the coast. So glad we found Albatros Guest House! It was lovely! We had a wonderful stay! Our room had a nice big veranda with a view and the service and breakfast was excellent. The hosts treated us like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ninnette D
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ninnette, We are very happy that you had a enjoyable stay with us and also our breakfast and view from your unit. We are always happy to hear our guests enjoyed what we offered. it was only a pleasure to do "Breakfast packs" for you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andre, Bessie and...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed November 9, 2016

What a beautiful scenic view. Not only was the scene a sight but the host and hostess Bessie and Andre were a real pleasure . Our room was absolutely lovely with a beautiful sea view which we absolutely enjoyed watching despite it being a rainy weekend Rooms were absolutely clean and the breakfasts were divine Thank you for hosting us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamelamoonsamy
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Pamela, I have respond to your mail earlier today. TripAdvisor will forward you my reply. Many thanks Andre, Bessie and Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed November 8, 2016

The place is amazingly beautiful what you see on their website its what you get. The owners are great with every and have excellent customer service. Our room was big, neat and clean, we had an amazing sea view, pity we did not enjoy the pool because of the rain. We will definitely be coming back next year. Ohh and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank refiloemetlhape
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are glad to know you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed my breakfast. Hope you will be able to enjoy the pool next time and looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Andre, Bessie and Team

Durban
Reviewed October 30, 2016

A big thank you to Bessie for her wonderful hospitality during our weekend stay at the Albatros Guest House. Our room was lovely with the most wonderful view. Breakfast was amazing. We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a relaxed vacation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenna_lee_pitman
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jenna Lee, thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The view from our rooms are all fantastic. We also glad you enjoyed our breakfast . We look forward welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andre, Bessie and Team

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed October 26, 2016

As my stay was unplanned we were not sure what to expect. However, the owners were really nice people. We took a sea facing room which was awesome. The bedding was not to my taste but it was clean. The shower did not work too well and the water drainage was very slow. The ambiance of the place was great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valda S
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Valda, thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your visit here at Albatros Guest House. We are excited because you arrived unplanned and enjoyed what we had to offer. It is a pitty that you did not mentioned your problem with the shower, it would have been attended to immediately., We wish you many...

Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Great sea view. Very relaxing atmosphere and the staff were kind enough to prepare a delicious meat-free breakfast separately given our halal food needs. Very warm and welcoming hosts. Safe secure parking. Walking distance from the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebi M
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ebi, Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that we could live up to your expectation and take care of your special request for your Halal Breakfast. We are always in search of excellence and will make sure to share your compliments with the TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Andre,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
6.7 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#3 of 24 in Margate
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
88 reviews
5.6 mi away
Albatross Guesthouse
Albatross Guesthouse
#11 of 12 in Southbroom
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Homestead Margate
The Homestead Margate
#2 of 24 in Margate
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the sunny South Coast of KwaZulu Natal, Margate is one of the prime holiday destinations in South Africa. The Albatros Guest House & Golf Tours. Situated within walking distance of the beach & bustling village, while at the same time in the middle of the notorious 'Golf Coast'. From the pool deck or your own private balcony, you have an expansive 180° sea view, where you can relax and watch whales & dolphins which abound during the natural phenomenon of the annual sardine run, 'the greatest shoal on earth'. Each of our luxury air-conditioned rooms has a full en-suite or private bathroom (shower & bath), TV, tea & coffee, and balcony with sea view. Breakfast is enjoyed on the deck in the mornings - a great way to start the day. Children over 12 years are welcome. Other facilities include a sauna, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, bar, pool table and undercover braai (barbecue) area. If lazing around the pool is not for you, there is plenty to keep you busy during your stay with us. Sandy beaches stretch for miles along the coast of the warm Indian ocean, which offers a variety of activities including safe, protected swimming, surfing, or scuba diving with the sharks at Protea Banks and Aliwal Shoal. Whale & dolphin watching boat trips, angling and deep sea fishing trips are also very popular. For the avid golfer, the area boasts 6 of South Africa's top 100 golf courses according to the Complete Golfer Rankings, which are guaranteed to test your skills & astound you with their scenery.For the nature lover or adrenalin junkie, extreme adventures at the spectacular white river rafting - in season. There are a host of restaurants & pubs, where you can enjoy a quick bite to eat or a leisurely evening meal. A visit to a crocodile farm, a flip in a microlite, gambling at the Wild Coast Casino, arts & crafts, horse riding we have it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Albatros Guest House

Address: 20 Homestead Road, Margate 4285, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Price Range: $56 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albatros Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Albatros Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Albatros Guest House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Albatros Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms were sea facing. We had air conditioners in our unit,”
497SharonC497, Mar 19, 2017 | Read review
“Ocean facing or the honeymoon suite.”
denver624, Mar 4, 2017 | Read review
“Go for the executive suite the views of the ocean are wonderful”
450jillp, Jan 30, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for honeymoon suite, you'll be pleasantly surprised.”
593antonp, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“Best views”
refiloemetlhape, Nov 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$53* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates