We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ridgeview Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ridgeview Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Ladysmith, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are large and well serviced. The Lodge is clean and very well run. The hosts are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is excellent.with all the extras. The view over Durban harbour is an added bonus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James R
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi James, many thanks for posting the review, great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, do hope that the exams went well, we sure look forward to hosting you when you are next down Durban way...Regards Gary & Tosca More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

The rooms are average. The bed was not so nice. The view in the garden is stunning and the couple who owns the house are really good hosts. They gave a lot of information about Durban and other places we where going to. they were really friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Cécile K
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Cecile and Stephan, how are you doing, enjoy Sani Pass and the Drakensburg? Many thanks for staying with us, sorry about the "hard bed", new beds are often a little uncomfortable at first. Travel safely, Best regards Gary& Tosca More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
235 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2016

The advertising boasts some very impressive attributes HOWEVER this is not the case! The view is not visible from any of the rooms although the ad says that the panoramic views are a feature! The gardens are impressive and WiFi is really good The rooms at Ridgeview Lodge Guest House offer lush carpeting and high ceilings but alas the lush... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stan K
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Stan, many thanks for the "review", may I give you a few pointers.... we did not submit or edit the guest house description, it is done by their webmaster , whoever that might be,. We do not freely award ourselves "4 stars", this is done by an assessor from the TGCSA, A 4star B&B does not have the same... More 

Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2016

SERVICE is abysymal: Never before have we met such a rude and unflexible approach to guests. The breakfast was available from 8-9 instead of the hours written in the folder. The host made an issue of virtually everything - including baggage storage, late check-out. We have never met such a rude behaviour - the owner was extremely rude not only... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 865jakub
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings, many thanks for taking the time to do a review, much appreciated after the situation you had to endure with the manager while we were away. I can only apologise for his rudeness, crazy ideas and not being flexible and helpful Best Regards Gary & Tosca....Owners More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2016

Against the wall certificates are hanging from prizes won in 2002 and 2003 and I think it was a grand place in its day. I just feel the rooms could do with a revamping. Other than that the guesthouse has beautiful views and ample parking and the rooms and bathrooms are well sized.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 329jeann
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings, I apologise for the delayed response, we have just returned from holiday. Many thanks for staying at the Guest House and for submitting a review, sorry to read that you were disappointed, yes, it is an ongoing revamp to maintain our four star status and service levels. Regards Gary More 

Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Ridgeview lodge is located in a quiet area of Durban. It is a big and elegant villa. From the terrace you have an incredible view on the city and on the Indian Ocean. We stayed 2 nights (August 2016). The lodge has 7 rooms and the owners live in it as well. The garden is full of flowerings plants and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inge09
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Inge, many thanks for the review that you submitted, also fantastic to know that you enjoyed the comfort and facilities during your stay at Ridgeview. Sorry for such a late reply, we have returned from vacation Regards Gary Owner More 

San Francisco, Calif
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2016

I was born and raised in Durban so I knew where I wanted to be and the Upper Glenwood area, with its wonderful views of the sprawling metropolis below, was it. With the closing of the nearby 10 Uplands Rd B&B, which I had been regularly visiting since 2007, I was forced to look elsewhere for a place to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank AbeLincoln115
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Abe or should I say "Old Durbanite", many thanks for staying at Ridgeview, many thanks for the review that you submitted, sure is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, we sure look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit Go Well Regards Gary & Tosca More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Excellent service all round. Very good location. Loved the tranquility and attention to guests. Felt completely at home. Definitely my place of choice on my next visit. Thanks for taking such great care us.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank yasmina928
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Yasmin many thanks for the submitted review, wonderful to read that you felt totally at home and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hopefully hosting you on your next visit to Durban Best Regards Gary More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2016

I stayed at Ridgeview Lodge in Durban during the International AIDS Conference in July 2016. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They provide a full breakfast with your stay with coffee, eggs, croissants, toast/jam, fruits, juice, and yogurt.I had a large bedroom on the ground floor with fantastic views of downtown Durban. I took a short 15 minute... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank svazhar
Gary O, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Svazhar, firstly, sorry for the late reply, we have returned from vacation, but, many thanks for the review that you so kindly submitted. My apologies for the room cleaning poor service levels, that's not how the system works, we have addressed the matter. Once again, thanks for staying, wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay Go Well Regards... More 

Krimpen aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2016

If you are loking for awesome hosts and a great place to stay, book Ridgeview Lodge! Thanks Gary and Tosca, you contributed significantly to our comrades 2016 venture. Rest and recuperation post comrades could not have been at a better spot.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wdix_782330
goadmin, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Warren, thanks for the posted review and the kind words, fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay, happy guests = happy house, you chaps were an absolute pleasure to host and "care for post Comrades". Go well also please send regards to Johann......just had another knee op yesterday, running is definitely out for me now. Go well G&T More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
7.9 mi away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
205 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
1,217 reviews
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
2.3 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Durban's leading, triple award winning, 4 star graded, owner managed guest house...Situated high on the Berea ridge with panoramic city port views, swimming pool, pub, secure parking and peaceful surroundings. Bedrooms en-suite, air con, TV, telephone, safety deposit, , refreshments. Close to restaurants, golf, 2010 fifa stadium, beach, shopping, just perfect, 25 minutes away from the airport Free Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ridgeview Lodge

Address: 17 Loudoun Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $66 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ridgeview Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ridgeview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ridgeview Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ridgeview Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If the price was somehow lower then any room will do!”
 of 5 bubbles Miteron, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has the best view, somewhat smaller but still big enough for a tall guy like me :-)”
 of 5 bubbles 329johans, Jun 2, 2016 | Read review
“I don't think it is a major issue, but you probably get more privacy in a garden room.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnMac15, Oct 10, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms 6 & 7 are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Jonathanjared, Oct 8, 2015 | Read review
“Room overlooking port is romantic”
 of 5 bubbles 235paulinet, Jun 9, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay